We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
New York
2 reviews
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! It doesn’t get any better than here. We stayed in the Reef Tower with a kitchenette and corner balcony directly over the beach. We had a full panoramic view of the ocean, beach, and an amazing sunset each night. The beach was accessible directly from our balcony and, in my opinion the surf was the best in front of our room. On the last night we saw 7-8 dolphins playing in the waves. Who needs Sea World when you can watch from your balcony? Beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels are provided and were always available. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There was plenty of room in the bathroom with a separate vanity area. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance so no need for your car. We loved the Taco Loco across the street for quick fish tacos. The service was outstanding and I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICU519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    381
    172
    146
    134
See reviews for
399
544
50
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I had an amazing stay here. It was only one night but I can't stop thinking about it.

I found this hotel by walking down the South coast highway of laguna beach. I inquired to about 5 other hotels but this one was the best. I was offered the best rate (BEACH FRONT) for even cheaper than the holiday in accross the street (not beach front).

The room was spectacular. SO clean with a fridge and huge soft and comfortable king bed, right on the ocean. I have seen the ocean alot (i live for the beach) and my breath was taken away when i walked in my room and saw the view. I reccomend this place for the perfect laguna beach stay. right in the central part of town for good walking to all the good local stores. The staff treatment is flawless and they were all very generous with their service (i had to hang out in the lobby for two hours after i checked out and wasnt a guest anymore and they still treated me wonderfull)

when i go back to go to laguna beach I will go back here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluvr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2009

More than the name has changed at the ocean front property formerly known as Vacation Village. The staff and management of Pacific Edge are delightful. We booked the day of our stay and resv. was very helpful in getting us a room appropriate for our needs. The employees have shared their input for things to do around town in an in-room guest guide. The whole property has a fresh look. The rooms are updated and more comfortable. They have pulled together with the community to provide guests with added value. You can use your room key to obtain discounts at local eateries, shops and galleries. Plus you have access to the local fitness center at no charge. And the staff @ the shops actually are aware of it. It was nice to save some extra money. PE has also added room service that is available for order in-room or while your @ the beach. We look forward to another stay with this property!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumrcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We booked this hotel from the website. It appeared that rooms were ocean view and that the hotel was in great condition. Well to our surprise the hotel looked 100 years old and we did not have an ocean view. We made the best of it and reached our room to have the smell of dirty socks. Everything was old and outdated. A few chairs were stained. The beds were hard as a rock and the airconditioning never worked. We made the most of it because it was a bachelorette party and we didn't have the luxury of changing hotels. However, I would never stay here again for the price the room should have been a lot nicer and updated.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsnat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I were on an anniversary getaway and found Pacific Edge online and were beyond surprised!! We had a wine reception with the Director of Engineering, Suwat-who is also an amazing artist. He took us on a tour of a beautiful villa you can rent and showed us around the property. We then met the General Manager, Eric and felt like we were old friends with all of the staff. Our room was on the beach and we could not have asked for a better view. We cannot wait to come back to Laguna Beach and stay at the Pacific Edge. Thank you for a wonderful Anniversary!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank kristijb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Beach/Ocean: We took our kids (age 5 and twins, age 2) and we were thrilled with the view from our room! The kids walked right onto the balcony to see the sand below us and the vast ocean only a few yards away! This is the way you want your children to experience their first visit to the ocean. In the reef rooms, you can hear the waves crashing on the shore 24/7 and we couldn't hear any bothersome noise (e.g. partiers on Coast Blvd. or in the pool area). Our kids would wake up in the morning and go right down to the beach in their pajamas! If you want to be "directly on the beach" and have the balcony with the view of the ocean, you'll want the reef rooms, at the very least.

Cleanliness: The hotel is old. They've invested in some modern room decor and furnishings and painted some bold accent walls to freshen them up, but old is old. If you have any eye for detail, you will notice things like the popcorn ceiling, plumbing fixtures and awful bathroom walls. The room was "visually" clean, but the evidence of how old the hotel is reminded me of all the travelers past who had stayed in the room. My biggest complaint is that the rooms are carpeted, which is soooo gross. The carpet stays damp and beach sand gets dragged in, no matter how much you dry to shake it off. I laid down towels on the carpet to walk on, because after I showered the carpet would turn my feet all dirty. Needless to say, tile flooring and bathroom remodels would be a huge improvement for me.

Location: The location is great! There are so many art galleries, restaurants, retail stores, etc... that are all within walking distance. Laguna's Main Beach is like 1/4 mile away and there are plenty of other beaches that you can drive to in a matter of minutes for tidepooling and playgrounds.

Dining: There is a KFC, Taco Bell and a local Taco joint closest to the hotel - NONE OF WHICH I WOULD EVER CONSIDER EATING AT...LOL The Beach House is a restaurant that serves breakfast/lunch/dinner and is right next door to the hotel. The surf and turf AND alskan halibut dishes were expensive, but excellent - I would recommend this restaurant for a nice dinner. It has great ambience and an intimate setting, along with a beautiful view for indoor or outdoor balcony dining. The restaurant staff provided great service and was very friendly and accomodating, but we also tried very hard to keep our kids on their very best behavior, so as not disturb the many couples that were dining.

The hotel staff recommended a Mexican restaurant called Alfredo's or Alfonso's (can't remember exactly). It is more of a fast food style Mexican eatery, but the staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was good and inexpensive.

For breakfast, we ate closer to Main Beach at a french restaurant called C'est La Vie. The menu is more limited, but the Tropical Crepes were killer. I couldn't resist them. They also have a patisserie, so you can go in and buy tartes, eclairs, croissants, etc... to take back to the room for snacks.

P.S. They have a Rocky Mountain Chocolates and a little boutique chocolatier called Rue de Chocolate that is tucked away down a little corridor, where you can satisfy all of your chocolate needs, especially chocolate covered stawberries! Yum.

A few other things to note:

For traveling, Coast Blvd. pretty much takes you to most places.
Bring your own beach towels - trust me.
The hotel provides complimentary beach chairs, loungers and umbrellas (thumbs up)

Finally, I am fairly certain that we will stay here again. Although, I would like to stay at the Sand & Surf to compare. When we do come back, I'm going to ask if they have any rooms with tile...lol

P.S. I almost forgot! The reservation staff is AWESOME! Completely and totally accomodating! Flexible with room rates and made room changes within 24 hours of arrival without penalizing us with any additional charges. A+++++++++ FOLKS

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aklindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We loved staying at Pacific Edge. Our room was right overlooking the ocean and we could walk to town for excellent meals. The service was very polite and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing