We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay, unbeatable ocean views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I made a reservation for an ocean view room for New Year's Eve prior to reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Once I did read some of these reviews, I started to get super nervous and was rethinking my decision to stay here. But my experience at this hotel was awesome and I felt compelled to write a review, which I have never done before.

I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. I had called ahead of time to request the Reef building which I had read was the quietest since it was the furthest away from the pool. They were more than happy to switch my room and put me in the Reef building. At check-in they were really helpful in giving directions for the surrounding area. Even the valet was really friendly.

Our room was completely amazing, especially the view!!! Yes, the colors of the room are unusual but they are bright and fun. Yes, it's not a five star resort. But the room was clean and the view was to die for and completely worth the money. The bed was so comfortable I could have slept for days!!

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for those looking for a quality hotel with a killer view of the Pacific. We will be returning in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcco5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Above and beyond our location and facilities, we are most proud of our service team ... thank you for highlighting their efforts. We look forward to your return in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spent a long weekend at Pacific Edge for my mom's 65th birthday and my son's 14th. We got two ocean view rooms that were spectacular. You cannot beat the location and view here. You are literally right on the beach. We saw dolphins from our balcony and fell asleep to the waves crashing at night. The staff at the Pacific Edge are wonderful. They surprised us with flowers & other treats since they knew we were celebrating two birthdays, and whenever we called for ice it arrived prompty and with a smile. I have not stayed in any other room categories, so I cannot comment on them, but if you pay the extra for an oceanfront room, you will not be disappointed! Thank you Pacific Edge and staff for a memorable birthday weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

Happy Birthday to your Mom and Son. Thank you for celebrating at the Pacific Edge. We're pleased to have made it special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

when we first pulled up i was a little nervous because the front of the hotel has no curb appeal whatsoever. But we were given a suite with ocean views and as soon as we walked in it took my breath away. the room has a boutique feel to it- nicely decorated but its the ocean view that takes center stage. (if i didn't have an ocean facing room i wouldn't recommend this hotel). when you are laying in bed with the shades open you feel like your on a cruise because all you see is ocean around you. my kids loved the beach as well as the pool. we all loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset. it was overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliet1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

We are so pleased you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Having a hotel right on the beach ensures all guests can enjoy beach access no matter which way their room is facing ... we hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a trip from San Fransisco, having stayed at several hotels on the way, some more expensive some less. This hotel was appalling, we upgraded our room to look at the sea rather than road and carpark, we were refunded this cost. We were also refunded some of the cost of the stay, but in my mind it wasn't enough. The carpets were filthy, there was rust everywhere, we had to carry suitcases down 2 flights of broken concrete steps. The wardrobe was a rail over the fridge. I could go on and on .....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

Great news ... we are upgrading ... Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were dissapointed but can assure you that future guests will enjoy an enhanced experience. Combining our great location, friendly service and new look, we are working hard to create the unique Laguna Beach experience. We hope you will come back in the future to re-experience the Pacific Edge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

First let me say that I have been staying at Pacific Edge for many years going back to when it was Vacation Village. The last time that I was there in October I was so saddened and disappointed to see how run down the property had become. 1. Bugs in the first room that I was given. 2. Elevators did not work and no one seem to care. 3. Ice machines unavailbale you had to call the front desk to have ice delivered. 3. Mandatory valet parking and fee PLUS TAX. 4. The old furniture was painted and the new stuff was IKEA. They raised the rates and the quality and cleanliness went downhill.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginger789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Pacific Edge. I am so sorry about your dissapointment. We have been upgrading both the facilities and the service in our effort to create an experience that is unique to Laguna Beach. We still have some last touches to do but I'm convinced upon your return that the same great location you have always enjoyed will be complimened by friendly service and great beach amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We hadn't made reservations here, because we were unsure of our arrival date. The website looked great, though, so we took a chance and just dropped by to see if they had availability.
Wow! Am I glad we didn't make a reservation. The two rooms we were shown were not made up, but they were disgusting anyway. They looked like 50's motel rooms that hadn't ever been upgraded. Seriously, we were taken aback, given the photos on the website. One of the rooms had a "kitchenette", but it didn't have a single plate or utensil. Very useful. We walked in and walked out and never looked back!
We would never never stay at this place!
By the way, we found another hotel just a block or two away...on the beach. We were given a beautiful suite with kitchen, fully and thoughtfully furnished and all recently refurbished. Continental breakfast was included in our room rate as well as parking (an extra at Pacific Edge). There is a nice lobby with all kinds of nice touches.
AND this place, although 100% better than Pacific Edge, is actually more reasonable.
Go figure

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hollypop47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback ... I'm so sorry we did not have a chance to host your stay and to have you experience the most friendly service in all of Laguna Beach. Should you be returning, I hope you will have a chance to stop by and see our upgraded facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

It's been over a year since staying at the Pacific Edge. Upon my return it was great to see the fresh colors, new pool furniture, and deck. The new valet parking added convenience and it was great to have the food and beverage option of the Beach House.

What hasn't changed are the incredible location, smiles, can-do attitude, and the instant feeling of being relaxed from the moment we arrived.

We stayed in the building next to the lobby. We had a glimpse of the Pacific Ocean which was nice but there was no need to sit in our rooms. The beach is right there! With perfect weather, we arranged for Paddle Board lessons through Costa Azul. The shop is right next door to the hotel and Rod the owner took great care in teaching my sons and me.

We also had a chance to enjoy many of our favorite eateries ... Taco Loco across the street is inexpensive and quick. The Penguin Cafe has the best banana pancakes in town and Salernos had a delicious Chicken Parmesan. We also sneaked in a snack at Scandia Bakery while perusing the galleries and shops on Forest

I wish this beach vacation would have lasted longer ... we'll just have to go back to the Pacific Edge again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXXian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 23 in Laguna Beach
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 23 in Laguna Beach
652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#19 of 23 in Laguna Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £115 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing