We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect on the beach getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Monrovia, California
1 review
“Perfect on the beach getaway.”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I was lucky enought to spend a few nights at this newly remodeled hotel.
The staff was friendly , helpful and knowledgable.
My room was the ocean front with kitchenette.
Just perfect for relaxing and falling asleep to the sound of the waves.
Bed was so comfortable, they even have a pillow menu!
I almost didn't need to leave the room, the balcony had chairs to watch the beautiful coast. Very convienent to a grocery store and lots of dining options. You even get a discount at many of the local businesses when you show your room card.
I could go on and on, I will definiatly plan a 5-7 night stay this year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy12011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificEdgeGM, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 January 2011
Thank you for staying at the Pacific Edge and for sharing the positive comments ... I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    378
    171
    145
    129
See reviews for
390
541
50
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel was kind of a like an average Best Western right on the beach. Although the real Best Western across the street from us looked nicer from the outside. My friend booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. We got there around 5 and it still wasn't ready so we moved to an ocean front room at the same rate with one bedroom with no kitchen, although the woman at the front desk told us it would have a kitchen Because of this discrepancy they took $150 off the price and sent us a free breakfast. Only then the room was worth it. The room was decorated with IKEA furniture and they left the tags on so that is how I know. I don't mind IKEA but I have that stuff at home. If I am going to pay over 300 a night for a room I want nicer stuff. Also the stopper in the sink kept getting stuck and we never received the pillows we ordered from the pillow menu. (The pillow menu is on their site). The location was fabulous obviously. Right on the beach. The pools and hot tub are just OK. They are located next to the parking lot and a really crummy delapidated recreation area with a warped ping pong table.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificEdgeGM, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 January 2011
Thank you for staying at the Pacific Edge and for sharing your comments. Your positive comments about are location are appreciated but I must apologize that your preferred room type was not available upon arrival. In addition, I am sharing your concern about special requests with our team ... it's important that our service compliments the location. This was definitely not our standard. We look forward to your next arrival and to giving you the level of service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

It's 7:40 pm and we just finished dinner at 230 forest and it was exceptional. My wife and I have been on our honeymoon in California for a week now and have been enjoying every minute.

We are sitting on the balcony of our reef wing balcony and are in heaven. The location of this hotel is it's best asset. The rooms are very clean and I have no complaints but if it were 30$ more a night and was more modern it would be a 10/10. I love the surf theme an surf statue outside our room. The staff are very very nice and I appreciate it very much. Laguna beach is my favorite stop so far and when I return, it will most surely be here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtl20v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificEdgeGM, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for chosing the Pacific Edge as your honeymoon spot. We're so excited you are enjoying your stay and hope you will return on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I made a reservation for an ocean view room for New Year's Eve prior to reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Once I did read some of these reviews, I started to get super nervous and was rethinking my decision to stay here. But my experience at this hotel was awesome and I felt compelled to write a review, which I have never done before.

I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. I had called ahead of time to request the Reef building which I had read was the quietest since it was the furthest away from the pool. They were more than happy to switch my room and put me in the Reef building. At check-in they were really helpful in giving directions for the surrounding area. Even the valet was really friendly.

Our room was completely amazing, especially the view!!! Yes, the colors of the room are unusual but they are bright and fun. Yes, it's not a five star resort. But the room was clean and the view was to die for and completely worth the money. The bed was so comfortable I could have slept for days!!

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for those looking for a quality hotel with a killer view of the Pacific. We will be returning in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcco5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Above and beyond our location and facilities, we are most proud of our service team ... thank you for highlighting their efforts. We look forward to your return in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spent a long weekend at Pacific Edge for my mom's 65th birthday and my son's 14th. We got two ocean view rooms that were spectacular. You cannot beat the location and view here. You are literally right on the beach. We saw dolphins from our balcony and fell asleep to the waves crashing at night. The staff at the Pacific Edge are wonderful. They surprised us with flowers & other treats since they knew we were celebrating two birthdays, and whenever we called for ice it arrived prompty and with a smile. I have not stayed in any other room categories, so I cannot comment on them, but if you pay the extra for an oceanfront room, you will not be disappointed! Thank you Pacific Edge and staff for a memorable birthday weekend!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Happy Birthday to your Mom and Son. Thank you for celebrating at the Pacific Edge. We're pleased to have made it special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2010

when we first pulled up i was a little nervous because the front of the hotel has no curb appeal whatsoever. But we were given a suite with ocean views and as soon as we walked in it took my breath away. the room has a boutique feel to it- nicely decorated but its the ocean view that takes center stage. (if i didn't have an ocean facing room i wouldn't recommend this hotel). when you are laying in bed with the shades open you feel like your on a cruise because all you see is ocean around you. my kids loved the beach as well as the pool. we all loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset. it was overall a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
We are so pleased you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Having a hotel right on the beach ensures all guests can enjoy beach access no matter which way their room is facing ... we hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a trip from San Fransisco, having stayed at several hotels on the way, some more expensive some less. This hotel was appalling, we upgraded our room to look at the sea rather than road and carpark, we were refunded this cost. We were also refunded some of the cost of the stay, but in my mind it wasn't enough. The carpets were filthy, there was rust everywhere, we had to carry suitcases down 2 flights of broken concrete steps. The wardrobe was a rail over the fridge. I could go on and on .....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMLagunaBeach, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Great news ... we are upgrading ... Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were dissapointed but can assure you that future guests will enjoy an enhanced experience. Combining our great location, friendly service and new look, we are working hard to create the unique Laguna Beach experience. We hope you will come back in the future to re-experience the Pacific Edge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing