We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Wonderful Service”

Pacific Marine Mammal Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Pacific Marine Mammal Center rescues, rehabilitates and releases marine mammals and inspires ocean stewardship through research, education and collaboration. We are open to the public for visitors every day from 10am - 4pm. We are closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. There is no charge for visiting us, but donations are appreciated!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Newport Coast, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The volunteers and staff here do an amazing job - that is not glamorous, but essential and I'm sure, rewarding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jim710W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    47
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING :)”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place is a heart warming place. It makes me so happy to see these mammals serene and happy while they are trying to get healthy. It is a great facility to go to, the people there are friendly and very kind. It is really a Jewel or treasure to Laguna Beach. It is Heart-warming to see normal people taking their time to volunteer to help this little creatures. Please go their. I donated money to help and you will see the proof that it definitely helps. Remember if a Animal is hurt, they can't just call the doctor, or for food the supermarket. And seals need their fins to help them i life, it's like a human with no body! Thanks for reading!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chiangmailover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Free Activity”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had past the Pacific Marine Mammal Center many times without realizing it was there or what it did. A co-worker told me about it when I was planning outings with out of state relatives who had never visited the LA/OC area before. It was a great stop and the volunteer provided a wealth of information. I would highly recommend everyone stop at least once to see the seals and sea lions and learn about how PMMC nurses them back to health in order to return them to the wild.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden secret of Laguna Canyon”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Been going here for years..used to be called Friends of the Sea Lion. Great place to stop and see which seals and sea lions have been rescued and their rehabilitation or just spend some time seeing them goofing off in the pools as they always do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Bow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing to see - good thing it's free!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This review in no way knocks what goes on at the Center nor the good that it does!!! I'm a wildlife biologist and understand the importance of Centers like this. Kudos to them for all the hard work they do with most likely limited funding.

But I am basing my review on what there is to actually see there, which is next to nothing. They had one cage of seals. Nothing special at all to view. Maybe it's different when there are more animals or during feeding time or other times of the day/season. No way would I list this as a top ten attraction in Laguna Beach and it was really a disappointment to my family. Lucky for us we were already in Laguna Beach and didn't go there specifically for the center. Spent about five minutes there and left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank oklahomabiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Marine Mammal Center also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Marine Mammal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing