We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, boss!”
Review of Royal Thai Cuisine

Royal Thai Cuisine
Ranked #96 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yes, boss!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Whenever we vacation in Laguna Beach, we always love to dine at this place, not just for the food, but for the manager who always is there waiting on people, calling them "boss," and always with a delightfully droll sense of humor! He always seems to recognize us, even saying "welcome home!" after we've been away for awhile. Their "Sunset Specials" during the weekdays (they open at 5pm) are always a good deal, but their regular menu is reasonably priced, as well. If you love coconut milk based soups, theirs are among the best. There is dining either indoors, or outdoors on their front entryway patio, but we always dine outdoors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This tall skinny thai waiter was so rude and ignored us, service very slow but we got through it. I'm not coming back. Food pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillycrream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious well-priced food!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our wedding party of 30 dined here after the ceremony. Jin, the Manager, was very accommodating, helping us select a menu and working within our budget. Every dish was quite visually appealing, and flavors were off the chart! Be sure to visit when you're in Laguna Beach!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious thai food”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend were in Laguna Beach for a day and wanted to eat something else than Italian or American. This place was within a short distance from our hotel and seemed reasonably priced. We came during a time when it was almost empty and were served very quickly. The food was delicious, I had duck which was not too fatty nor too dry and it was boneless. Very cozy feeling to the whole place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and authentic”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We went on a quiet weekday evening. There is plenty of parking, an outside terrace as well as the indoor part. All dishes were freshly cooked and brought to the table quickly. Service was attentive and helpful, and as we were the only customers at the time, quick. I think we were served in some way by every member of the staff during our visit.. Despite being designated as spicy on the menu, the dishes we chose weren't particularly spicy, but still tasted great. Very enjoyable, and I would return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Thai Cuisine also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Royal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing