We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic sunset dinner”
Review of Claes Restaurant - CLOSED

Claes Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laguna Avenue
Description: Experience a culinary journey complemented by an unrivaled 180-degree view of the majestic Pacific Ocean. Let our Chefs tantalize your palate with one of our signature plates while you celebrate an intimate dining experience with your guests or simply enjoy an extraordinary meal. Featuring California Coastal style food, our creations span culinary delights from the Wine Country with original favorites such as Rabbit, Angus Filet and Bone-In Veal Chop, to the coastal delicacies of Lobster Spring Rolls, Fricassee of Oysters and Local Sea Bass. If you wish to graze upon our small plates, there are selections to suit every distinguished palate. Boasting over 150 choices, Claes Ovation's Wine-Spectator awarded Cellar will undoubtedly include a superb wine to your liking that will pair wonderfully with your dinner selection. Utilizing only the freshest, locally farmed and harvested ingredients, Claes Ovation is the perfect choice to host your next gathering of friends and family.
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic sunset dinner”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We celebrated our anniversary at Claes in Laguna Beach. We always thought this place was too expensive, but this time was a special occasion and were delighted with this restaurant. It is right on the beach with the best picture windows for sunset views.
the food was delicious, reasonably priced, the service excellent and the atmosphere quiet and sophisticated. Many places in Laguna are very loud sit at the bar types, so we appreciated being able to have pleasant conversation during dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darla525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine dining with an equally fine view.”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The menu is French influenced and prepared artfully. The chef is a master in the kitchen and the plates are as beautifully prepared as they are to consume. Call ahead and ask for reservations so that you can have a water view table waiting. My favorite is to make an evening out of it and make the reservations for just before sunset so that you can enjoy a leisurely glass of fine wine and an appetizer while taking in the breathtaking sunset. What a way to start a meal!

Helpful?
Thank Alwaystime4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
“A Great Disappointment”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have taken my family to Claes for several Thanksgiving dinners with the exception of 2010. Each experience was very satisfactory. This year's dinner a disaster. All courses were very bad with the exception of the pumkin soup. Service was also a problem with the dinner lasting over three hours! The entres consisted of overcooked dried our turkey or a filet cooked on a filthy grill with all of the bad tastes transfered to the meat. Desert was doughnut holes. Three very small stale doughnut holes. The evening became a who can top this in terms of very poor food with their choices as each course was served. I would have walked our if the family was not there. They felt the same way in that I was playing host. The dinner was $65. In retrospect I should have asked for the manager on the way out and refused to pay the bill.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteB6186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“View can't be beat with great food to match”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Walking through the historic Hotel Laguna, you come upon Claes Ovation in the back of the hotel. There is a substantial amount of seating divided among a few interior dining rooms, including a bar area that looks like it often plays live music. But the real gem of this restaurant is their outdoor seating. Most of the other restaurants on the beach aren't really ON the beach. They're set back a bit and your view can be cluttered with grass, trees, tourists, etc. The view at Claes is directly on the beach, nothing but sand and ocean, with the errant tourist walking by in the water. Truly the best restaurant view on Laguna Beach.

The food is just as wonderful! We were a large party so were able to sample much of the menu. Excellent calamari and fish tacos. I had the Chef Burger, a delicious burger with decadent foie gras and roasted garlic aioli on a brioche bun. So good!! Everyone loved their meal, very satisfying and the gentle ocean views just made the experience nearly perfect. They also make a pretty great Bloody Mary!

On a beautiful sunny day, this is the perfect choice for an excellent meal on the beach that won't break your bank. Reservations are not accepted for outdoor seating as that is first come-first serve so be sure to get there early (or late).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
“High end, innovative dining”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very sophisticated menu. I chose the steak tartar, which the scallop appetiser for the entre. Others had the stead. All done in that "special night" manner. Wide list is extensive and deep, focused, not surprisingly, on California wines. Service was wonderful

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHCatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claes Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing