We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Studio Hotel, great for families, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
14 West Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Studio Hotel, great for families, fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The rooms are very modern and clean, kitchenettes included. They are all centered around a main patio area, so if you're traveling with multiple families it would be fantastic. Also, the rooms are pretty much sound proof...we heard nothing from outside despite a loud party, and we didn't hear any street noise.

The only complaint I have is that the glazed glass doors and the skylights into the room have NO shades...so plan to wake up with the sun.

Other than that...great boutique hotel, great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
56
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

For what you get in terms of room quality and location for the money, this is a very good bargain & exceptional for a longer term stay of 3+ days. My girlfriend and I were only there for one night. What was very disturbing, however, was we arrived sharply at 3:00 PM (check in time) on a Saturday afternoon and our room was not ready until 4:00 PM. The checkout time of 11:00 was not posted anywhere conspicuous and one would generally assume 12:00. However, planning on the noon departure, we were informed we must be out by 11:00. I negotiated an 11:30 checkout and afterward became rather irritated, because only one maid was cleaning 14 rooms. Now, if everyone requested a later checkout, I could perhaps understand the insistence on keeping to the rules, albeit said rules were not made obvious anywhere and our room was delivered to us an hour late upon checkin.

So, the little things that keep this from being an excellent hotel are: Quite obvious remodel of older studio apartments - done well, but having to walk into the master closet to change TV channels is absurd; the obivous old Murphy bed converted to look like something permanent; understaffing in terms of quality and quantity; no one from the management firm on premises after 6 PM (the room next to us had a party going on until 3:00 AM with no one to complain to - also, a security concern).

Despite the Murphy conversion, the mattress and bedding were very comfortable, the AC and fireplace worked great, the small kitchen was very convenient, the decor inside rooms and the common patio area was exceptional, and the bathroom was quite nice. Also, very close to the beach (short stroll across the street and down some stairs; a Ralphs is across the street to the south; great little cafe and bakery close by as well as the Beachouse restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Spent 1 night there with my wife as we passed through Laguna beach. Great location with everything in walking distance. Shop around the corner can be used for any goceries you need. Definitely use recomendations section of guide in room we got to try out two of them while we stayed there and they were amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed is very comfortable. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blomdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Charming boutique hotel in perfect location! Spacious, well appointed rooms. Great roof deck. So nice to be able to access restaurants, shopping and beach all without worrying about parking. Manager Carolyn is so welcoming and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice layout and design, clean room, convenient location, comfortable bed, great soap and shampoo products. The closet is unusually large for a hotel. The common area is quite nice although adding a fire-pit would really add to the ambience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf-area
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The layout and the design of the studios are really nice. They are big enough for two people but not more.
A few details made our stay mediocre: very nasty and sticky hair dryer, no blinds for roof windows, lots of noise from neighbors, some fixtures were not properly installed or broken, TV cable box is in the closet, daily maid service is a 'refresh' which might happen or not. I would recommend to rent units further away from PCH.
So management should be able to fix those issues.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelfriend67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My teenage son and I stayed at 14 West for 3 nights over spring break. The owners and staff are fantastic.I had originally booked a room with one bed and a cot (that was all that was available). The cot was just not going to cut if for my 18 year old. Immediately we were switched to another room that could not have been more comfortable. In fact, I slept better there than i have in a long time.I have to find out the make of the bed --- i might just buy one! The common area outside the rooms is really cool with comfy lounge chairs, table and chairs, BBQ and hot tub. It has a communal feel which we really liked. The rooms are very modern, which again is up our alley. The location is great. you can walk to all the restaurants, stores and beach. We would definitely stay again. Nice job 14 West!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 356lisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
#16 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 West Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 West Boutique Hotel

Property: 14 West Boutique Hotel
Address: 690 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 West Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 14 West, we encourage you to #LiveLikeALocal. With our collection of 14 modernized studios with thoughtful home-like comforts, we are the ideal place for a few nights stay or a few weeks! Our distinctive setup presents guests with the opportunity to socialize in our stylish centralized terrace or explore the area’s dynamic surroundings. Our prime coastal location is just a short walk from many of Laguna Beach’s gorgeous beaches, diverse restaurants, and fun beach-inspired activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 14 West Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing