We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
14 West Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our new favorite vacation spot!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We just got back from our vacation in Laguna Beach and could not have picked a better place to stay than 14 West. It was like having our own apartment right in Laguna! We arrived after hours and followed the instructions that were sent by text earlier in the day. We easily got into our room and it's nice that they have secure, gated parking underneath the hotel. All 14 rooms are upstairs on the same level (there are no elevators) and open up to a beautiful common area with umbrella tables, lounge chairs, a grill and a hot tub! Our room was room 8 (The Avalon) and had a balcony that overlooked the PCH! The room smelled wonderful when we walked in and looked exactly like the photos online! 14 West is a a great location, just a short walk to the main Laguna public beach. There is also a Ralph's within walking distance and tons of restaurants and shops! I recommend eating dinner at Nick's and breakfast at the Orange Inn across the street! We have found our new favorite vacation spot and will be back!

Rooms 7 and 8 are the only two rooms with a balcony. Both rooms overlook the PCH, which is always busy with traffic and can be a little loud at times. The other rooms are larger, floor to ceiling frosted glass windows that look out into the common area. All of the rooms have sky lights (with no blinds) that let plenty of morning light in! The ocean can be seen in the distance from the common area. Each room has a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board. Maid service is available, if you put the sign on your door - they do a simple refresh service. These rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunni2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    27
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
59
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at 14 West. The rooms are very nice, patio and seating area also very nice. The hotel is close to the beach, no real good view from the patio unfortunately. One down side is the hot tub did not look very clean. But for the price and the location makes it a good stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Great room in a perfect location! With in walking distant of the beach with great shops around. Only thing that I would say they need to correct was the TV was hard to use due to the cable box being in the closest. Kitchenette was great to store cold items and make snacks. We will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegas_Godfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I travel to Laguna/Newport area weekly for work and this is our teams favorite hotel. We have stayed at a handful of hotels in Laguna, Huntington and Newport but 14 West tops them all. You feel like you are in more of an apartment than a hotel.

If you are expecting a hotel with room service, a 24/7 front desk etc. this is not your place but if you are expecting a cute yet modern room that feels more like a home, where you feel can cook or walk to the many restaurants in Laguna this is your place. The rooms are large, each with a stove, very clean, and brand new. In the common area there's a BBQ and a big table to eat at. Carolyn (the owner) is very sweet and accommodating. She has beach toys/chairs for you to use. The hotel is across the street from the beach which at first we wanted something on the water but we loved the feel of the hotel so much that the rooms and common areas make up for the fact that it's not directly on the water. It is very easy to walk across the street to the beach, plus this hotel has a hot-tub.

Also for those of you worried about the hotel being on PCH, I'm a very light sleeper and I could not hear the road at all, very quite in all the rooms. I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone looking for a boutique hotel getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ram_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

14 West has a lot of perks and pros but it does have some issues. In addition, this was my first stay at a "boutique hotel" and there are some things to consider if you've never stayed at one.

Pros:
- Location - it's very close to the beach and very close to places to eat and shop. For most people, this is key and this place really gets you right where you want to be.
- Modern - fixtures and furniture give a very chic feeling to the rooms
- Amenities - kitchenette, walk in closet, seating areas, fireplace... fantastic!

Cons:
- Staffing : the hotel is very small. It has a total of 14 rooms so naturally the staff is very small. Make sure you have everything you need from the staff (answers to questions, extra towels, issues with your room, etc.) from the hours of 9 to 5 because if you come back after dinner, they're not going to be there! There is an after hours number to call but there's a reasonable limit to what can be done after hours. This was something that, in hindsight, is pretty obvious with a small establishment, but at the time was pretty shocking. Most people are used to a 24 hour front desk staff at least.
- Broken fixtures - We had a fairly large number of people staying here together so I did get to see a number of the rooms here. Everyone had one odd light bulb out or something didn't work, a drawer didn't open, or something like that. Unfortunately for us the light bulb that wasn't working was the one in the shower. The bathroom is very contemporary in decor so it was fairly dark in there to begin with. The lack of one out of the two light bulbs was an issue.
- Parking costs - Be aware that there is an extra charge for parking your car!

14 West is enjoyable but do be aware that there are caveats.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachbum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

14 West is perfectly positioned for beach walking, shopping & dining. This is a great place for a romantic get-a-way or for a group traveling together. Nice in-suite amenities, but bring your own coffee if you want it in your room. Love the fireplace!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinole, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We found 14 West Hotel on Hotels.com (after looking at Airbnb choices) while looking for an affordable, centrally located hotel in Laguna CA for a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary.

The hotel is located on the eternally busy Pacific Coast Highway, but all the 14 rooms are on the second level (the first is reserved for parking). Once climbing the stairs to the next level (there are no elevators, so expect to get yourself and your bags to your room on your own unless you request help) the street sounds subside a bit and you are treated to very well designed layout with 7 rooms in rows on each side facing each other with colorful chaise lounges & umbrellas in the middle and two chairs outside of each room. There is also an outdoor serving station with a small refrigerator and a generous outdoor hot tub at the rear which is open 24 hours.

Our room number 5 was clean, very well designed and reasonably spacious. All the furnishings seemed to be high-end, contemporary, euro-style. The mini-kitchen unit with a marble counter top was so appealing we wanted to take it home. It had everything you could want - bulit in microwave, two burners, two side by side mini-refrigerators, sink, flatware, wineglasses, bowls, plates, and more. The bathroom sink and mirror had its own area and the bathroom had the toilet and shower/tub combination with top notch fixtures. There was also a nice closet at the very rear of the room with plenty of shelves and hanging space for two.

The king sized bed had a heavenly tempur-pedic mattress which was devine to sleep on. There is also a divan at the entrance right next to the floor to ceiling picture window that could be used for a third person or child.

Although the main window and small skylights are the only sources of natural light, they were quite adequate. And the main window has two shades that completely cover it, one which is tanslucent and the other which is opaque. Raising both gives you a relaxing view of the common area outside your door which adds a nice feeling of openess. If you want to sleep, keep them both down because sun does come into the window on the north side rooms in the morning.

There is a large HD Television on the wall in front of the bed, but the remote control unit does not work unless you open the closet door at the back, locate the cox cable box on the floor, and pull it in the middle of the closet doorway so it can be seen and aimed at by the remote. In short, you have a line of sight from the remote to the cable box. It then will respond to the signal. We struggled for a while before we figured out that this was necessary, but thereafter it worked just fine.

The staff was great but someone was not always in the office. If you plan to arrive on a weekend, call ahead and make sure they know when you are coming.

The central location was terrific for exploring Laguna. The beach, restaurants, shops, movie, art galleries and more were an easy walk from the hotel and their suggestions as to where to eat where good ones. We had plenty to see and do! While the hotel does not offer sea views from the rooms, there is a lovely elevated vista of the entire Laguna beach just across the street from the hotel with a path that leads down for beach access.

We had a memorable visit and the prices were great so we'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: I would try the rooms further away from the front of the hotel as they should have less car noise wh...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#13 of 22 in Laguna Beach
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 West Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 West Boutique Hotel

Property: 14 West Boutique Hotel
Address: 690 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 West Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 14 West, we encourage you to #LiveLikeALocal. With our collection of 14 modernized studios with thoughtful home-like comforts, we are the ideal place for a few nights stay or a few weeks! Our distinctive setup presents guests with the opportunity to socialize in our stylish centralized terrace or explore the area’s dynamic surroundings. Our prime coastal location is just a short walk from many of Laguna Beach’s gorgeous beaches, diverse restaurants, and fun beach-inspired activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 14 West Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing