We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, vibe, stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
14 West Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We (mom, dad, a 19-year-old and a 17-year old) stayed here four nights for a combined wedding/college visit trip. I booked this hotel because it was within walking distance of the beach and the shops/art galleries. Little did I know how much MORE it had to offer. In addition to its terrific location ( five minutes to the beach, restaurants, galleries), the rooms are large, sleek, and comfortable. Service is minimal but very friendly and comfortably casual. Each room has its own comfortable outdoor sitting area. But best of all is the intimate outdoor common area. There is a grill, a large dining table, a hot tub, and a number of large, cushy chaise lounges. Every night we relaxed under the gas heaters, and one night we grilled fish for a late-night dinner. If super luxury and high-end service is your goal, don't stay here. But if comfort, location, and feeling like you are a hip Californian for a couple of days are your goals, stay here.

Room Tip: There is street noise when you are outside at the hotel. Consider avoiding rooms 8.9, 7, 6 which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SCL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in May and this was the first time we had a large walk in closet, outdoor kitchen complete with a spa and a delightful African decor room with a four poster tree inspired bed and a gas fireplace. The unit also had a kitchen and was very clean. The hotel was within walking distance of Ralph's, a unique grocery store, as well as the beach and several restaurants. Loved Lauguna Beach and our "home away from home". Valerie Sawicke

Room Tip: The African room had skylights and a unique decor...ask for this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLORIDA_GAL_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Living in Los Angeles, my girlfriend and I decided to get away from the city for a night to celebrate our one year anniversary in the small town of Laguna Beach. We arrived late at around 9:00pm, reception was closed, but the manager had texted me instructions on how to get into the room. They had locked the key for us with a coded padlock on the door.

The room was beautiful. We particularly chose this hotel because of the little kitchenette so I could cook some pasta. The bed was a Tempur-pedic, which felt wonderful. Everything was very modern and the fireplace really added to the romance of the room. We also got to use the hot tub at night, which was very clean. We also really liked all the mood lighting in the room. The bathroom and shower was large, modern and clean.

I loved everything about my stay this place. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slowsynchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights at 14west and were extremely pleased.

The rooms were very nice, spacious, clean and quiet. They have a kitchenette with fridge/freezer, microwave and stovetop which is nice if you want to save a bit and cook in the room. Tip, bring your own coffee, they have a coffee maker but do not provide coffee. The hotel has a great common area outside with lounge chairs, a BBQ and hottub, the perfect place to relax and unwind. The only nuisance we encountered was the room " refresh." They don't clean the rooms daily like most hotels but instead tidy up. They didn't leave new towels, new soaps or replenish the shampoo. Not a huge deal, but a hassle if you discover your out of something and the office is already closed.

The location is perfect. Right across the street is access to the beach and all shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

Overall this was a great place to stay. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet , quaint, chic hotel away from the party scene in Laguna Beach.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last December just prior to Christmas and had a fantastic time. It was during a 3 week stay in CA and so the more independent style was actually a welcome break from the larger hotels with concierges etc. in our other stopover spots. The room was immaculate and the location was brilliant. The price for the stay (and the parking!) was highly competitive and we took advantage of the fact that it's walking distance to everything Laguna Beach has to offer. We had a brilliant stay and so we've booked to go back again this December on our annual trip to SoCal.

Room Tip: They all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhenMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great place and the location could not be better. My husband surprised me with a three day stay down in Laguna for my birthday and this is the place he reserved. It has a HUGE room, walk in closet, and full kitchen. We were in room 14 (there are only 14 total) and it was fun because the jacuzzi was literally outside our door and we were the only ones ever in it. The studios all open up to a center court yard where there are very nice lounge chairs topped with cushions and lots of umbrellas. They also provide a table and chairs along with a full size built in BBQ for grilling if you don't feel like eating out. We bought all our own breakfast food and ate out lunches and dinner because everything is walking distance. We went to the movies one night and walked back late at night. No problems what so ever. We took our two daughters with us (9 & 13) and they loved walking right across the street to the beach. 14 West even provides the beach chairs. We will be back.

Room Tip: I think the two studios on the street had balconies but we liked being tucked in the back. The stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you are an independent traveler, and looking to experience something different from your typical hotel stay, this is "The Place". This boutique hotel allows you to enjoy Laguna Beach like "a Local". We enjoyed everything about 14 West, had a fantastic time and wished we could of stayed a little longer. Lovely, modern with clean furnishings and amenities (kitchenette, outdoor grill, patio and hot tub), and convenient ($12 per day) parking on site. Looked just like the pictures advertised on the website. The bed was super comfortable, cozy/romantic with a fireplace. The whole staff (including owners, management and service staff) were polite and friendly. Picturesque beach and nice trendy restaurants within walking distance. Nick's restaurant was a favorite (asparagus fries n fresh fruit cocktails). "The Stand" is healthy and delicious vegetarian/vegan food, both are a close walk. Overall we had a Great Stay!!:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GobalChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 West Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 West Boutique Hotel

Address: 690 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £136 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 West Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right across the street from​ the Pacific ocean, at 14 West, we encourage you to #LiveLikeALocal. With our collection of 14 modernized studios with thoughtful home-like comforts, we are the ideal place for a few nights stay or a few weeks! Our distinctive setup presents guests with the opportunity to socialize in our stylish centralized terrace or explore the area’s dynamic surroundings. Our prime coastal location is just a short walk from many of Laguna Beach’s gorgeous beaches, diverse restaurants, and fun beach-inspired activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 14 West Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing