We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
14 West Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for one night but felt it did not live up to the great reviews simply because our quality of sleep was really poor. We heard footsteps and voices from other rooms well past 10pm. The air conditioning unit was the kind that would kick on and turn off when it reached the desired temp so it was either going full blast or would be silent (and hot). This was annoying and it kept us up all night. The rooms were very nice (as pictured) but they were very stingy with supplies. Our double queen room (4 people) got just 2 bath towels and 1 bar of soap. We had to keep moving the soap between the bathroom sink and the shower as needed. We also got one hand towel and 2 wash cloths. Geez, thanks. The TV remote didn't work. We were able to turn on the TV but it was stuck on one channel. We paid over $300 for one night and felt we should've gotten a bit "more". On the plus side, the location is good and there is underground parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    27
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
59
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were very excited to start our staycation in Laguna Beach knowing 14 West had great reviews and nice pics.

From Los Angeles, we arrived at 3pm Sunday to check-in...so dissappointed, the room wasn't ready until almost 4pm. Keep in mind there are only 14 rooms and check out is 11am.
We didn't complain and decided to go for a walk. We were told we would be called when the room was clean...no call came! They forgot or were too busy. Either way, first impression wasn't good. We were allowed to leave our bags in the closet but seeing the room a mess wasn't a smart thing.
We quickly realized that our room had absolutely no windows! Yes, the sky roof and the glass door gave a lot of light. However, to be near the beach was a real bummer that a window breeze nor a view was none to have. Luckily the air condition worked great! The towels looked very worn out (thin & faded)...thank goodness the bedding was very nice! The floors were very gritty from beach sand which made us feel the floors weren't clean...but its the beach:) Overall condition of the room was good & new.
The other undesirable thing was the cleaning supplies that were parked across our door. Everytime we opened the door, we see outside a broom, dust pan & trash can....not a pretty sight. It was there the entire time.

The location was great...we walked all over the place. They recommend to have breakfast across the street, Orange Cafe...Yikes, it wasn't good especially for the price (a basic breakfast sandwich is $10)...I would recommend going to the Hiedleberg Cafe (3 blocks south)...soooo much better!!! Fresh OJ, gourmet coffee, omelettes at the same price!!!

'Wish it was all positive!

Room Tip: Street traffic is busy loud but if you get a room in the rear of building the room will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 14 West for a week and loved every minute! We strongly suggest utilizing the grill and patio area as much as possible. Our room became our home for our stay. It is a quiet place to come home to. The staff members were all friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We plan to return to 14 West in the future!

On a more critical note, the bathroom was smaller than expected. We also struggled changing the channel because the cable box was in the closet. This has clearly been an issue before because the staff provided very detailed directions how to run the cable. These cons did not effect our stay, we're just being picky. This is a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Onlyoneklobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

14 West is a boutique style hotel. The room we had was small but comfortable. It is right across PCH from the beach at Cleo Street. It is within walking distance of everything you need - food, bars, groceries, beach, shopping, downtown Laguna. We parked our car in the garage and left it there. We ate out for all our meals, but others used the gas grill on the deck to cook dinner. Good option if you are staying for more than few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chempsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We (mom, dad, a 19-year-old and a 17-year old) stayed here four nights for a combined wedding/college visit trip. I booked this hotel because it was within walking distance of the beach and the shops/art galleries. Little did I know how much MORE it had to offer. In addition to its terrific location ( five minutes to the beach, restaurants, galleries), the rooms are large, sleek, and comfortable. Service is minimal but very friendly and comfortably casual. Each room has its own comfortable outdoor sitting area. But best of all is the intimate outdoor common area. There is a grill, a large dining table, a hot tub, and a number of large, cushy chaise lounges. Every night we relaxed under the gas heaters, and one night we grilled fish for a late-night dinner. If super luxury and high-end service is your goal, don't stay here. But if comfort, location, and feeling like you are a hip Californian for a couple of days are your goals, stay here.

Room Tip: There is street noise when you are outside at the hotel. Consider avoiding rooms 8.9, 7, 6 which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SCL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW SMYRNA BEACH
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in May and this was the first time we had a large walk in closet, outdoor kitchen complete with a spa and a delightful African decor room with a four poster tree inspired bed and a gas fireplace. The unit also had a kitchen and was very clean. The hotel was within walking distance of Ralph's, a unique grocery store, as well as the beach and several restaurants. Loved Lauguna Beach and our "home away from home". Valerie Sawicke

Room Tip: The African room had skylights and a unique decor...ask for this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLORIDA_GAL_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Living in Los Angeles, my girlfriend and I decided to get away from the city for a night to celebrate our one year anniversary in the small town of Laguna Beach. We arrived late at around 9:00pm, reception was closed, but the manager had texted me instructions on how to get into the room. They had locked the key for us with a coded padlock on the door.

The room was beautiful. We particularly chose this hotel because of the little kitchenette so I could cook some pasta. The bed was a Tempur-pedic, which felt wonderful. Everything was very modern and the fireplace really added to the romance of the room. We also got to use the hot tub at night, which was very clean. We also really liked all the mood lighting in the room. The bathroom and shower was large, modern and clean.

I loved everything about my stay this place. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slowsynchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#13 of 22 in Laguna Beach
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 West Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 West Boutique Hotel

Property: 14 West Boutique Hotel
Address: 690 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 West Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 14 West, we encourage you to #LiveLikeALocal. With our collection of 14 modernized studios with thoughtful home-like comforts, we are the ideal place for a few nights stay or a few weeks! Our distinctive setup presents guests with the opportunity to socialize in our stylish centralized terrace or explore the area’s dynamic surroundings. Our prime coastal location is just a short walk from many of Laguna Beach’s gorgeous beaches, diverse restaurants, and fun beach-inspired activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 14 West Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing