We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachside stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were looking for a beachfront room/suite to stay in for a weekend getaway in Southern California, and found this lovely beachfront property, older (built in 1948) but recently renovated, charming, and just what we were looking for. Our room was spacious, and looked out directly on the surf. The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep in the night, and the views and the breeze kept us smiling all day. We enjoyed a gorgeous sunset that seemed to go on and on from our private balcony, walked on the beach into town when the tide was low, and on the main road (South Coast Highway) when the tide was high.

We were right on the beach, all we had to do was walk down 100 feet to the sand. The room, though renovated, was not kept up (bathroom fittings were loose, some were rusted), and the heater would not work the first night, but the staff were super friendly and fixed things as soon as we called.

The free continental breakfast was insubstantial, and can be skipped. Much heartier breakfasts are available within a block or two. Lots of gourmet and fashionable restaurants are within walking distance. There is also a nice, large, inviting pool, but we did not get a chance to use it.

Will definitely go back, again and again. A great weekend getaway. Go for a surfview room for the best experience. Very reasonably priced, compared to other properties in the area.

Room Tip: Get a surfview room. Definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for the review. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience. You hit on so many high points that I will simply address the maintenance issue.

Being right on the beach maintenance never stops as we are in a constant battle with the element. The salt air and salt water are persistent so rust receives constant attention to keep it under control and our staff is ready to address any issues that may come up. As you, found you only need to notify the desk and then go back to relaxing and enjoying your vacation while we address any issues.

As mentioned there are so many great choices for a substantial breakfast within a short walk of the hotel which is why we simply provide complimentary rolls, cereals, juices, coffee and muffins to help jump start the day. We may add a full service kitchen in the future but, until then, you cant go wrong with the Penguin Cafe or Orange Inn for breakfast.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here New Year's Eve 2013 and loved it. You can't beat the location, room was nicely renovated, bed comfy, ah and the sound of the waves just heaven! We like the fact that it is a small run place it has a level of charm you just don't find with the big chain. We will come back and highly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in front is a must, you're here get a room with a view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed New Years Eve in Laguna and at the Riviera.

Being the last family owned property in town that has never changed hands, we take pride in delivering an experience not possible at big chains or properties owned by an east coast holding company. When you stay at the Laguna Riviera you get the real Laguna Beach with over four generations of local experience here to serve you.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy New Years, and Happy Travels.


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel approximately 35yrs ago and loved it, planned on one night....stayed a week. Two years ago we stopped in for a visit, couldn't stay as we were on a flight schedule. This year we are driving and the Laguna Riviera is on our bucket list again!! Plan a week stay. The staff were as friendly as ever. It has been updated but still has that feeling one doesn't find in the newer hotels. The beach views are wonderful and easy to access. Can't wait. Restaurants close by and you can walk to shop etc. I am entering a fake travel date just to complete the review

Room Tip: Remember we wee there 35yrs ago. I suggest a room with ocean view and a balcony. We had a fireplace...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dustyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It is an honor everytime we hear about a guests history with the Laguna Riviera. My grandfather who built and opened the hotel in 1948 would be so pleased to know his goal of making memories for our guests is still at work today.

35 years is a long time and I am glad we stood the test of time and met your needs. We try to stay true to our Laguna Beach roots and avoid the pretense while delivering a great location, views, service and price. Next time you're in the area, please stop in, I'd love to hear more about your first stay.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 3 days in the fall in room 409. While the room was renovated it was very small. It was nice to have the patio overlooking the ocean. No air conditioning in this room and when you closed it up to go out and came back the room was up to over 80 degrees. It was pretty warm all through our stay and you have to keep the doors open at night to get any air at all in the room. Didn't use the pool as it was enclosed in the front of the hotel and extremely hot in that area. There was a big stain on our carpet right when you walked in the room so that was not impressive. Shower was really small and have to duck down to wash your hair and I'm only 5'5". Our cups and glasses in the room were not replaced when they cleaned the room. Towels were limited (just two) and not very plush. When you say you are a resort/spa I expected nice plush towels. Did have a small frig and microwave. Continental breakfast is nice to have but limited selection and you have to wait for the staff to get it for you. Internet did not work for our entire stay. They said it was being worked on. Only a few small parking spots on the road level so you have to park in the garage on the side of the building and there is no elevators. Long steep walk down to the beach. Nice outside sitting areas on the premises. Price was good for location. Couldn't stay in these small rooms for more than 2-3 days. When I went to check out the girl at the desk insisted I did not return my pool towels. I didn't use any towels and told her that 3 times before she backed

Room Tip: 400 room numbers are at ground level. Ocean or surf view rooms are well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. The room you selected at 377 square feet is not one of our larger rooms. The average room runs over 400 square feet and several are over 600 not including any decks or patios, but as you point out there is a private deck with a nice view of the ocean for room 409 which adds additional private space.

We did have some issues with the internet installation team. The system was being upgraded and there were some issues that were finally resolved it impacted our corporate phone system for several days as well. I am sorry that it impacted your stay.

The salt water pool while enclosed does have a roof that is opened during the day to let in the sun and fresh air and to keep the space a comfortable temperature.

Even though the towels were not as plush as you like I do hope you enjoyed the plush bathrobes.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Laguna Beach and absolutely loved it! Great value for a stellar view, including a terrace right outside our room overlooking the ocean. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the property has not lost its 50's charm. Service was good, but could have been more thorough, and it would have been helpful to have access to on-site laundry. Still, I would highly recommend this location for any kind of stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellyse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

Your points are well taken as we keep the Laguna Riviera in the sweet spot for Laguna Beach when comparing rates, views and amenities. Sitting on Laguna's most popular beach with some of the best views in town after all theses years and growing up here, I continue to marvel at the sight. It feels truly therapeutic and is completely relaxing.

While we do not have public laundry facilities, there are two laundry mats within 2-3 blocks of the hotel as well as services that will pick up and drop off upon request.

Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

They sold us an "updated" room on the phone. That being said, our room was as old and as musty as my great grandmother, probably even worse. Be sure you get what you pay for!!! Must be kidding, the room we had has not been touched/updated since the 60's or 70's. I wonder if the phone person (reservations) had ever been in that room, likely not, since no-one in their right mind would say such a thing.

Room Tip: Ask the phone reservation person if they have TRULY been in the room that they are describing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for the review, we want to hear all opinions to help us provide the best possible guest experience. Often times they reveal items that do need correction and we appreciate the feedback.

I wish a room number had been included with this review, as all rooms underwent a major renovation in 2009 and many have been updated further since then. Because of this fact and the 1960-70s reference I have to question if this guest is reviewing the right hotel. There are other ocean front properties in town that have been partially updated or barely touched in decades.

We are not one of those. I suggest any interested parties take a look at this reviewers other posts when considering your options.

If this reviewer can be so kind as to send me an email with the date and room they stayed in I would appreciate it. Not only to verify the property stayed at but, if it was the Riviera, to inspect the room in question and address any items in need of correction.

Many of our rooms can be seen online and we are happy to provide pictures of those that are not, upon request and the rooms availability


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was built in 1948, but it has been lovingly updated for all to enjoy. You can park your car in the lot and walk to all destinations in Laguna. There are no better views for enjoying the Pacific sunsets. Rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers, so you can have a million dollar view on a shoestring budget. Be sure to make reservations well in advance. Lawn and barbeques are available for guests as well as continental breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sylmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for the nice review. You have discovered the sweet spot in Laguna Beach where price and location converge to create the best value. The Laguna Riviera was built for families and our goal has always been to provide an excellent value with no unexpected fees and charges like you will be hit with elsewhere. That is why we never charge for parking, internet, phone calls, beach chairs, towels, or umbrellas. On top of that there is a complimentary continental breakfast to get started in the morning and none of this resort fee nonsense we are seeing so much of as corporations buy up the local hotels.

You are correct that the hotel was opened in 1948 and recently updated. In 2009 we remodeled and re-furnished every room while keeping some of the 1950's charm of the classic tiles in the kitchens and the vaulted beamed ceilings of some of the rooms. While the major remodel was completed a few years ago we continue to monitor and update as needed. So some rooms will have wood flooring and even more recent upgrades.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £118 - £756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing