We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location & views; well-furnished room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location & views; well-furnished room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I spent three nights at the Laguna Riviera, and will definitely be back. It's a delightful example of California quirky, with mural covered outdoor corridors and beach wall. The hotel was right on the beach (accessed down a switchback ramp), and there is free off-street parking.

I had room 516 at the top, and had a wonderful view out to Catalina Island and up the coast. The only downside is that the view also included a balcony and rooftop below, but it wasn't a major issue for me. The room itself was a charming studio apartment with comfortable, stylish furniture and windows that actually opened. The small galley kitchen was nicely stocked with dinnerware necessities.

The location was within easy walking distance of the charming shopping area with many shops, galleries, and restaurants. Laguna Art Museum was a little farther, but still a walkable distance. I could happily spend a week or more here, just enjoying the beach, the town, and the pleasant room.

I recommend the blackened shrimp quesadilla at Taco Loco. It was absolutely delicious, and their guacamole was superb. You can find a small selection of souvenir t-shirts for $5 at the nearby Ralph's, and great food at the Whole Foods that's near the main shopping district. Laguna Beach is a delightful place to visit (horrendous traffic notwithstanding-- no problem since you're within walking distance of most things), and the Laguna Riviera is a great place to experience it from.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2011
Taco Loco blackened shrimp quesadillas are awesome. Good call. Now I know where I'm having lunch tomorrow. That place is excellent and a classic Laguna fixture much like the Laguna Riviera.

Thank you for the positive review and comments. It's reviews like this that keep us motivated to provide the best Laguna Beach experience possible and continue to seek out ways to improve.

We look forward to your next visit.


Thanks again and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    84
    36
    25
    24
See reviews for
96
112
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel although rustic it had nice charm and very hospitable staff. The young man that ran the show while we were there was excellent. Very helpfull and friendly. The hotel does show age but many others in the area did as well. There was upgrades done to the bathroom and a newer pull out couch in the living room but this is all we saw for updgrades. The hotel will lend you out complimentary tommy bahamma beach chairs and umbrellas along with toys for the kids. The view from our balcony was gorgeous and especially sunsets. It was nice you came out of your sliding doors where up a step there was patio chairs and tables in front of each room where you could meet and chat with other guests when they were out. Breakfast was more then adequate for a continental. The hotel parking out front was a tight squeeze so we parked around back and worked well for us. The hotel is right on the beach which is a plus but I have to say the ramps going down and down and down to the beach is long and going back up is worse with arms full of beach goods and kids! Beach was lovely but very rough so you needed to be holding on to your children at all times. Our daugther's water shoe came right off her foot and that was the last we saw of it in the waves which caused many tears. Shows that in a instant your child could be lost in the waves too. ( I mention this as too many parents were not watching children and they were wandering around alone some even 2 years old)
WE tried Coytoe Grill for dinner and LOVED IT. Happy hour $8,95 dinner was a hit
TAco Loco was good for lunch as well we dined at House of Big Fish and Cold Beer yes it was loud in there but we all enjoyed our meals and service was good.
We visited the Sea Rescue which was a great family outting to kill some time.

Did not do any shopping as the shops were much farther down from our hotel and we utilized the beach time more.
Would definatly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtree34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I spend a few days in Laguna Beach every month. I have tried several hotels, mostly on the beach side. You cannot beat the Laguna Riviera for location, service, value and cleanliness. Also one of the few offering free parking, a $10-$15 nightly savings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajmintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Our stay was for one night Saturday, 10/2/10. We had room # 308 and although told the room didn't have a view, we were delighted to be able to see the ocean from our window. The room was boardering a side street but the noise was minimal. We were also located across from the Maids laundry room but no issues/loud noises.There is a room with a deck above us and some noise was heard early Sunday but tolerable. We were there with other family members( two other rooms) and their rooms had fantastic ocean views. Most of the rooms there seem to be unique in there own ways and many with their own decks and ocean views.. The hotel was built over 50 yrs ago but has character to it. The ocean view decks are plentiful and the lawn with the BBQ is fantastic for a family get together. The beach has easy access down a sloped walkway. The pool and spa have an indoor feel to it . There is a game room with pingpong and fooseball. The staff let our kids play past 10PM as long as they kept the noise level down to not disturb the guests in adjoining rooms. Service was outstanding and cleaning staff always cleaning! The continental breakfast is no frills but a great value so you could save $ for lunch a short walk away. Parking IS TIGHT. My father in law in handicapped so we just pulled into the lot let him out and parked on a sidestreet adjacent to the property. Our next stay we'll see if we can reserve a spot to accomodate him. we have a large Ford Expedition and luckily found a spot under the building. We decided not to move the car while we were there in fear of losing the spot and having to later squeeze into a smaller spot. It was no problem though beacuse within several blocks you will find many places to eat and shop. A handicapped person might have some problems with the short walk however a wheelchair would be fine.A 12 noon checkout is outstanding. The staff allowed us to checkout late at 2PM.Wonderful staff ! We stayed and had lunch on the deck and made the most of our one day. The Gibson, Eaton and Feingold families will return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alittlegibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

This is indeed the "Hotel from Hell"... Great location, but held together with hundreds of layers of old paint, not enough parking, rude staff, and belligerent cleaning people... BUT that's not the worst of it. The managers are so negligent and forgetful they cannot remember how long you book your stay for and do not communicate with their employees; and those employees are rude and have NO idea of how to behave in the hospitality business. The owner did not advise them of our third night so on a sunday morning the front desk called the NEWPORT BEACH POLICE DEPT who banged on the door when I was in the shower. Upon review the police left appolgizing and the other manager apologized for their employees behavior. Too long a story to tell but STAY AWAY from this place. The maids force their way into your room when you are sleeping. The first night housekeeping just FORGOT to even make up the room... Normally I never go to Trip advisor to complain since I too am in the hotel business but their actions were unconsionable and negligent at the very least. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL FROM HELL....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
This is a most unfortunate review that must be addressed.

This guest booked a 2 night stay. When he checked in he signed a form indicating a 2 night stay. He may have felt he booked for 3 but it is simply not the case. The day which would have been the 3rd night had he booked it was already booked long before he made this reservation so a 3 night stay was not even possible.

Our check out time is noon. We called the room at 1:00 to see if it was vacant. The guest being woken up, verbally assaulted the front desk staff saying he was in for 3 days and is not going anywhere. The desk then explained to the guest that we have another guest checking into the room and we need it vacated. If he wanted to stay a 3rd night we would see if another room is available. At this point the guest threatened physical harm to our staff if we were to push the issue. This guest went so far as to say he was friends with President Obama and would use this powerful connection to "Destroy the life" of the young man working at the front desk.

He again reiterated his position that he was not leaving and again threatened physical harm to our staff and hung up.

At this point to ensure the safety of our staff and guests the police were called in. They accompanied our clerk to the room. The clerk knocked on the door and as it opened the guest was in the process of lunging at our staff member until he realize that he was flanked by 2 police officers.

If this guest is truly in the hospitality business I should expect that he understands what the registration form means when he signs for a 2 day stay. He can consider himself lucky that the desk clerk did not press charges. In California if one feels physically threatened by the actions of another it is cause for arrest.

The Laguna Riviera is a family friendly beach resort and we do not tolerate violence in any form. If in the future anyone again threatens physical harm to any of our staff or guests we will again call the authorities and, as in this case, have it dealt with promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellazoe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stay at laguna riviera a lot and its really a great experience- especially if you have one of the ocean view rooms. the real benefit is the lawn area with BBQ overlooking the ocean where you can bbq for lunch or dinner. the hotel is situated on in my opinion one of the best views in laguna beach which has many. they just updated the rooms so they are all modern and most have some sort of kitchen. to me it compares favorably to the pacific edge and i highly recommend staying there. the parking can be kind of annoying if its crowded but im being picky on that....the staff are all really nice young kids from the area and its family owned.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
Level Contributor
125 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Improving on perfection, that's what this family run resort continues to do in caring for new and returning visitors alike. The ocean view is exceptional! Don't have a ocean room balcony, no worries. Plenty of lounging area on the communal terrace patios, very popular gathering place at sunset. There is easy access to the beach on a gentle pathway that winds through garden terraces and past colorful murals decorating the exterior room walls throughout the resort. The rooms are newly refurbished in luxuriously soothing color pallets and fine fabric textures. Great care was taken in creating a cohesive look and feel to all the resort rooms, while integrating unique artistic pieces and architectural embellishments to give returning visitors a variety. We've never stayed in the same room twice, and always happy with the selection. Each room feels like a familiar haven. The congenial disposition of fellow guests adds to that feeling of being welcome. I think that's why so many people come back. I'm already thinking about planning our next trip. The indoor saltwater pool and hot tub were a great treat when we weren't at the beach or exploring nearby art galleries, Laguna boardwalk, shops and restaurants. We liked being within walking distance of those attractions, while being able to relax later in the quiet neighborhood adjacent to the Riviera. Its only 1 block to grocery store for stocking lunch or dinner items. There's BBQ grills available on the terrace too! In the morning hotel staff serve up a tasty complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby. We love the Riviera any time of year, in July we swim in the ocean, Fall brings warm uncrowded beaches, December we ring in the new year, its always memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattiWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing