We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Disappointment”
Review of Laguna Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laguna Surf
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Based on beautiful pictures posted on the internet, my wife and I secured a reservation at the Laguna Surf resort 4 months ahead, but when we arrived, we found that the resort had a “dark side.” Two-thirds of the condos overlook the ocean with private balconies that provide enjoyment of the beautiful ocean sights and sounds (they were the idyllic picture that drew us to the location). But we were given one of the other third, which are just across the hall and which we were told nearly always are given to those who aren’t owners and who didn’t reserve at least a year ahead. Our condo balcony door faced and was approximately 30 feet away from an extremely busy street (actually, State Highway 1, with a stop light and bus stop right outside our condo). We had been looking forward to a week of ocean peace and tranquility, but instead found ourselves bombarded with heavy traffic noise 24/7 (trucks, motorcycles, sirens, etc. continued all night every night); we felt like we were camping at a truck stop. Sleeping was very interrupted (or absent altogether), and the ambiance of our condo was the very opposite of peace and tranquility. The condo itself was very small, but livable, and would not have bothered us but for the noise. The internet portrayal of the resort gave no hint of the proximity of the street, and we felt very betrayed. In terms of the positives, we were situated right next to the beautiful Laguna Beach and nearby happenings, and the staff was courteous and helpful. So, we tried to stay out of our condo whenever possible, but with very little sleep and the horrible atmosphere in our condo preventing a daytime nap, we were completely exhausted by week’s end. We would have gone home much earlier except for the difficulty of arranging flights. Had we known of the possible conditions, we never would have reserved our vacation at the Laguna Surf, and we warn others to beware!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank KASinUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2008

We walked out on the big balcony overlooking the ocean and immediately felt relaxed. There is a full kitchen so you don't always have to eat out. There's even a bbq on the balconies. The best part is that you can hear the waves crashing all day and all night long!
The decor is a little outdated, but it was still very comfortable. What a wonderful, relaxing stay! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank camarillomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stay here every year. The views are spectacular (on the ocean side). I always start out feeling very stressed but within a few hours I am so relaxed. I love sitting on the balcony in the early morning drinking coffee, listening to the sound of the ocean and, more times than not, seeing dolphins playing in the waves. We generally only eat out once during our stay as it is so special to just eat on the balcony and enjoy the sunset or the view! Since the remodel, they look more modern. Sure it would be nice to have a pool, but the spa is really nice to relax in.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Knittingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

We stayed at Laguna Surf last year and while the views from our room were incredible, the room was quite average. The Hotel is basically a timeshare resort that rents its surplus rooms. Most of the rooms are one bedroom wih 1 1/2 baths. There are full kitchens and the living room has a fireplace that appears to have been added in after the resort was built . The fp is in a useless place. The bedroom is quite small with just enough room in front of the bed for one person to pass. The restrooms are very dated and do not have a unique design. The Ktichen has newer appliances and is small. The resort does not have a restaurant or a pool. It does have a spa on the roof deck. However one gets the feeling that you are actually sitting on the roof when you are up there. There is absolutely no other amenities other than the spa on the roof. There are many restaurants nearby so the resorts lack of one does not really matter. Access to the beach is also a little cumbersome. There is a stair set with at least 100 steps. This is not a problem going down but coming back to your room can be quite tiring. We have decided not to rent at Laguna Surf again. The experience was not worth a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#20 of 22 in Laguna Beach
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf

Address: 611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Laguna Surf Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Surf Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing