We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY REUNION . . . The PERFECT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wildomar, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FAMILY REUNION . . . The PERFECT PLACE”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you're thinking of having a family reunion, The Tides is perfect. We rented the whole place for our group of 62 and it was great. The pool area is fantastic for any getogether . . . complete with two bars, fireplace, pool, and lots of space. Joe and Judy, the managers, supplied our every need. Every room is different and unique. Very welcoming! A block to the ocean, nice restaurants, grocery store, etc. We were there from Monday to Friday and everyone wanted to stay for more.

Room Tip: We were in 105 with a king bed that was very comfortable. It was also big enough to move in a futon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We all agree that your family truly knows how to have fun. The Tides crew loved hearing your stories and watching all those happy kids in the pool and at the BBQ. We would not mind being part of your group ourselves. Hoping you can plan another get-away real soon. We thank you for choosing us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    134
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
126
198
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

First of all I would agree with the others that Joe and Judy Wood were superb hosts and were not only very nice but also went out of their way to suggest beaches, restaurants and events that they suggested we attend. Both restaurant recommendations were excellent and we really enjoyed the beaches in Laguna as they were secluded and within walking distance. As a matter of fact everything was within walking distance which was great. The only downside to our stay was the lack of king beds and the traffic noise particularly on Sunday night (the week days were much quieter). The inn provided ear plugs for the traffic noise which was a nice touch. It was really nice to be able to have beach chairs and towels and Judy let us keep the chairs and towels even after we checked out. We would come back again in a minute next time we are in town!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thanks for bragging on our location...isn't it great to leave your car in the complimentary parking spot and walk to everything, beach included? We are so glad you enjoyed that. We do have rooms with king beds so next time you call to reserve, please ask for availability.

Until your next visit,

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas NV
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our family of 4 just returned from 2 lovely days at The Tides in Laguna. The price was surprisingly reasonable. The Tides is literally a block from Heisler Park and its beautiful ocean front walk to Main Beach. Also steps from a stop for the free summer Trolley. Our room was quaint, clean with a modern flat screen, nice shower, fridge, microwave and wi-fi. We had a little patio and a place to park our vehicle in front. We loved the coffee offered in the office in the morning. Managers Joe and Judy were so friendly. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: 212 has a full kitchen, dining room and 2 queens with a view of the ocean. 108 has 2 queens, nice sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thanks so much for taking time out to write a review. And we so appreciate that you enjoyed The Tides Inn. Please come see us again soon.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Looking for an overnight stay in the expensive Laguna Beach, CA we ran across the Tides Inn. The room was large, airy, bright and in the middle of the town. The furnishings were from a discount warehouse but new, it was freshly painted and very clean. The owner (?) was charming and very helpful. The kitchenette spacious and although not used would be of help to those staying longer. This was a practical, utilitarian and very inexpensive alternative to the options 4-5 times more expensive. However, the duvet would have been more useful in colder climates

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed our location and beauty. And thanks for writing a lovely review for us. We will look forward to your return visits.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was our 6th hotel experience in Laguna, so we have a basis for comparison. We thought the people running the Inn are lovely-helpful and friendly. This was a big positive for us. They also keep the Inn clean and the location is good. Not on the west side of the PCH, but within walking distance to many things.

However, the three stars are for two problems we encountered during our stay. We could not take a shower in our room because the shower was so teeny tiny, I had no desire to deal with it and my 6 ft. husband didn't even think he would get clean. He would just keep bumping into himself....we were only staying for a couple of days...thank goodness!

Second, the pillows and mattresses in our 2 queen room needed to be replaced, especially the uncomfortable and worn pillows. We didn't sleep well during our two night stay.

Everything else, from the friendly staff, to the pool, to the location, we thought were just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We are very sorry about your Tides experience. It is rare that we get a complaint about our beds and bedding. The shower is a problem and we are working on a solution--it is a winter project for us. We are grateful as always for gracious guests with great ideas. We hope you will try us another time.
Thanks again,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Tides is conveniently located within walking distance of the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The clean rooms are decorated like a beach cottage and quite comfortable. The managers are friendly and keep the property clean and well-run. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have an ocean view from the balcony. There is no elevator for getting lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
It is so nice that you have taken time to post a review. And thanks for enjoying The Tides so much. Please return soon.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My family and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Tides Inn. I chose the Tides based on the consistently positive reviews it receives on Tripadvisor. Despite the great reviews, I have to admit I'm wary of motels by the beach. Many are skanky, old, noisy...with loud people partying by the pool. I wasn't sure what we were getting ourselves into...
To my great relief, the reviews were accurate. Our room was really nice, with a clean hardwood floor, tasteful decor, crown molding on the ceiling, and beautifully painted walls. Everything was immaculate! The best parts for me were the bed (plump pillows, great sheets and duvet) and the towels (the thickest towels I have ever seen at any hotel!). I liked the fact that the bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels, washcloths, and bath mats. A blowdryer was provided which was a nice convenience. There was a small refrigerator which which kept our drinks and snacks perfectly chilled. I have to say, though, that my most favorite part of our stay was the staff. Linda, the owner, and Joe and Judy, the managers, are so warm and friendly, you immediately feel like you're a family member. Their hospitality was wonderful and made our stay even more special.
We enjoyed the fact that the beach, grocery store, Starbucks, and Umami Burger were all within walking distance. The pool area was as immaculate as our room. The Tides exceeded my expectations. All the great reviews are well-deserved!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202, which was closer to PCH than rooms near the back. Highway noise was present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123puff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Linda, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Well, you are a family member once you stay with us. We truly believe only the nicest folks choose The Tides. Thanks so very much for your kind comments--Just lovely for us that you took the time. Hoping to see you again soon.
Linda, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing