We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "gathering" place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great "gathering" place”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband's high school class from Tokyo had a small "gathering" of about 40 classmates from the late 50's at this inn. Since we occupied most of the rooms, the gathering was very intimate. Our room was comfy, not fancy, but with everything we needed. We were on the first floor with king bed, flat screen TV, AC, kitchenette with micro, small fridge, coffee maker, plates. It was perfect for our needs. We took over the pool area for breakfast and 3 dinners which were deliciously cooked on the barbeque and also in the largest room which had a kitchen. It was only a few blocks to Laguna Beach for shopping and Las Brisas for a fine dinner out. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. We would definitely go back for a weekend. In the summer, Laguna has a Sawdust Festival (art) and a Pageant of the Masters. There is a free shuttle during the summer, so one could stay there and go everywhere...Great find!

Room Tip: Ground floor is easy access. No elevators. Can hear footsteps above. Ear plugs are provided again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy32954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hello Tokyo gathering. We loved having your group here for a repeat performance. Your entire entourage was so fun....interesting, lovable, fabulous "inside" entertainment in the form of a live hula by one of your Hawaiin natives down fireside/poolside. We so look forward to your next group visit.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    135
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
126
198
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spur of the moment overnight stay at the Tides. Chose hotel based on great TA reviews and rate. Our room was basically a studio apt. First floor with a very comfortable king bed. Small kitchinette with microwave, fridge, toaster, and small sink. Plates, silverware, and even some wine glasses. Flat screen tv with plenty of network and basic cable channels,(did not really watch tv though). Decent sized bathroom with shower only. Think we must have got the last room,special needs room, shower had wall mounted fold up shower bench and two hand held shower heads, fine with us. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Public beach access is less than a five minute walk from hotel. Main beach and town are about a half mile down the road, but not really a long walk either, imo. Pool area quite nice also, after a day at the beach. We did not have any noise issues with being on PCH, rooms closer to the street might, they do provide earplugs. You will hear the footsteps of the guests on the second floor above your room. Overall the hotel was really quiet during our overnight stay. The no vacancy sign was posted, but there were still five parking spaces available behind the hotel.

Wish we could have stayed another night. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Las Brisas restaurant is a short walk from hotel. Hit the outdoor patio for a cool drink and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for writing such a detailed report on your stay at The Tides. We are thrilled when our guests are happy and enjoying their special time away from reality here in Laguna Beach. Please come again and we look forward to it.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend (and also my birthday). The rooms were fine, not luxury, but what you needed including fridge. Pool area wa beautiful and the staff were excellent. Loved the birthday offer - we paid the last 2 digits of the year of my birth for my birthday night.
Laguna beach is a great town with a really good atmosphere and a good selection of shops/restaurants/bars, all within walking distance of The Tides. The beach was pretty narrow for all the crowds - we preferred the beach at Newport Balboa Peninsula a few miles up the coast. Overall, a great trip to Laguna beach and really liked The Tides.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrismema09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Happy Birthday from the staff here at The Tides. Isn't that great fun? We are happy you had such a special occasion to celebrate and we hope Laguna Beach will be your next destination.

Joe and Judy
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the tides laguna inn for our family vactaion and loved it. Joe and Dale were on point for all recommendations (entertainmnet, food, services)and very helpful. The entire staff was friendly and so.. nice. The inn is located in a great spot, 1 block from beach, walking distance to town/shops and close to great places to eat. Thanks for making our stay so great!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We absolutely love making our guests happy and their vacations fabulous. Thanks for staying with us at The Tides.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

I havent even left my room but had to write a review because I am blown away at the exceptional service.

My HBO wasnt working and I was looking forward watching it during my stay, as I dont use a TV at home. Dale at the front desk should get a raise or bonus for spending hours and constant follow-up to get the HBO channel to work for me. I got to watch 15mins of my show, True Blood, and I am still shocked at the service. This is so rare and I will definitely stay again.

The rooms are clean, affordable, 1blk from the beach, has parking, nice pool area, vending machines and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirlingmonkey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dale always goes out of his way for our guests. but because of you we did solve some TV problems.....as far as a raise for Dale--you are too kind but we will all discuss it! He is the best.
We thank you for your understanding and hope you return.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grain Valley, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had our Family Reunion at The Tides this year. We booked every room they have which was perfect for our size family. The Tides is in a great location for all sorts of activities. It is about a one and a half block walk to the beach so you don't have to worry about parking. They have plenty at the Inn. Joe and Judy are so kind, friendly and helpful. The pool area was an Awesome place for everyone to congregate. Plenty of tables and chairs. That became our main gathering area. Thank you Joe and Judy for a Great week. I'm from the Kansas City area and when I'm back in the area of Laguna Beach I know where I'm staying. Can't wait till next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTheTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We can't wait either!
Adored and enjoyed your entire family.
Thanks so much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I loved our stay at The Tides with my 2 boys, (9 & 11). Room & bath were large, clean, cheery and had everything we needed. I appreciated the fridge and the intelligent layout. Location is great, across the street from the beach and within walking distance to everything. Owners are very friendly and helpful and provided good coffee in the morning. My boys enjoyed the pool. Would definitely stay again - good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosmadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We all thank you so much. You said everything we strive to be. Our goal is "clean and affordable" plus our location is hard to beat! We will look for you again. Thanks for taking the time to write.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing