We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are picky people who have gotten a little used to high end properties. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, yet I doubt they are as genuinely SoCal and would be no more comfortably appointed.

The staff is great, and this inn is just a short walk from everywhere in the main section of Laguna Beach. The online photos do not do The Tides justice. We'll maintained, the rooms make you feel very much at home. The pool is perfect for winding down after a great day on the area beaches or shopping.

And did I say, the staff is great? Provided us everything we asked for....better than I would've thought.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are so happy The Tides met all your needs during your stay. John, Sophia and Reid do an amazing job of making our guests feel at home. Thanks so much for every word you wrote. We look forward to your return visit with your family.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for The Tides Laguna Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were very pleased with The Tides Inn. It is an older hotel put is exceptionally well maintained.
The rooms are large many with Kitchenettes. Are room with a very comfortable king bed and a small kitchen was perfect for two. The management were great, helpful in every way. They provided beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. The location is right across the street from a beautiful beach park with sandy coves and tide pools. They have covered parking. The center of town and many resturants are an easy 10 minute walk. We parked our car and didn't touch it for three days of beautiful relaxation at the beach.

Room Tip: You can review all of their rooms on their website and select the best for you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loridee2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Sounds like a perfect 3 days. We are hoping you do it again.
We are older. We do have kitchenettes which are so convenient. We aim to please with complimentary parking, wifi and all sorts of beach necessities. We want you to walk everywhere especially across the street to the gorgeous Heisler Park with our exceptional local artists' artwork. Thanks so much for taking the time to write about us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved our 3-day stay here. Laguna Beach has a number of older hotels that have been refurbished/restored/maintained, but this is the only one we have stayed in and would love to go back to. The staff are universally helpful, and friendly. The room we had was a king with a kitchenette--comfy bed and big enough that we didn't feel stuffed into a shoebox. We travel with a dog, and they welcome pets. The Tides is just a block from Heisler Park, a beautiful park with walking paths and beach access. It's also just a short walk to the center of town for shopping and restaurants. Other reviews have mentioned traffic noise, but we never noticed it. I suppose it could be different in the summer. We will definitely try to book The Tides the next time we visit Laguna Beach, and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeschutesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for finding us. We sure do hope you can return and do it again.
We very much love when our guests appreciate our hard work and wonderful location. Sophia and John, our resident managers, do a fantastic job of keeping everyone happy plus
Laguna Beach has so much to offer. See you soon.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The good: The Bad:
Affordable. Thin Walls
Clean. Traffic noise
Pet friendly. The bed in 205 is not really a king, but two mattresses pushed together
Good location
Friendly staff
This place is nothing fancy but if you want a clean and affordable place to stay with your dog, it's perfect. We looked at other places that may have been a bit nicer, but were about $50 more per night and the reviews were mixed. This place lived up to our expectations. Ten minute walk away from the shops and restaurants. Traffic noise wasn't horrible, but you do hear it even though the building is set back off the highway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank adnyl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We thought your review was better than a 3.5! Thanks.
Right On with all the good news. The traffic situation is not easy to fix with PCH being next to the Pacific but we do have double pane windows and a good supply of earplugs.
Because of your review I did learn that king beds always have 2 box springs and a single king mattress.
We look forward to your return.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Tides is a really charming motor lodge.
Referring to some earlier reviews of other travellers, on the contrary I found this motel charming, very comfortable and great value for money. I was not disturbed at all by the noise of the street - and also not agreeing with other travellers, I did not find the location too good at all.
The innkeepers are really friendly and do everything to make you feel comfortable. The room is charming like in a conch house and the bed is comfortable. There is a little kitchenette and the shower has unexpectedly good pressure. Parking is free. Location is just ok since the town center is about 10min away by foot. As advice for the owners, I would put a socket near the bed so I don't have to unplug the lamp underneath the bed for charging my phone.
Overall a very solid product that does not disappoint, just read the instructions/descriptions right upon your booking so you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Many thanks for calling us a solid product! Very nice compliment. We all hope and wish you walked to town via Heisler Park which is directly across the street. It would have made the walk seem less because the local artists' public art is so amazing. Please make your return visit in July or August when the free local open-air trolleys are running all over town. Very enjoyable. Looking forward to your return visit.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I'm writing this review because there are so many places you can stay in Laguna and I think for the money this is a great deal. The rooms are nice and the staff is very friendly. I loved the outside fire place by the pool,and the gas grill. They also allow pets. We didn't bring our dog but I saw other guests with their dogs. The room was very comfortable. Also on the website for the tides you can see pictures of each room then chose which one you want, a really cool feature I thought.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We loved every single thing you said. Thanks so very much. We look forward to your return visit.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in Room 103. The room was very nice - had a kitchenette which was handy. There was a mixup with the reservation but it was all worked out. The ceilings and walls are a little thin so stay on the second floor. There is a lovely outdoor area near the pool where we sat by the fire we made in the outside fireplace - very charming! Room could use a comfy chair or two. Hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thanks so much. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Big thanks for suggesting the comfy chairs. We are trying several different ones and always appreciate our guest's comments.
We will look for you again.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £112 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing