We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little boutique motel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Moved to the Tides for the weekend while in Southern California for business. While not ideal as a business hotel, it's perfect for a weekend getaway. The location is great, being only minutes from the oceanside parks and beaches. The staff are very nice and helpful - when I checked in, they suggested I move to another room because it's quieter. The Tides is clean, comfortable and has a good boutique feel to it.

Since it's on the PCH, there can be significant road noise for the rooms close to the road. The hotel provides earplugs.

I had room 213 which has two double beds, a fire place and faces the back alley making it the quietest room.

The only downside is there can be room noise through the adjoining doors between rooms. Only a problem if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Room 213 is the quietest room since it's farthest from the road. It has a fireplace and is spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljefe707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. We also sure do wish there was something we could do about the traffic noise. Kind of tough on the hotels to have our gorgeous ocean next to PCH but it is convenient! The Tides was built in 1949 and I believe the walls have not been changed except for paint--there can be some sounds from adjoining rooms on occasion. Hoping you return soon. Laguna Beach is gorgeous in the fall.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    132
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
122
197
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Loved The Tides. Staff friendly and competent. Stayed in 104, lovely. Our own little beach cottage, with dining area, kitchen and two very comfy queen beds, very nice flat screen TV on the wall. Pool and fire pit area was great, and an easy walk to Laguna Beach proper and the stunning Heisler Park. Free parking, which was great, but sometimes a little tricky when parking behind the building(some careful manuvering was involved). Small price to pay for such a nice place. Next time we visit from CT, will definitely stay at The Tides. P.S. Did not need earplugs, but their presence provided a good laugh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are so happy you had a good time. That is exactly what The Tides hopes to accomplish. Sorry about the parking problem--cars are much larger than in 1949! We are just so happy to have a parking place for every room. Looking forward to your next visit from Connecticut, glad you had fun and a good laugh. See you soon, we hope.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked the Tides Inn a few days before Memorial Day weekend. The price was probably higher than usual due to the late reservation, but still significantly more reasonable than other properties in the area. We were visiting family in Orange County and could have stayed with relatives, but we wanted to have a mini vacation getaway from all the obligatory family stuff. Tides was the best arrangement. Check in was smooth. The office staff was genuinely nice and efficient. We stayed in room 102, which is in the front and literally on the very busy North Coast Highway. There is a decorational wall which serves as a barrier and provides a bit of privacy from the sidewalk. Did not see too many people walking in the area and there were no safety concerns with the room facing the street. I was a little worried about the noise and saw that others may have had the same concerns since there were complimentary earplugs diplomatically placed on the nightstand. But traffic died down in the late evening and it was quiet throughout the night. The room was clean with two double beds and the best part was having a separate dining and kitchen area. Kitchen is well equipped with hodgepodge utensils and appliances which added to the throw back feel of the place. The inn has beach chairs, towels and beach toys for borrowing and a lending library in the office. Free parking and free wifi were added benefits, when other beach hotels would charge for the same. The beach is an easy walk with kids across the street as is downtown Laguna. Beds are on soft side and comfy. Only two things I would change: the shampoo/ soap dispensers in shower did not dispense well and also suggest providing a plastic bag in closet for soiled clothes or wet beach items. Overall, we were happy with the Tides and will try booking earlier next time for an interior room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Your review was charming and thorough. Thank you.
We appreciate our guests who notice details and offer suggestions. The soap dispensers are a new addition, kind of driving us crazy too--lets just say "a work in progress." A plastic bag is given upon request.
We look forward to your "earlier" booking. Remember we have the incredible sunsets in the fall. See you soon and thanks again for taking the time. We very much appreciate that also.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to Laguna for a girls trip and found the Tides Inn to be a very convenient location to downtown Laguna. The pool is small but has a nice fireplace where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine. There is also a BBQ area that guests can use to cook food. Our room had a small refrigerator and microwave as well which was convenient. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely. We only stayed one night, so the price was a bit steep. However, it was justified as we stayed on Memorial Day weekend where most places charge a two night minimum. Parking was included as well. If you are planning on eating out and enjoying Laguna, this is a nice place to stay and is ideal for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Hotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are a perfect place for a girls weekend. Or a holiday. Or both. So happy to hear you had fun and enjoyed our therapeutic fireplace area. There is so much to do in Laguna Beach but relaxing is the utmost! Please hurry back and thanks for the review.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is our third stay at the Tides..cannot say enough great stuff about the hotel. Small so less people to deal with. Easy location, on the quieter north side of Laguna Beach. Steps to the beach and a few more to downtown Laguna with wonderful places to eat.
Don't bring a really large vehicle though as parking is limited. average sized cars are fine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! We stayed in 205 but all of them are excellent. Personally I like upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Repeat guests are the greatest compliment. Thank you so much. We are small, we are easy, we are close and we try to be as quiet as possible. Yes, parking large vehicles is limited but it is free. My friends always tease me because from the time we purchased The Tides I have always said the best part was owning 22 parking places in Laguna Beach. Keep coming back and thanks again.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I were in SoCal celebrating our anniversary, and Laguna Beach was one of our stops. The Tides Inn is an affordable, very updated SoCal throwback. The rooms are large, very nicely decorated and clean. Ours had a small kitchenette, perfect for staying for awhile. There is also a pool and fireplace. All this and a fabulous location just a block from the beach and Hesler Park. The Tides loans it's guests beach towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas; everything you need for a wonderful day on this beautiful beach. 15 minutes walk from all the shops and restaurants in the heart of Laguna Beach (if you're slow). What a wonderful find! I would not even consider staying anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are thrilled that you found us--especially to celebrate an anniversary. We hope you return for our "birthday" special. Laguna Beach is the best place for any occasion. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. On behalf of our staff, we look forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I traveled to Laguna Beach on vacation. We stayed at the Tides for our first two nights and were pleasantly surprised by how nice the place was for the price. We were upgraded (without asking) from a standard king bed room to room 207, which features a kitchenette. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in over two hours early without pre requesting an early check-in. The bed and linens were awesome. The bathroom was nice and clean. The kitchen area was roomy and allowed us to make our own breakfasts and brown bag lunches. The pool area was great -- they have a fireplace and grill for common use. Although the Pacific Coast Highway is a little noisy during the day, it was quiet at night. We did not have any problems sleeping.

The best part of the Inn (aside from the price) is definitely the location. It's about a block from gorgeous Heisler Park and a 15 minute walk (via Heisler Park) to downtown Laguna Beach. We will be back.

Room Tip: We wisely chose a second floor room away from the road. Room 207 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watching99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We love that you discovered The Tides and loved us. It is with great pleasure we try to make our guests have the best experience as we know traveling is not easy these days. We all look forward to your return visit and thanks so much.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing