We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer rooms for less money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Our friends stayed at the Inn at Laguna Beach while we stayed at The Tides. They paid more for less. The Tides has a super helpful staff, comfortable rooms, beautiful pool, and feels secluded though it is in walking distance from everything. Try it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here fore 2 weeks whilst visiting my daughter who lives in nearby Irvine. We are from England and have never been to CA before. Laguna Beach in general was lovely, but this establishment in particular was just perfect for our needs. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We did have a problem with noisy neighbors initially, but a after speaking to the owner we were moved to different rooms for the remainder of our stay and had no further problems. Cathryn the Manager was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble and we can't wait to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiator1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Tides is an unpretentious, homey owner-operated little motel on the east side of the Pacific Coast Highway. It lacks the glitz and amenities of the name brands, but the karma is unbeatable. After a couple of nights, we found ourselves greeting new guests as they moved in as if they were coming to visit us. The staff are friendly, helpful, and well-informed. There is a very nice salt water pool and a delightful pool area for relaxing. The location is perfect. An easy five minute stroll south takes you to Ground Zero, Laguna Beach, where all the action is. A five minute walk north takes you to a handy Pavillion supermarket and Jean Paul's famous coffee shop (do NOT ask for an extra shot. He makes it the way God intended it. to be made!). But best is five minutes west, which takes you to a magnificent, private-feeling Pacific cove with cliffs, a sandy beach, and fascinating reefs to explore at low tide. You get the best parts of Laguna Beach and home for an unbeatable price and free parking. Forget the chain motels: this place feels the way Laguna Beach ought to feel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muddlyminnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Here's real find. Large room, large bath, with a walk in closet, very nice sheets and towels, very clean and nicely decorated,$99 a night. That's in a town that usually runs much higher.
The location is very good, you can walk to everything in town. Parking is free and there's a nice pool and patio/deck area with a great outdoor fireplace.
The one draw back is there is some road noise from PCH during the day. At night it's dead quiet. No propblem sleeping.
We will defintiely return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We booked our stay at the Tides after reading the wonderful reviews. Cathryn was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We very busy so not around the hotel much, but the room was very comfy and clean, and it was great to have the kitchenette. The best thing was the price, very very reasonable. Make sure you ask Cathryn if there are any specials available.

We did have to chuckle at the quote on the wall in our room. (Apparently all rooms have a quote painted on the wall as part of the decor.) The quote in our room was "Let your light shine", which was attributed to Oprah Winfrey. Apparently in addition to all of her other astounding accomplishments, Oprah was also one of the authors of the Bible.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiftyplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The Tides is a small motel just off N. PCH in Laguna Beach, California. Cathryn and Linda greet you daily with a smile and are always there to answer questions that make your stay more enjoyable. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. This older style motor lodge was restored and remodeled into this lovely property. It's not beachfront, but a short walk across PCH and you are there. The views at Main Beach are gorgeous and my friend and I sat in the sun on a bench just outside Las Brisas restaurant and read for a while. It sure beat the weather in Ohio that we were escaping.
There are many fine restaurants in Laguna and the reviews here are full of them. Our favorite was The Beach House at sunset for the great views and the sunset specials that make great dining a bit more affordable.
The Tides has a heated pool with a great patio area that includes a fireplace Ask Cathryn or Linda for some newspapers and matches and the wood is provided. A great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine on a cool evening.
The parking is tight, but doable. Some of the rooms have kitchenettes with microwave and fridge. The bathrooms are a good size with plenty of towels, toiletries, hair dryer and a great shower.
Did I mention the linens? The beds are very comfortable with great linens and comfy duve's
Don't miss a getaway to Laguna and spend it at The Tides. In winter, our rate was less than $100 per night.
There are some who complain about road noise and yes, you can hear the road if you are in rooms at the front. We were in room 104 and we heard nothing at night but if your room is near the road you will hear noise. I was concerned when I booked that we would be placed in one of these rooms, but a quick note to Cathryn assured me that they usually rent these rooms out to last minute customers, not those who pre-book.
There were also complaints about the Wi Fi, no problem,worked like a charm.
If you are wondering what there is to do, I'll blog that on the Laguna site.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travljunkie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My husband and I took a quick trip to Laguna Beach for a get-away from the mid-west snow. We stayed 2 nights at the Tides in Room 205 overlooking the pool and we loved every minute of our stay!

First of all Cathryn was an absolute doll and was so wonderful every step of the way. From her answer to my email inquiry, to checking in and checking out.

The Tides is on the East side of Pacific Coast Highway and sets back in it's own little private walled in area. As soon as you drive up the entrance you literally feel you've stepped back in time into a darling Charming 50s Motel. BUT with all the upgrades of today! As soon as we pulled up, I felt so cozy and immediately loved the every inch of their property!

In the pool area, there is wood burning fireplace with comfortable padded furniture and a large coffee table. A perfect setting to light a romantic fire and have some wine, to end your glorious day spent in Laguna Beach!

The Tides is located in my favorite area of Laguna. Just across the street, and about a block south, is my very favorite street in Laguna. Cliff Drive! It's just jaw-dropping. You can walk to The Cottage for breakfast, then walk across the street and follow the beach-side pathway on Cliff Drive and see some of the most amazing views you've ever seen! Don't forget to have cocktails at sun-down at Las Brisas which is right on the corner of Pacific Cost Highway and Cliff Drive and watch the sunset!

Our room at the Tides was so comfortable and the bed was probably the most comfortable Motel bed I've slept in! The bedding was fabulous and the bed itself was super comfortable.

The Tides is located in the absolute perfect location. Those of you who want an ocean view, go right ahead...pay the prices and you'll get the view. But for us, this place could not be more perfect!

The parking was great, the location could not be better. The room was super clean and so charming! The bedding was more comfortable than what I have at home, and the people working there were super friendly. What more can you ask for!?

We would love to go back this summer or fall, and won't even consider staying anyplace else! For anyone who wants to take a quick trip to the most charming little beach town, please visit Laguna and stay in the Tides. I promise you, you will love it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £111 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing