We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Laguna Beach jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My stay at The Tides helped to make my Laguna Beach vacation a wonderful visit. The staff was super friendly. The room was clean & comfortable; the location perfect. It felt like a home away from home. I highly recommend this motel. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJKB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

We are longtime residents of Laguna Beach but have relocated out of state for work. Rather than bother friends during the Holidays, we chose to stay in a hotel and had heard that the Tides was charming. What an understatement! The Tides Inn is the quintessential Laguna experience. Every room is decorated in it's own style - funky beach cottage but new and full of fun details. It is everything you love about Laguna. The rooms are clean and have an ocean view. We brought our dog (they welcome pets). I could not have been happier unless I was in my own home. We walked downtown everyday to eat and shop. We walked to the beautiful park and tide pools which are across the street from the Tides. There are lots of hotels in Laguna Beach but this is a secret spot that is unlike the chains and high end posh resorts. We hate those kind of places! If you are coming to Laguna, and you really like the charming Laguna style, you must try The Tides Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solagjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just back from 2 weeks at Laguna Beach. Stayed at the Tides. Recommend it 100%.
A special thanks to Dale & L inda who run it. They can't do enough to look after you
We had 3 great rooms. Linen & towels changed daily. The pool area is lovely.
Ideal for bbqs. gorgeous seating area with fire for the evenings. Free internet which was excellent. Photos to follow.
The position is ideal, just park your car and a couple of minutes stroll to all Laguna offers. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevillafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We took a chance on The Tides after reading favorable reviews and are glad we did. The price was fantastic, especially factoring in the birthday special ($70 for a 1970 birthday!). We loved the second story room and the fact that we could sleep with the window open. The kitchenette is a great feature and allowed us to bring our own snacks and drinks. We are very picky about the cleanliness of hotel rooms and this place was sparkling clean. Very comfortable beds - the only minor complaint is the too soft/flimsy pillows. The location was perfect for us because we did not want to have to drive far - Main Beach is a short walk away and Aliso Beach is a 5-minute drive. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant selections and just providing a welcoming atmosphere. All in all, we would move in if we could!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alivenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Mature couple visiting from UK.
Stayed for 3 nights at this small friendly hotel on the more affordable side of the highway.
Room with kitchenette, good size, well equiped, very clean and lovely large comfortable bed.
Could not wish for more friendly or helpful service, nothing was too much trouble. Great recommendations for places to eat and where to visit.
Good size pool, with loungers, pool toys, towels etc. BBQ and fire.
If I had to make any criticism, could be a little noisy but value for money easily compensates.
Would definately return for longer visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Our friends stayed at the Inn at Laguna Beach while we stayed at The Tides. They paid more for less. The Tides has a super helpful staff, comfortable rooms, beautiful pool, and feels secluded though it is in walking distance from everything. Try it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here fore 2 weeks whilst visiting my daughter who lives in nearby Irvine. We are from England and have never been to CA before. Laguna Beach in general was lovely, but this establishment in particular was just perfect for our needs. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We did have a problem with noisy neighbors initially, but a after speaking to the owner we were moved to different rooms for the remainder of our stay and had no further problems. Cathryn the Manager was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble and we can't wait to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiator1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 23 in Laguna Beach
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 23 in Laguna Beach
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £99 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing