We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cozy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Dale has such an eye for details, beautiful pool & fireplace & bbq for outdoor relaxation, very comfortable bed, clean & nicely decorated room. Very helpful & attentive owner. Close to downtown, quiet, & this has the ambiance of an upscale bed & breakfast! Love the place, prices were extremely reasonable for the area. Wished our visit was longer & we will be back, soon! Mario & Shirley Moretti, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Wow, Mario and Shirley, thank you for your glowing review of The Tides. We appreciate your noticing the care that has gone into the decor and ambience of this lovingly refurbished inn. We hope you tell your friends about it, and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

I booked some friends from Europe into the Tides Inn after spending a whole day in
Laguna Beach looking for a nice place, not too expensive. I went to 6 Hotels and was on my way home when by accident I saw the Tides and made one more stop. I'm very happy I did.
I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel. Dale at the office was very friendly and helpful. My friends loved it and next time I have company, I will save lot's of time by going to the Tides Inn first.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br0nxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My stay at The Tides helped to make my Laguna Beach vacation a wonderful visit. The staff was super friendly. The room was clean & comfortable; the location perfect. It felt like a home away from home. I highly recommend this motel. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJKB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We are longtime residents of Laguna Beach but have relocated out of state for work. Rather than bother friends during the Holidays, we chose to stay in a hotel and had heard that the Tides was charming. What an understatement! The Tides Inn is the quintessential Laguna experience. Every room is decorated in it's own style - funky beach cottage but new and full of fun details. It is everything you love about Laguna. The rooms are clean and have an ocean view. We brought our dog (they welcome pets). I could not have been happier unless I was in my own home. We walked downtown everyday to eat and shop. We walked to the beautiful park and tide pools which are across the street from the Tides. There are lots of hotels in Laguna Beach but this is a secret spot that is unlike the chains and high end posh resorts. We hate those kind of places! If you are coming to Laguna, and you really like the charming Laguna style, you must try The Tides Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solagjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just back from 2 weeks at Laguna Beach. Stayed at the Tides. Recommend it 100%.
A special thanks to Dale & L inda who run it. They can't do enough to look after you
We had 3 great rooms. Linen & towels changed daily. The pool area is lovely.
Ideal for bbqs. gorgeous seating area with fire for the evenings. Free internet which was excellent. Photos to follow.
The position is ideal, just park your car and a couple of minutes stroll to all Laguna offers. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevillafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We took a chance on The Tides after reading favorable reviews and are glad we did. The price was fantastic, especially factoring in the birthday special ($70 for a 1970 birthday!). We loved the second story room and the fact that we could sleep with the window open. The kitchenette is a great feature and allowed us to bring our own snacks and drinks. We are very picky about the cleanliness of hotel rooms and this place was sparkling clean. Very comfortable beds - the only minor complaint is the too soft/flimsy pillows. The location was perfect for us because we did not want to have to drive far - Main Beach is a short walk away and Aliso Beach is a 5-minute drive. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant selections and just providing a welcoming atmosphere. All in all, we would move in if we could!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alivenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Mature couple visiting from UK.
Stayed for 3 nights at this small friendly hotel on the more affordable side of the highway.
Room with kitchenette, good size, well equiped, very clean and lovely large comfortable bed.
Could not wish for more friendly or helpful service, nothing was too much trouble. Great recommendations for places to eat and where to visit.
Good size pool, with loungers, pool toys, towels etc. BBQ and fire.
If I had to make any criticism, could be a little noisy but value for money easily compensates.
Would definately return for longer visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 23 in Laguna Beach
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 23 in Laguna Beach
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £99 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing