We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near beach and downtown!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel near beach and downtown!!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Tides Inn is a great little hotel that has very nice service and is close to the beach and downtown. It is has a nice salt water pool for people to swim in and relax pool side. It is only a block away from the beautiful beaches of Laguna Beach. The art galleries and downtown is only a short walk away. The room was decorated very nicely and was very spacious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Tides. We do our best to make guests comfortable and happy. We're small (21 lovely rooms) but mighty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    135
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
126
198
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed 6 days at The Tides in Laguna Beach. The first night we were in Room 207 and then moved down to room 109. Both were nice (upstairs had a small view of the ocean and we liked the set up of the kitchenette and room layout better in room 109). The beds are comfy and the sheets were of high quality. Joe and Judy (managers) are wonderful, friendly people, making us feel quite at home. Our golden retriever especially liked the big bones Judy gave out! They offered us use of beach chairs and umbrellas, free of charge which was convenient. We loved the fact that we could grill and eat out on the pool deck at night with our dog as an alternative to eating out. Still, Laguna Beach is a very dog friendly town and most restaurants welcomed us and our 86-pd golden with open arms. Heisler Park and beach are just two blocks away and town is an easy walk from The Tides. We loved taking our dog to Huntington Beach for free roaming on the dog beach (30 min. N) but enjoyed what Laguna Beach had to offer at night. On our next visit to The Tides, we plan to get a room with a full kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emtnester21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
You and your pup found a lot to wag about! Thank you for your unsolicited review of The Tides. We aim to please, and it sounds like we hit our mark. We'll look forward to seeing you and your 86-lb. friend here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I visited Laguna Beach to celebrate a friends' milestone birthday. I knew I would love Laguna Beach, but I had no idea that I happened upon the perfect hotel. Even though there is no business center, the staff accommodated my every need from borrowing a pair of sunglasses to printing my boarding pass for my return flight. My room had a fully stocked kitchen. There is a Pavillions grocery store two blocks away, a lovely French bakery, and lots of restaurants within walking distance. I stocked up on healthy options for breakfast and dined out for lunch and dinner.

Their pool area has a wonderful salt-water pool. But that's NOT the best part! There is an outdoor flireplace at one end and at the other, a built-in outdoor kitchen complete with JennAire gas grill, refrigerator, and bar. Another bar is located opposite the grilling area. The entire pool area would be a perfect place for a cookout or a respite for enjoying wine and cheese in perfect weather while waiting for the sun to set.

During July and August, the city-operated free shuttle will take you almost anywhere you want to go. At other times, the Tides Inn is on the bus route. Laguna is a magical place, and the Tides Inn supplies the perfect place to stay for a weekend or a week.

I will definitely stay there on my next trip to the paradise that is known as Laguna Beach!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Thank you for your positive review of The Tides! You obviously "get" what The Tides is all about. We aim to please, as a locally owned and operated inn. We look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at The Tides Inn for 3 nights! It's location is ideally suited to walk to the town and to the beach! All of the staff are REALLY helpful. We would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
You review of The Tides is so appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to tell others on TripAdvisor how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We loved staying at The Tides. It was an easy walk to a nice nearby grocery. I love being able to stock at least some food on a trip! Really good pizza nearby as well. The park across the street was beautiful. It was a pleasant walk to the center of Laguna...not the shortest, but certainly comfortable. The staff/owners were so very helpful. The pool was immaculate, the rooms fun and comfortable. As other reviewers mentioned, it has a family feel. I used Trip Advisor to choose this hotel, and thanks to previous reviews, it certainly lived up to expectations. A wonderful place to stay; it truly enhanced our vacation!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
We're glad to hear you used TripAdvisor to find The Tides. This is a handy site to get the "real scoop" on what's a good value in Laguna Beach and everywhere else. We strive to give it a "family feel," as you described. Thank you for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed here with our grown children from SF and DC. Everyone was very happy with not only the cute rooms but also the cleanliness! Too many beach hotels are just that beach hotels and their standards of cleanliness and service reflect just that. The Tides is clean, cute, and has the BEST staff! Dale and the other staff will bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable and have a great time. They have firewood, beach towels, a barbecue grill, beach chairs etc anything you would want for a nice lounge at the pool or on the beach. They even have tons of books for your to borrow. We will stay here everytime we go to Laguna Beach, we love this place! Thank you Dale and the gang for a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cray2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Thank you for the review! The Tides makes an extra effort to make its property a perfect place for families to meet and relax together. Thats why we provide all the extras that you don't get (at least for free) at any of the chain hotels. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I was looking for an attractive, affordable spot in Laguna for a weekend getaway, and this was the perfect place! Great location, walking distance to many shops and resturants. We stayed in a quaint, adorable room. The staff was extremely friendly and hospitable; it made our experience that much better! I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifegoesbyfast, Public Relations Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
The Tides is all about affordable and adorable! Thank you for noticing and for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing