We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Perfect for an ocean get-away. Rooms are warmly decorated and furnished with visitors' comfort in mind. Beds very comfortable. Staff welcoming and helpful. Lovely tropical saltwater pool and patio area with BBQ facilities. Short block to the ocean, several second story rooms have ocean views. Restaurants, galleries and shopping in easy walking distance. Very resonable price for the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtaxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2010

We live close, but when friends come to visit, this is our home away from home. The owners and employees really care about the property and give attention to all the sweet details. Each room is unique, with lovely decor and beautiful sayings hand painted on each wall. It is such a treat each time we visit The Tides!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This hotel is a pleasant place to stay. The owner Dale and the managers, Joe and Judy, are very gracious, welcoming and helpful. The rooms have been remodeled. Each room is decorated differently. Outside by the pool is a lovely, large patio area. Joe and Dale got the gas BBQ up and running for me to barbeque some steaks and filled the large fireplace with wood and kindling so we could enjoy a nice fire as we ate dinner. It was very enjoyable to sit by the fire, drinking wine, eating our steaks, salad and baked potato. We had our dog, Lily, with us. She was made to feel welcome too. We also found 3 wonderful dog friendly restaurants-Avila's Mexican Restaurant was excellent, Sun-Dried Tomato and Madison Square Restaurants were equally as good. The beaches and boardwalk are also dog friendly. The only drawback to the hotel is the traffic noise from PCH. If you are going to be away for most of the day then it should not be an issue. We enjoyed our stay there and would go back. Thanks to Joe, Judy and Dale for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaSandra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Many thanks for your kind report. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit so we can build another fire in the fireplace for you and fire up the grill.

Joe and Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in this charming Laguna Beach Inn. We knew it was going to be the perfect stay when we were greeted by the most wonderful and hospitable couple that manage the hotel. If I could personally give them a rating it would be an A+++++. Our Room was ready early and had all of the accommodations we could ever need, including a balcony with a fabulous view. The pool area was beautiful with a fire place and gas BBQ, perfect for an evening at the Inn. I would stay there again as many times as I could, especially because of the amazing hospitality and kindness of the hotel managers.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vross02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

As owners, we want you to know that we are as pleased with Joe and Judy as you, our guests, were. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your "Just Perfect' review. It's appreciated ever so much. Warm Regards, Dale Johnson and Linda Humes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wow! What a great place. Joe and Judy were wonderful hosts at this boutique motel, taking care of our wishes always with a smile. Of course they start off with a beautiful heated pool setting including a large gas BBQ grll, plenty of chairs and lounges with umbrellas, a bar setting, rooms which were all individual, and great maid service. The location is perfect, priced right and of course exceptonal weather.. We thoroughly enjoyed our three night there and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2010

Sounds like you love The Tides as much as we do. Thanks so much for all the compliments. We try hard to make our place comfortable, clean and affordable. Joe and Judy do such a fantastic time. Looking forward to your return visit.
Linda and Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at the Tides in late July 2010. We booked directly with Dale ( the owner) who was very helpful. The hotel is really nice - clean, comfortable and homely. We received a warm welcome and Dale provided some useful insight into the best places to go locally.
Although the weather was surprisingly disappointing for the time of year we still had a great stay.
Tip - try and get a room away from the main road as it may get a bit noisy.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

So glad you had a great time. Hoping to see you again soon.
Thanks.
Dale and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We are an older couple from Ireland who stayed at this pleasant hotel in April/May 2010.
We found it very comfortable, relaxed, and friendly. Our room was perfect, with a kitchinette which had fridge/microwave/coffee maker for breakfast & snacks. The pool area has barbecue facilities - we had a barbecue while there, and they gave us all the equipment we needed - brilliant! Top marks to management - Dale & Linda(?) who were so helpful and looked after our every need. The hotel is situated in a nice area, within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants & beach. On our next trip to California, we won't stay anywhere else but The Tides!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 23 in Laguna Beach
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 23 in Laguna Beach
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £99 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing