We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun late night club”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brussels Bistro

Brussels Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Brussels Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pacific Coast Highway
Description: Since 2004, Brussels Bistro has brought the best in Belgium flavors to the heart of Laguna Beach. Relax on the terrace with a premium Belgian beer or dine underground in our casual-urban setting. Offering Belgian cuisine with a French flair, our Executive Chef, Thomas Crijns has created a superb menu of authentic dishes ranging from Beef Bourguignon to Steamed Mussels. Complimenting our wide variety of imported Belgian beers are mouthwatering hors d’oeuvres including Cheese Croquettes and our world-famous Belgian Fries. Join us on Friday and Saturday nights when the Bistro transforms into one of the hottest nightclubs in town.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fun late night club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My friends and I came here for the "club' they have at night. I liked that they did not charge a cover and found the DJ was better than at the other "club' we went to down the street. The building is fairly small but it was fun and we liked that you could move around with your drink instead of being confined to one area. I was a little bummed that everything completely stopped and they made everyone leave at 1:30 instead of just doing a last call. After seeing the good Belgian beer list and the menu items written on the wall I plan to come back and check out the food sometime during the day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    66
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Taste of Belgium in the Heart of Laguna Beach ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you're a fan of Belgian beer and even if you're not, Brussels Bistro is a treat!!
Starting with attentive service, tasty food, friendly staff, and ending with an impressive list of Belgian beers, one for everyone's taste, Brussels bistro is sure to impress.
The place is always crowded but the staff treats you like mini-Belgian royalty!! Oscar was running around constantly making sure we had everything we needed, the bread was hot, the beer cold, the sea bass in parchment oh-so-yummy, the mussels amazing, and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.
We'll be back, Manneken Pis (the emblem of the rebellious city of Brussels and of this bistro) got us hooked!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ploosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
361 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a relaxed environment, in the heart of Laguna Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had dinner here last night and it was outstanding. First the atmosphere was very relaxed and laid back, which could be deceiving. But after a day of work, our group was ready to kick back and enjoy a nice meal.

The menu is quite extensive in terms of choices, from duck to sea bass. I had the sea bass in parchment paper. When they pulled it out of the bag it smelled and looked fantastic, which it was. Very moist and flakey. My wife and several others had the Mussels, basically all you can eat in six different flavors (sauces like garlic cream, wine, mustard, etc). They were very good and are served with these awesome French fries, which are also all you can eat! Monday thru Wednesday you get these mussels and fries with a glass of wine or a beer, which is included in the cost.

Pricing was reasonable, only saw one entree over $40, all the rest were a very good value. Our service was exceptional, very attentive and friendly. I never had to worry about getting low on anything!

I'd highly recommend this place if you are looking for excellent food, service and atmosphere, you will be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our favorite night out in Laguna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went back the same restaurant a second night. We loved the staff, the food, and the atmosphere. They remembered us from the first night we were there. It is a nice feeling when you are vacationing away from home to find a friendly place with warmth and wonderful food

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jabmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“C'est Bon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Brussels Bistro is a lively little restaurant located in the basement of a small building in Laguna Beach. They offer a variety of French-inspired dishes only steps from the Pacific Ocean. After being seated by the bubbly hostess at a central, outdoor table with a view into the bar, we mowed down a charcuterie & cheese plate appetizer. To my delight, our attentive waitress, suggested a new rack of lamb special that was spectacular. We also enjoyed generous portions of pasta carbonara and fresh salmon with sundried tomatoes. Don’t miss this terrific local favorite, and take the opportunity to speak some French!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brussels Bistro also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Brussels Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing