We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Delicious!”
Review of Tabu Grill - CLOSED

Tabu Grill
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nye's Place
Description: The word Tabu is from the Polynesian Tongan people's tongue and means, "Set Apart," which sets the tone for this unparalleled restaurant located in Laguna Beach. When you walk into Tabu Grill, you find yourself in a lush oceanic oasis of blues, exotic purples and aquamarines. More lush than its interior is the food, a highly-sought after "foodie" menu prepared by Executive Chef Kenny Raponi and his sous chefs in an open kitchen that allows you to watch the magic come together on every plate. A multiple award recipient, Tabu Grill received Zagat's coveted "Extraordinary to Perfection" score year after yea
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uniquely Delicious!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I decided to check out the happy hour at Tabu Grill one Sunday evening. Of course I forgot my reading glasses and it's a bit dark in there, but the hostess brought me a pair of complimentary ones along with a miniature flash light. The wait staff was very attentive to our needs and we enjoyed a couple of absolutely delicious and healthy small plates. The restaurant has an Indonesian feel with a warm atmosphere. A fun place for a date or celebration.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runner62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great atmosphere, amazing staff, delicious food, & happy hour is excellent! Need I say more? We went for happy hour- which was so tasty- we didn't need dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mskatia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in Laguna Beach”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We went with our son and daughter in law this evening. The decor was interesting -perhaps Polynesian in character. The attention to detail from the servers was really good and the food excellent. I particularly enjoyed the pork chop, along with a delicious piece of belly pork. Jennifer enjoyed a dish with sea bass. Definitely on our list for a return visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkMalcolmB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ecclectic Great Food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very small but quaint, wonderful food with a great unique twist! The steaks were the best of the best and the specials were wonderful. Intimate inside and some outdoor sidewalk tables.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a small restaurant, with beautifully prepared and served food. We had the chef's tasting menu and were served 4 excellent courses that were unique. We would highly recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank psu1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tabu Grill also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing