We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Star Cuisine--Great Meal--Hidden Gem”
Review of Tabu Grill - CLOSED

Tabu Grill
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nye's Place
Description: The word Tabu is from the Polynesian Tongan people's tongue and means, "Set Apart," which sets the tone for this unparalleled restaurant located in Laguna Beach. When you walk into Tabu Grill, you find yourself in a lush oceanic oasis of blues, exotic purples and aquamarines. More lush than its interior is the food, a highly-sought after "foodie" menu prepared by Executive Chef Kenny Raponi and his sous chefs in an open kitchen that allows you to watch the magic come together on every plate. A multiple award recipient, Tabu Grill received Zagat's coveted "Extraordinary to Perfection" score year after yea
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All Star Cuisine--Great Meal--Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You have to know where you're going to get there or you will easily pass it up. but if you want world class cuisine with an ecclectic wine menu in a quaint setting....bingo....this is your spot. worthy of its reputation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nolarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful. Jumped the shark.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

How very sad. One of our favorite restaurants has gone down the toilet...
We had the worst meal ever at Tabu. The sea bass they tried to serve me was spoiled, punctuated by a terrible ammonia stench. The 'prime' rib-eye was anything but. A bout of diarrhea followed. We will NEVER go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank janicechieffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Appetiser, scallops served with beurre blanc potatoes and orange coulis. Just didn't work.

House signature dish of Berkshire Pork Chop, chop was incredibly tough, chewy and tasteless, served with a messy puree of chopped vegetables all mixed in. Really average. Passed on desert. At $140 this was a waste of money and an evening out.

Helpful?
Thank Calum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped here for a quick pre-theatre dinner, and are so happy we did! Everything was fresh, well-prepared, and paired beautifully with the wines that were recommended to us. The bread that comes with dinner is amazing, so we ate too much of it! So much for our plan to eat light. :-) My husband's caesar salad was perfectly seasoned with just the right amount of dressing and cheese, and my grilled asparagus had a fantastic flavor, even if it was a bit on the tough side. The gnocchi was light and flavorful, and the short rib fell apart and had an exceptional sauce. Despite having small appetizers and small plates (no entrees), we didn't have room for dessert. So we'll have to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an intimate restaurant with great atmosphere. Cozy and friendly - you will feel welcome. Great food, priced well, interesting/good wine list. We keep going back and you will too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stacyervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tabu Grill also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing