We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Caribbean food in an intimate setting”

Eva's Caribbean Kitchen
Ranked #56 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean food in an intimate setting”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Eva is awesome! Friendly service and delicious food and drinks. 365 varieties of rum to choose from. All of our dishes were well cooked and delicious. Jerk pork loin and jerk salmon were both incredible. Restaurant is small and casual. Make sure to call ahead and they'll do their best to fit you in. Warning: kitchen closes early on week days ~9pm

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonlagunacommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Eva and her (spicy) Carribean food is amazing !”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have been visiting this cozy Caribbean restaurant in Laguna Beach for the past 5+ years. Eva's kitchen consistently delivers! .. Spicy Caribbean Shrimp appetizer made in Eva's own concocted sauce is a must try for anyone who enjoys "extreme" heat! ... All the rum cocktails are amazing - Pink Punani gets two thumbs up. Menu is small but authentic and service warm and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PG13LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Eva's restaurant came high recommended but was not very good. Spiced caribean were over powering and the entree over cooked. This is a restaurant living on reputation, not its actual food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The restaurant was fantastic and the service was great. The portions were very large. I had the Jerk Salmon, which was very tastefully done. The spinach was very good too. The staff was very nice, attentive and helpful The dinner salad was very good too with pineapple. We were seated as soon as we arrived for our reservation. I would recommend reservations. We sat on the nice patio which had heat lamps. Inside was a little too loud for me. The heat lamps kept me warm and I get cold easily. I would highly recommend the place. It was a great place to go for my birthday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced food at Eva's”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We celebrated my wife's birthday last night at Eva's. While the service was friendly and and attentive
I want to direct my criticism toward the prices they get for their entrees. I ordered the chicken curry while my wife asked for the shrimp curry. I was able to find a fair share of small pieces of chicken in my dish,
however the potatoes far exceeded the chicken in a dish labeled "chicken curry." My wife told me she was hard pressed to find a shrimp in her "shrimp curry." In any event, Eva's has a price of $27 for a chicken dish that was mostly potatoes and veggies ! Really ? I would expect other restaurants to have a price of around $15 to $18 for such an entree ( for chicken! ) Our kids treated us so I did not see the final tab, but it was ridiculously expensive. It will be a long time before I darken their door again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eva's Caribbean Kitchen also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Eva's Caribbean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing