We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location, but room was dark and unappealing.”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed there for three nights. Service and location are very good. The sleeping area of our room was large, but very dark and unappealing. A rug on the floor of the bedroom would do a lot to give the room warmth. The bathroom was recently upgraded with new tile and fixtures, but very small. The complimentary morning breakfasts were great. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Your compliments are appreciated; we are happy you were able to enjoy our great location, breakfast buffet buffet and our friendly service.
We appreciate your feedback and suggestions for our guest rooms, and would like to note that each guest room is different in layout and decor. You may enjoy one of our Casa Surf rooms, as each one is uniquely designed by a different surf brand!
Thanks again,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Camino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was excited to stay at Casa del Camino because of all the great reviews but was disappointed with the room size, the mammoth A/C unit on the floor in the room, the fact that the bottom part of the window was not attached to the building and the loud event that the hotel was hosting in the lobby below my room. It was also a little disconcerting that the drapes, which had some kind of a strange residue on them, were draped over the very hot plug for the mammoth A/C at he wall outlet. The staff is fantastic and very helpful, but I have to wonder if the management is actually on-site/inspecting the rooms or if the idea is more of a "rack 'em and stack 'em" mentality without thought to return customers. I visit Laguna frequently on business and have stayed at numerous hotels in town. Regrettably,I would not stay at Casa del Camino again, nor would I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandHfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear KandHfromUS,
We are sincerely disheartened to hear how you feel. It is true, some of our guest rooms are petite, as this is a historic boutique hotel built in 1929. As with most hotels in Laguna Beach, ours was not built with central A/C, and we consider the addition of portable A/C units to be a nice addition to the comfort of our rooms, especially on hot days. Your feedback regarding the size and placement of the portable A/C unit is being considered and discussed.
Thank you for your compliments to our helpful staff. We hope you will consider staying with us again, perhaps in one of our larger Deluxe King or Casa Surf rooms. Thanks again for your candid comments.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have stayed at the hotel many times over the years, and I must say this trip was very disappointing. The staff was great, as usual, so hats off to them. My sweetheart and I stayed in a newly redecorated room and I guess I had my hopes up too high. We each had one large suitcase and that pretty much made it so that we literally could not move around the room.

We have stayed in the loft several times before, and I will never stay there again if I cannot get that or the one next to it.

Breakfast on day 1 was quite the challenge for them. When we got there at 9:00am, all the food was gone and we had to wait, along with 15 of our newly made friends, about 20 minutes for more to arrive. Of course, once it did, it was quickly consumed, and the next group ran into the same issue. On the plus side, the food, when we got it, was great!

For the price, not worth it in my opinion. We paid $360 per night after Labor Day. We stayed at The Fairmont Newport Beach for our 1st 3 nights. With their 3rd night free promotion, our rate was $109 / night. Spacious rooms, great outdoor pool, outstanding food and fantastic service.....all just 5 minutes down MacArthur Blvd to Corona del Mar beaches and about 15 minutes to Newport Beaches.

We may stay again if we can get a better rate, stay across the street in the large units, and possibly restripe the parking lot so that even our small car could park without having to climb in and out of the sunroof.

Greg C

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Greg C,
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in your guest room. It's true, our rooms are a bit smaller than a large luxury chain hotel located in the middle of a concrete business district, however, we feel that La Casa del Camino offers a very different, more intimate experience, as we are a historic boutique hotel (36 total guest rooms) located on the beach in a small, eclectic beach town. Our rates are very competitive in the city of Laguna Beach, especially considering our location and amenities.
We do look forward to hosting you and your family again, when you return to stay at our Loft apartment. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

La Casa is always the most hip place to stay in town but the staff at the Rooftop continues to wow and dazzle everyone. Liliana, Pete, Ian, Phil, Amanda and the entire team are beyond accomodating, they are truly amazing.

Room Tip: Book one of the Surf Suites for a fun time! My favorites are Billabong, Rip Curl, Quiksilver and Et...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Mary D,
Thank you so much for your kind compliments to our lovely team members on the Rooftop Lounge! I have forwarded your review to all of them, and they are sincerely appreciative :)
We look forward to hosting you at the hotel and on the Rooftop again soon!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in August and liked the place, but there were several negative points worth mentioning. Fortunately the pros are so many that they easily counterbalance the cons!
Breakfast for example is just amazing: selection of fresh fruit, croissant, egg/sausages and much more. We chose to take a tray and bring it upstairs on the terrace...what a view from there in the morning! We regretted not having booked a table for cocktails at sunset.
The location is great too, as it's on the main street and you can walk everywhere. And there are also nice restaurants very close.
Bed was super comfty too.

Then the cons:
- The room we got was very small and we could not fit our suitcases in it (at one stage we had to chose if to open the door or open the suitcase).
- It was incredibly dark in it. I understand this is done on purpose but it was hard to put make up on (me) or to shave (husband).
- The portable AC was far to noisy and we had to turn it off (but the temperature in the room was fine anyway)
- The wifi did not work very well and it took a whole day before getting the network
- We booked through Expedia and prepaid in full, but then we have been asked to pay $13 per day as resort fees. When I asked what they were, have been told they were to cover wifi, water in the room and towels on the beach (which we haven't used by the way). I then re-read the small prints on my reservation and find out they were mentioned. It was anyway a bit disappointing to be asked to pay for those 'nice touches' we believed were part of the full price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Erica M,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Your feedback and comments are very useful to us as we strive for continuous improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to host you both again soon.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times while visiting CA and I am never disappointed. The rooms are small but very clean and up to date. Great roof bar and Resturant, the view is the best in Laguna! The staff are always more than willing to accomodate every need or want and are courteous and friendly. Location is vey covienient to all major locations and great Resturants.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear David d,
We are so appreciative of your loyalty to our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is perhaps one of the seediest in Laguna, although you would not expect it from their website nor the exterior of the building/lobby. Once you check in, you will wander through dark, musty hallways. The room we got was the most awful in the building. We bought this stay as an auction item at an event. When we complained that the room was so tight, you could not even walk around both sides of the bed and that the window a/c unit sounded like a 747 getting ready to taxi, the curse woman at the counter said "well this was a gift certificate"--I explained to her that yes it was but we paid $300.00 for it and got a $149.00 room...they would not move us and didn't care--we checked out as fast as lighting and went elsewhere. The bar on the roof was noisy until about 1:00 a.m. and children and teenagers ran amuck as though it was a frat house. WILL NEVER GO HERE OR RECCOMEND.

Room Tip: Surf and Sand, Inn at Laguna Beach or anywhere BUT HERE!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear meanton,
We are quite surprised to hear our hotel referred to as "seedy"... this is certainly not an opinion we have heard before about our property. Regardless, we would like to let you know that since your stay last year we have repainted our lobby, hallways, staircases and restrooms. We have also remodeled our Rooftop Lounge and continue a rigorous maintenance schedule for all guest rooms and public spaces. I am sorry we could not remedy your complaints during your stay last October, We wish you happy future travels.
Sincerely,
Charlotte, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £142 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing