We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but quaint”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small room but quaint”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very boutique-y and bar in lobby is packed every night of the week. Room is tiny...maybe 10x15 including bathroom but well appointed. Bathroom is small but is well done with limestone. The rooftop deck is a must see with an amazing view of the ocean. We enjoyed our free breakfast on the deck. Yes, free breakfast & free parking...pretty rare in Laguna!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VegasGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Your compliments to our nicely appointed rooms, Rooftop Lounge, and our convenient amenities are appreciated. Please note, we have many different guest room configurations and we encourage you to give us a call if you would like to learn about our larger room types. Thanks again for your compliments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    182
    60
    39
    33
See reviews for
66
318
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Of all the places we priced in Laguna Beach, La Casa del Camino was either the same or cheaper and what a beautiful hotel! The room was amazing, the rooftop deck was wonderful, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuePasaCalabaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for choosing La Casa del Camino! We appreciate your kind review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

They don't make 'em this this anymore!! Like other 'era-esque' early 1900's style -hotels; reminds me of San Francisco. on a cliff between The coast and busy Hwy.1 (PCH) at Cress: with an awesome- inspiring vista, of the Laguna Beach tidepools and Pacific Ocean. Beautifully!!! decorated and maintainted rooms. Do not expect a" lot " of space; (rooms were smaller in the late 1920's.) also... now-a-days, 'post probitition' The Bar is a popular rooftop adult-beverage/Lounge, very busy and lively.. up on the 3rd level.. panoramic 360 view of the Laguna hillscape, and Coastline. The Restaurant, and Bar -reception- salon: outstanding! !!!!!! The 'bar snacks" delicious, Salad, Entree, Desert. "Freaking Great " Red Wine selection, and The most amazing employees, and real warm & genuine. There is a really Chill vibe with this place. During our night There have a local live, Guitarist featured. Very talented Local, I am sure. As Laguna Beach Home of the infamous Dr. Tim Leary, and LSD 60's "tune in -turn on -drop out" movement, ( Make Love, not War, peace Man.) Laguna has as been a extremly tread-setting artist village. There is a certain "vibe" artsy, hippy -esque, cutting edge, High End. This is Prime Orange County Real estate now. Laguna Beach is one of the Best things, Orange County has, as assets. I am a Life long born and raised OC citizen. I've walked past, place this place ,dozens of x's, and thought," Wonder what It it be like ,to stay here? " Occasion had it: we did!! A Gem of undiscovered treasure: "right in my own back yard". Now I can say, to potential Laguna/OC guests, This makes me proud of "Historic Laguna Beach, Orange County, and The Republic Of California." enjoy!

Room Tip: Built in the 1920's, I suppose one could chose a amiable view, and location, configuration. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aerovergalineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear your rendition of our historic hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently held our wedding at La Casa del Camino. They were more than accommodating with everything and paid attention to the details. We stayed in the house/cottage for four nights and it felt like home away from home. They helped make our day perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the house. It was perfect. It felt like a home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrennaK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are so happy that you chose to be wed at our lovely hotel. It was such a pleasure to host you all during your special weekend! Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you next year for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So my then new girlfriend and I stayed several months back, around Sept 19th and I have procrastinated on writing this until now. The room, the location, the premises, staff, breakfast, etc. were outstanding!

The original room they brought us to on the ground floor we weren't really feeling so we went back to the desk. They offered an upgrade at a very fair price and we were so glad we made the change. It was a fantastic room and we had such an amazing trip and stay! The way they carry the umbrella/chairs down to the beach for you adds such a classy touch. The first time, I believe the young man's name is Ivan, he was prepared to walk clear down to San Diego to get us the exact spot on the beach we wanted. What a nice and accommodating guy. Then at the free breakfast, Heather was so personable and so friendly. She was a sweetheart to us both. The free breakfast outstanding; it was above and beyond what I expected. Management, please give those two a pat on the back.

I just can't see how you can go wrong booking this place unless you are one of those people who is impossible to please. It's a phenomenal value!

Also we went on a Kayak tour and it was fantastic. Our guide Danny was the man! The company was La Vida Laguna. Also, we went to Sandpiper on Wednesday night and had such a memorable night! The Reggae band was way better than I expected. Oh yeah, and we really liked the Mexican food restaurant next door.

Good Luck!

-Justin and Marketta

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Justin and Marketta,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your past stay! We are thrilled to read about your experience. Thank you for your shout-out to Ivan and Heather - their dedication to our guest's happiness does not go unnoticed :)
We hope to see you both again, should your travels bring you back to beautiful Laguna Beach!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First impressions are always important. Booked the hotel via a relatively new phone app. The price was too good to pass up, so I was suspicious. I called the hotel and was greeted over the phone by a warm bubbly Norma. Man it was late at night and she was happy, happy to be there happy to help out. I couldn't wait to meet her. When we arrived we met Gonzolo who was so professional. He helped us out the next morning with our wonderful breakfast, man it was delicious! Norma and Gonzolo were both there the next day in the morning when we had to check out. Wow these two are dedicated and so a pleasant surprise to find in a boutique hotel.

Oh the staff was awesome and our room was wonderful! I loved the cleanliness and overall feel of this hotel. Places like this are hard to find. wonderful character and charm. I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Choose a king sized bed room! You will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank socalromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review! We're so happy to hear of your great experience with both Norma and Gonzalo.. Your compliments have been passed along. We look forward to hosting you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I just stayed here for two nights with my mother. We enjoyed everything--the location, the ambiance, the staff, the beds, the FREE breakfast! It was great. The staff were very helpful, and even brought us our own beach chairs and towels when we went down to the beach. The hotel restaurant and bar are nice...and they close by 10 PM (even on weekends), which means that there was never any noise trouble. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown LB, and several great restaurants and shops. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing