We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven!”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the moment you walk in to the smiling faces at the front desk and how close you are to "paradise" (the ocean) this is the hotel to stay at in Laguna Beach. We had an ocean view room which was awesome. We left the windows open (no bugs!!!) while we slept and heard the ocean at night which was wonderful. We also enjoyed eating our free breakfast (which was a fantastic breakfast) upstairs at the rooftop which offered fantastic views. If you go on the weekends its hard getting up to the rooftop bar at night to look at the sunset. However, if you walk about one block or less you can sit on the steps by the beach and watch the sunet and it's just spectacular. You should note it is a bit of walk to the main downtown area and if you go on a weekend, very crowded in the downtown area and you won't get a parking spot if you have a car so walking is the best way to get around. However, the price of this hotel in this area is well worth a little walking you may have to do.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, obviously pick the ocean view. I did see in other posts that peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drinker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay, and we are grateful for your kind remarks. Your comments and suggestions to future guests are so valuable... thank you for your candid comments.
We look forward to hosting you again, next time you visit "paradise!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great place along the ocean. Wonderful, friendly service and very uniquely decorated room. The favorite part of my room was the ultra deep bathtub. My brother stayed in an amazing room that had a skateboard theme. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Starting from check in, we were treated really well. We were given a quick tour of their available room, and chose the partial view. Yes, the rooms are *very* small. It's an old hotel, a little creaky, but full of character. Parking is included in a lot across the street. The restaurant downstairs looked good and was reasonably priced. The breakfast: awesome. A free and fully hot breakfast that you can take upstairs to the rooftop deck. This hotel charges an additional resort fee of $14/ night which covers parking, breakfast, wi-fi, beach services, and use of a gym down the street. Beach access is directly outside. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The bar can be a little loud, rooms towards the end of the hall seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us, and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all our great amenities. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booked this hotel for my boyfriend & I based on the old world charm, proximity to the beach and reasonable price for Laguna Beach. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Norma who was very hospitable and let us know about our awesome upgrade from the Spanish King to the Riveria Suite, which has a partial ocean view. The room had a very comfortable bed & the most amazing bathroom - marble from floor to ceiling and a large shower with a rain shower head.

We had a reservation at 7:00pm at K'ya, the onsite restaurant, but cancelled last minute to order room service instead. I highly recommend other couples do the same to avoid the cramped space and amount of noise.

La Casa del Camino is located in a great location, literally steps away from a quiet beach. Complimentary parking and continental breakfast are fine amenities, but I'm not sure if I'd stay here again. Although I expected the hotel to be a popular spot because of the restaurant and bar & the noise associated with it, all the foot traffic caused quite a bit of commotion especially since our room was only a couple of doors down from the stairs. If you want peace and quiet, this may not be the hotel for you. Regardless, we had a pleasant stay and would definitely revisit the restaurant and rooftop bar should we be in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 502sheenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Riviera Surf Suite. Thank you for your compliments to Norma and our friendly team! We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the foot traffic in the evening by the Rooftop Sunset crowd. We have become quite well-known for our wonderful view and it is typically busy from late afternoon until about 30 minutes after sunset. We do have many rooms located away from the staircase leading to the Rooftop, and our quietest rooms are definitely the Spanish Kings.
We look forward to welcoming you as guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very boutique-y and bar in lobby is packed every night of the week. Room is tiny...maybe 10x15 including bathroom but well appointed. Bathroom is small but is well done with limestone. The rooftop deck is a must see with an amazing view of the ocean. We enjoyed our free breakfast on the deck. Yes, free breakfast & free parking...pretty rare in Laguna!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VegasGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Your compliments to our nicely appointed rooms, Rooftop Lounge, and our convenient amenities are appreciated. Please note, we have many different guest room configurations and we encourage you to give us a call if you would like to learn about our larger room types. Thanks again for your compliments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Of all the places we priced in Laguna Beach, La Casa del Camino was either the same or cheaper and what a beautiful hotel! The room was amazing, the rooftop deck was wonderful, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuePasaCalabaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for choosing La Casa del Camino! We appreciate your kind review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

They don't make 'em this this anymore!! Like other 'era-esque' early 1900's style -hotels; reminds me of San Francisco. on a cliff between The coast and busy Hwy.1 (PCH) at Cress: with an awesome- inspiring vista, of the Laguna Beach tidepools and Pacific Ocean. Beautifully!!! decorated and maintainted rooms. Do not expect a" lot " of space; (rooms were smaller in the late 1920's.) also... now-a-days, 'post probitition' The Bar is a popular rooftop adult-beverage/Lounge, very busy and lively.. up on the 3rd level.. panoramic 360 view of the Laguna hillscape, and Coastline. The Restaurant, and Bar -reception- salon: outstanding! !!!!!! The 'bar snacks" delicious, Salad, Entree, Desert. "Freaking Great " Red Wine selection, and The most amazing employees, and real warm & genuine. There is a really Chill vibe with this place. During our night There have a local live, Guitarist featured. Very talented Local, I am sure. As Laguna Beach Home of the infamous Dr. Tim Leary, and LSD 60's "tune in -turn on -drop out" movement, ( Make Love, not War, peace Man.) Laguna has as been a extremly tread-setting artist village. There is a certain "vibe" artsy, hippy -esque, cutting edge, High End. This is Prime Orange County Real estate now. Laguna Beach is one of the Best things, Orange County has, as assets. I am a Life long born and raised OC citizen. I've walked past, place this place ,dozens of x's, and thought," Wonder what It it be like ,to stay here? " Occasion had it: we did!! A Gem of undiscovered treasure: "right in my own back yard". Now I can say, to potential Laguna/OC guests, This makes me proud of "Historic Laguna Beach, Orange County, and The Republic Of California." enjoy!

Room Tip: Built in the 1920's, I suppose one could chose a amiable view, and location, configuration. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aerovergalineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear your rendition of our historic hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,114 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £112 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing