We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it!”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
fayetteville NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED it!”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Okay we stayed here for 5 nights, 3 in a regular queen sized room and 2 in the quiksilver suite. The regular room was great, a little small but still amazing for the price that we paid ($90 a night, you cant find a Days Inn for that price anywhere nowadays) and we did have our 11 mos old daughter with and she slept in our playpen but they did offer cribs. Again the only negative was it was a little small and it only had a shower, but overall it was very beautiful. We upgraded to the suite later cause they have 10 surf themed suites and it was only an extra $50 a night weekdays so it was totally worth it (the hubby loves surfing!). The suite was awesome, much more spacious and great views. Again, only had a shower but this one was huge! K'YA the in hotel bistro is freaking AMAZING! Seriously good high class food for ridiculous low prices. And the rooftop bar offers a view like no other, my only thing bout that is I would definitely hit it up during happy hour cause its much cheaper otherwise it ends up being a bit pricy but its happy hours falls around sunset in the winter so its the perfect time to go. We will go back there EVERYTIME we take a trip to visit the family in cali. again. Oh yeah and there a japanese place called Mosun, all you can eat for $22.00 on Mondays, right down the road...AWESOME!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peeps44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    184
    63
    40
    33
See reviews for
67
327
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Overall, our stay was great. We were there for a quick getaway, one night, December 30. The hotel's location can not be beat, and the dinner was tasty. We really enjoyed the piano music by the fireplace.

However, there were two points that could be improved:

I used the hotel website for the reservation, and the front desk had trouble locating it. Luckily, I printed it, and that cleared it up.

Also, although the dinner was great, the breakfast was disappointing, because the food was cold.

Again, for the most part, the visit was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rottnestwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Do not expect to sleep well because the rooms are incredibly noisy. The owners like to have you reserve one room and then give you another one when you show up. Also, the rate for the room you book and the rate for the room you get may change. To be fair, the location is nice and the rooftop patio is really enjoyable. Mostly, this hotel was simply over priced for what you get. I'm a huge fan of boutique hotels, but skip this one!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txstraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband wanted to enjoy our last summer getaway somewhere which offered close walking distance to the beach, great food and drinks with a view, and a comfortable, clean and friendly atmosphere. His research brought us to La Casa Del Camino in Laguna Beach. What a wonderful find!!! We had driven by this place many times and wondered about it. We were fortunate to have found a table to enjoy the great appetizers and drinks on The Rooftop (which is always busy) and to toast the sun dipping into the ocean. We then ventured downstairs to k'ya for a very delicious dinner which was served by the very charming and helpful waitress Liz, Liz, Liz. Our wonderful morning breakfast from k'ya restaurant was delivered to us on The Rooftop for a sparkling ocean view. Later we walked down the steps and walked along the water edge to Main Beach to shop and browse. We walked back to La Casa Del Camino on PCH with a few gallery stops along the way. The afternoon took us to playing in the ocean with the perks of towels, chairs and umbrellas brought down to us. (My husband offered to help but he was declined, we were their guests) We watched the sunset again on The Rooftop and we were very satisfied with the other menu choices. We ate at a friend's local restaurant but enjoyed the Camino's perk of blankets and the use of The Rooftop after hours for a romantic champagne toast! We would like to thank the staff and especially Norma and Andrew in the lobby for your hospitality and a very amazing experience. We look forward to sharing our new find, and we will definitely see you again. Chris and Deb

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25yrstime2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed at La Casa Del Camino for a week in September, nothing at all to complain about. It's in a great location on PCH, close enough to everything, and just a few yards from the beach.
We were in the cheapest room, you pay more for the view which we didn't have, but it had all the ameneties we wanted (a/c, refrigerator, tv, cd/radio/alarm) and it and the bathroom were kept very clean.
Excellent (and cheap) restaurant downstairs and live music in the lobby. Could get noisy in early evening but we didn't see this as a negative, it just added to the friendly atmosphere. Amazing rooftop terrace bar, great ocean views.
Not much in the way of 'business' facilities, but the front desk tried to accomodate as much as possible.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keys666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My fiancé (32) and I (30) stayed at La Casa del Camino for two nights as part of our three-week California tour and we can definitely recommend it. The location is great - it's very close to a beatiful beach and close to shops and restaurants in Laguna. The rooftop lounge has a breathtaking view and we loved the small-dish menu in the hotel's own restaurant. The food was also excellent. However, it was really loud there - if you mind noise, you need to dine somewhere else.They had live music on the piano both nights in the lobby and the atmosphere was really fun and exciting. We chose a room in the basement which didn't have a view but was very spacious and had really beautiful, antique-looking furniture. Nicer than my own furniture at home, actually :-) I couldn't think of a better place to stay in Laguna and I'd come back any time.This review sounds almost too good to be true but it was really just like that.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel 9/6/09 to attend a wedding there. The employees @ front deskk were unorganized, didn't know anything about the wedding . The server in bar on top of bulding left with my cc card to "serve" at another part of the building. Bartender said to "go find her". Thats what I want to do is go look for my server. There's no ice machine , had to finad someone to get me ice.
The hotel & restaurant are seperate & don't communicate. Employees are very young & inexperienced with customer service issues. Owner isn't interested either.

Helpful?
Thank nimbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing