We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for location, not the room”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel in June '10. We've been to many hotels in Laguna Beach and thought we'd give this one a try since we enjoy the restaurant K'ya in the hotel and the rooftop bar is a fun spot for a drink. Turns out, it was easy to stay here as we enjoyed the above and didn't have to leave the hotel, and the beach was just right below our room. Everything very easy to do without driving or stress....however, the room was terrible. The bed was lousy, the mattress must have been 100 yrs old. The sink for the bathroom was in our room and the shower and toilet in the "bathroom". The television looked to be from the mid-'90's and was mounted up in a corner of our room like it would be in a hospital. Basically, if you do stay here it's not to enjoy the room. It's for other reasons....
Apparently, they've redone 10 of the rooms, all with a different theme. If you want to spend 150+ more a night, you can have one of these rooms. For us, it wasn't worth it for this trip.
Not a bad hotel in terms of free parking, can bring a dog, great location on beach and good restaurant and bar in hotel. Room itself, if not updated, going to be a real let down if you are not prepared for it....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

I will start with the good, it has a hopping fun bar scene and lots of charm, yet, since one of the main things you do at a hotel is sleep, I cannot recommend this hotel. It is the loudest place I have ever tried to sleep. When I complained, they said they only have a few quiet rooms, and they are all were taken. The one person bathrooms to one of the most popular bars are directly across the small hall from rooms 201 and 202. This means people are having conversations in the hall until it closes at 10. (meaning they are hanging out until about 11)
The roof top bar is accessed by walking thru all the hall ways and climbing the stairs. Meaning drunk people, and I have nothing against drunk people, are stomping thru your hallway. Additionally, the charming hard wood floors are not so charming at 7 am when some one above you is keeping you from your shut eye by merely walking.
Also the over flow to the bar is downstairs, right out side many of the windows to the hotel. The bar staff restocks at 8:30, and yes, they too are loud. It was ridiculous. Oh, and I forgot to mention the toilets that are as loud as an airplane toilet and the road traffic noise. Apparently trash pick up is everyday. For the love of God, stay away if you want ANY sleep.
I am all for being patient and understanding if there is an event, but here the noise is day and night. And, although the staff is very nice, they are powerless to help, except to adjust the price....sometimes all you want is sleep.
To sum up, if you are young enough to be nostalgic for your party and dorm days, or old enough to turn down your hearing aid, you may be able to tolerate this place. Please do not let the "charm" of the decor win you over you will regret it.
Do check out the roof top bar, it is worth the trip over from whatever hotel you stay at, and has a good happy hour 3-5 and a great sunset ocean view.
I have read the good reviews on this site, and must conclude that either they got one of the five "good rooms" or went mid week when the bars are not as popular.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LifesaBeach006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Okay we stayed here for 5 nights, 3 in a regular queen sized room and 2 in the quiksilver suite. The regular room was great, a little small but still amazing for the price that we paid ($90 a night, you cant find a Days Inn for that price anywhere nowadays) and we did have our 11 mos old daughter with and she slept in our playpen but they did offer cribs. Again the only negative was it was a little small and it only had a shower, but overall it was very beautiful. We upgraded to the suite later cause they have 10 surf themed suites and it was only an extra $50 a night weekdays so it was totally worth it (the hubby loves surfing!). The suite was awesome, much more spacious and great views. Again, only had a shower but this one was huge! K'YA the in hotel bistro is freaking AMAZING! Seriously good high class food for ridiculous low prices. And the rooftop bar offers a view like no other, my only thing bout that is I would definitely hit it up during happy hour cause its much cheaper otherwise it ends up being a bit pricy but its happy hours falls around sunset in the winter so its the perfect time to go. We will go back there EVERYTIME we take a trip to visit the family in cali. again. Oh yeah and there a japanese place called Mosun, all you can eat for $22.00 on Mondays, right down the road...AWESOME!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peeps44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Overall, our stay was great. We were there for a quick getaway, one night, December 30. The hotel's location can not be beat, and the dinner was tasty. We really enjoyed the piano music by the fireplace.

However, there were two points that could be improved:

I used the hotel website for the reservation, and the front desk had trouble locating it. Luckily, I printed it, and that cleared it up.

Also, although the dinner was great, the breakfast was disappointing, because the food was cold.

Again, for the most part, the visit was great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottnestwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Do not expect to sleep well because the rooms are incredibly noisy. The owners like to have you reserve one room and then give you another one when you show up. Also, the rate for the room you book and the rate for the room you get may change. To be fair, the location is nice and the rooftop patio is really enjoyable. Mostly, this hotel was simply over priced for what you get. I'm a huge fan of boutique hotels, but skip this one!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank txstraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband wanted to enjoy our last summer getaway somewhere which offered close walking distance to the beach, great food and drinks with a view, and a comfortable, clean and friendly atmosphere. His research brought us to La Casa Del Camino in Laguna Beach. What a wonderful find!!! We had driven by this place many times and wondered about it. We were fortunate to have found a table to enjoy the great appetizers and drinks on The Rooftop (which is always busy) and to toast the sun dipping into the ocean. We then ventured downstairs to k'ya for a very delicious dinner which was served by the very charming and helpful waitress Liz, Liz, Liz. Our wonderful morning breakfast from k'ya restaurant was delivered to us on The Rooftop for a sparkling ocean view. Later we walked down the steps and walked along the water edge to Main Beach to shop and browse. We walked back to La Casa Del Camino on PCH with a few gallery stops along the way. The afternoon took us to playing in the ocean with the perks of towels, chairs and umbrellas brought down to us. (My husband offered to help but he was declined, we were their guests) We watched the sunset again on The Rooftop and we were very satisfied with the other menu choices. We ate at a friend's local restaurant but enjoyed the Camino's perk of blankets and the use of The Rooftop after hours for a romantic champagne toast! We would like to thank the staff and especially Norma and Andrew in the lobby for your hospitality and a very amazing experience. We look forward to sharing our new find, and we will definitely see you again. Chris and Deb

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25yrstime2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed at La Casa Del Camino for a week in September, nothing at all to complain about. It's in a great location on PCH, close enough to everything, and just a few yards from the beach.
We were in the cheapest room, you pay more for the view which we didn't have, but it had all the ameneties we wanted (a/c, refrigerator, tv, cd/radio/alarm) and it and the bathroom were kept very clean.
Excellent (and cheap) restaurant downstairs and live music in the lobby. Could get noisy in early evening but we didn't see this as a negative, it just added to the friendly atmosphere. Amazing rooftop terrace bar, great ocean views.
Not much in the way of 'business' facilities, but the front desk tried to accomodate as much as possible.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keys666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £126 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing