We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laguna Beach on a Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Laguna Beach on a Budget”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is an average hotel but I only stayed overnight. The buffet breakfast is dismal. It is not one of those hotels you want to lounge around. Laguna Beach is one of the jewels on the California coast.


Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thak you for writing, Annette. We're sorry you did not have the opportunity to lounge around our heated pool or soak up some sun on our rooftop deck with Pacific Ocean views. The sunsets can be spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    260
    109
    61
    47
See reviews for
187
318
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed here in the past and like always it is clean and quiet. It is always consistent and the rooms are very comfortable. We usually get a room in the back away from pch as it can sometimes get noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank krzzzymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha, Mary! So nice of you to revisit. Sounds like you've found your perfect spot here in Laguna Beach. Safe travels to you and we look forward to your return. Mahalo nui!
~Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Outdated hotel with poor amenities on a very busy street. If you want to take a shower, you have to climb stairs to get on top of bathtub and then perform a risky act of jumping into bathtub, then repeat this process in reverse to get out. Our room was not cleaned, although we have been out for most of the day. VERY OVERPRICED for what it is! The breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay. Rather than utilizing the safety grab bars to enter and exit the spa tub rooms featuring the whirlpool spa as part of the tub/shower combination in the bathroom, we would suggest requesting a room on the front of the hotel which will have the spa tub separate in the bedroom area. These rooms also feature a regular size tub/shower in the bathroon, too. Thank again!

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed 5 nights here from end Sept. Check in process was easy and Carlos was most helpful. I had a room that overlooked the pool which was very comfortable. Large clean room, Comfy bed, nice linen, fluffy towels. As other reviewers have noted there is a large step down into the hot tub/shower but there are sufficient handles to hold into when climbing in, so I didn't have a problem, parents if you supervise your kids in and out they should be fine. Great location, awesome uncrowded beach just across the road, About a 15-20 minute walk down to Main Beach, Broadway, Heisler Park. I did have a rental car, which you self park at the hotel which is free of charge. Another plus was the free WIFI available in your room. The sundeck, 1 level up from the pool, had great views across the rooftops across the road to the ocean. It had table & chairs with umbrellas and Sun Loungers, great spot. The free breakfast offered a choice of hot and cold options, juice, coffee etc. Quite sufficient, but if you wanted something more substantial there are many cafe's to choose from not too far away. There are no in-room safes but safety deposit boxes are available for your valuables at Hotel Reception. Check out was a breeze, Evan was on duty and was kind enough to carry my suitcase outside to my waiting car. Thank you Evan, very kind of you . I was travelling alone, felt very safe here and also when I was out 'on foot' after dark. Will definitely be back to stay here on my next trip. Thank you for an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Room 429 was brighter as it looked out over the pool - worth the few steps up to get to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words for our staff members. We will be sure and pass them along. As Best Western says, "Stay with People Who Care!" Room 429 is definitely a favorite! 431 is also nice at it has its own private balcony overlooking the pool as well as a horizon glimpse of the ocean and Catalina Island. We look forward to your return!

~Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice hotel close to beach and conveniently located to shopping. Pool is very small and the Hot tub/Spa was colder then the pool. They rooms were clean and well furnished. BIG Issue was the in-room hot tubs unless you are a good climber watch out the step to the Hot-tub/ shower is SCARRY!! Kids slipped and could not get out without help! Glad to be able to get out on my one but would worry about if traveling with someone who had limited mobility and couldn't get in and out!! This was the only bath/shower in our room!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for writing and bringing up something very important. For increased ease, we do offer rooms along ther front of the hotel which have your spa tub separate in the bedroom which will still offer you a regualr size tub in the bathroom itself. And for those that prefer NO spa tub at all, we also offer a limited supply of those, as well. Please let us know your request when making a reservation. Thanks again!
~Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary and needed a hotel nearby for a little staycation. BW Laguna Brisas is our go-to hotel in Laguna. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed and the location is a block from the beach and within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Free parking, in-room spas, balconies are just some of the perks. The staff is friendly and accommodating, too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
HaPpY AnNiVeRsArY, JaNiS !!! We hope to see you on your 12th (or sooner).
~Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having finished an organised coach tour around California we thought we might have a few days rest and by luck chose Laguna beach. Not knowing anything about Laguna beach we chose the Best Western for the average price and its location of just across the road to the beach. Great room overlooking the swimming pool. Ask for room either overlooking the front or pool as some rooms at back looked very dark with no sitting area outside door or view. Lovely pool and hot tub, just what we needed at the end of the day to relax. Breakfast very basic with throw away plates but plenty to eat. Take your toast and coffee up to the open area. Excellent location if you have transport to Dana Beach about 10 mins one way or Newport beach 15 mins the other way. Reception staff could have been a bit more welcoming but overall the stay was great.

Room Tip: Either overlooking road or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Jean. We're sure glad you discovered us. We hope to see you on your next trip from across the "pond!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Property: Laguna Brisas Hotel
Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing