We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice outside, bad inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks nice outside, bad inside”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our room was below the sidewalk, musty, dark and not very clean. It was very noisy with PCH noise. The breakfast is very generic. Our room did not look like any of the pictures shown on the web. When we asked to see another room, we were told they were full and could not show rooms that had not been cleaned anyway. Some rooms do not have a closet! Would NOT stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We will continue to train our employees and work on our shortcomings. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    257
    107
    60
    46
See reviews for
184
316
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for one night in a 2 Queen, Whirlpool Suite. Spacious, well appointed room. Whirlpool in the main room is a beautiful touch and very spacious for 2 to enjoy, a small pack of bath salts included was a nice touch. These rooms face the side street (off the PCH) which is a little quieter. The ocean view is literally just that, a little glimpse. But the beach is literally across the street and down the steps, so that's just fine.

Staff is lovely here. Helpful and friendly. Parking included, underground. Breakfast was adequate, and the breakfast room is spacious with lots of seating.

Great location, fairly central. Beach access to several different coves is all within walking distance. There is also the free trolley which goes to many locations of note. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The queen rooms that aren't on the main street offer the beautiful soaker feature whirlpool tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Owner at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your words with our staff to motivate them to continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction. Please visit us again soon. Best regards.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Unable to sleep due to the loud noise level from the room air conditioner (no central air) which did not have a thermostat. We had to keep changing the settings (too cold or too hot) AND the street noise.
Also, I did not feel the bathroom was up to the rating standard: no magnifying mirror, poor lighting. Overall, the 3.5 star rating seemed undeserved.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwilkes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I am sorry we disappointed you. I will share your words with the staff. We will continue to train our employees and work on our shortcomings. We appreciate your comments. Happy travels


Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is located across the street from the the other hotels that overlook the ocean. The "sea view" is what you get where you can "see" between the buildings across the street. The "sea view" rooms also overlook the busy street below with the sound of traffic all night. The free trolly system is great though. Pick up and drop off right by the hotel. Breakfast is OK. Includes eggs, meat, breads, waffles, drinks. The in-room jacuzzi was relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are across the street from the ocean so the view is limited. There is a nice sundeck area on the 4th floor from which there is a better view. We will continue to work on our shortcomings and strive for perfection.. Best regards.


Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My stay was comfortable and just a few minutes walk to the beach. The ocean views on the upper patio were amazing. The staff was very helpful. Art galleries were close by and transportation was convenient as the hotel is located close to the Laguna Shuttle stop. I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank afamteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We appreciate your words regarding the staff. They will be delighted that their efforts were noticed. We will continue to upgrade our property to meet our guest's expectations. Please visit us again soon. Travel safe.


Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at Best Western PLUS Laguna Beach for an overnight stay and had a lovely time! The reception staff were very friendly and polite. The room was perfect for 2 people and we really enjoyed the spa tub in the room. Overall, would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank veronica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your words with the staff as motivation so they can continue to ensure a pleasant stay for all our guests. Best regards and come back soon.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful hotel with modern amenities and upgrades. Had a balcony with a view of the ocean, comfortable bed, nice big counter in the bathroom, big TV, underground free parking, in room jacuzzi! The breakfast was spectacular with waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausages, yogurt, fruit and more. Staff was very friendly and helpful :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I will share your words with the staff. They will be appreciative that their efforts have been noticed. We will continue to instill a can do attitude and work towards 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon. Happy travels.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Property: Laguna Brisas Hotel
Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing