We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Dreaming”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“California Dreaming”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed three nights for a conference - so didn't have time to fully enjoy the amenities and the ambience.

When you think California, beaches, surfing and sunsets this place is the epitomy. The hotel sits directly on Pacific Coast Highway - but no rooms fact or back the road, so this is not an issue. You are a bit away from the main shopping area in Laguna Beach - but it is walkable.

Staff was very welcoming - from valets to the check-in folks. Lobby is minimalist to say the least. The room was very nice - furnished very much in a beach motifff,very nice. The king bed was comfortable, but not the latest or greatest pillow top you see in many hotels. My one complaint, the pillows were not very good - probably time to replace them. The bathroom was nice sized with a jetted tub. The seperate shower was very small - barely room to turn around.

Rooms all have nice balconies facing the ocean - great place to watch the sunset over Catalina. Now, the hotel sits on a surfing beach - what this means is they have real waves. Real waves mean that if you are on a lower floor (I was on 3) - the waves CRASHING can be quite loud. You have options - leave the door open to get the fresh air and enjoy the noise: leave the door open and use the provided earplugs: lastly shut the door and the sound is deadened substantially - your choice.

Our group had several of our meals and used the meeting facilities here - perfect place for a group of 100 or so. Service was outstanding, food was excellent. Can't ask for better. Very well done.

Bottom line - get new pillows and i'll give Surf & Sand a "5"!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor or room in Tower 1 if noise from the waves is going to be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed our services, guestrooms and views.

I will have our Housekeeping Director address the pillow concerns immediately. Having a good night sleep for our guests is a top priority and will ensure all pillows are of the same quality.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Laguna Beach.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    291
    136
    82
    63
See reviews for
420
740
42
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I took our 2 kids to this resort and this is by far the best place we have stayed at in California. Every single staff member makes you feel so welcome!

You are literally right on the beach and when you look down from your balcony all you see is sand.

If you are looking for an amazing place on the beach to stay this is it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohheyrachrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next return!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely getaway overnight at the Surf & Sand Resort in January. We loved our room, which was directly over the sand and the ocean. We preferred the sound of the waves, but the hotel provides ear plugs for those who don't. We spent as much time as possible on the balcony taking in the restful and beautiful view, and also walked on the beach below, just steps away! The room was very comfortable and the amenities were also great. Only downside was that we were on a low floor and could hear the people on the beach below us who were there to surf and have fun. Nothing wrong with them, just more noise than I would have liked. Also, I realize that a room overlooking the ocean is a very special thing, but the price of the room will make it difficult for us to go back anytime soon. Too bad. Would love to go back as often as possible!

Room Tip: Higher floor have less people noise from the beach below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Surf and Sand Resort from February 14 to 17, 2014. I booked the oceanfront room with Expedia since I did not see anything available on their website for the time I wanted. The hotel ended up being everything I wanted. I wanted to hear the ocean waves and we did. There is a nice short beach walk that starts right at the hotel. Room was cleaned in the morning and prepared for the night. Pool area was a nice place to hang out - bar, music. Staff was friendly and answered questions. Their "make your own breakfast burrito and pancakes" morning service was great. The only suggestion I would give is to hire few more waiters in the Splashes restaurant and in the Pacific Perk/Gift shop. We had to wait for service for a bit since no one was found at the Pacific Perk one morning. Restaurant's food is superb! The best lamb rack ever. Staff was good but thinly spread, our water glasses were never refilled, bread plates were not taken away before dinner came (I had to ask to have them removed), waiter came to ask how our dinner was by the end of the meal and not withing usual 2 minutes. Table was not wiped after dinner. Hope they improve because food is outstanding.

Room Tip: the ocean is loud and they have earplugs for those who prefer quiet but if you can't use those d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Online Specialist at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Nina,
Thank you for your review of Surf & Sand! We're so glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay, and we appreciate your feedback regarding service at Pacific Perk and Splashes Restaurant. I've shared your comments with our dining staff. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a great stay at Surf and Sand. It's a nice hotel right at the beach. Not even Montage is that close to the beach. So we really enjoyed it to go out for a walk at the beach, swim in the pool and enjoying the view (and the whales that were visible right from the poolside). Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean view. It's a very special feeling to wake up in the morning and enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoG92688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our pool and beach facilities (and of course our Surf Dolphins that perform!).

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I went to Laguna earlier this month to visit family and decided to stay at Surf & Sand. The choice was a HOME RUN. Surf & Sand strikes the perfect balance of indigenous Laguna charm with resort style amenities, dining and service. Speaking of service, Ashley our waitress at Splashes was great, and curated an incredibly delicious lunch for us. Get the brussel sprouts by the way...they are UNREAL. Also, a sunset cocktail at Splashes Bar is a MUST as well. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort. I am thrilled that about your lunch at Splashes and will certainly be passing along your comments to Ashley and our Executive Chef.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Located on the Beach! First rate rooms; Spacious, excellent amenities, and crashing waves as background. Staff is excellent in all aspects of service. Resort is very accommodating and very easy to work with.
Splashes Restaurant is very appealing. Great view of Beach, sea breeze, interesting style in table setting. They have plenty of heater for those chilly Days and Nights. Good choices on Menu of meals and cocktails.
Be aware long walk to Laguna Beach Central, but lots to see and do on way. Check-in is at 4:00pm a little late? This Resort is awesome and you will enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Lower the level, more crashing waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing