We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Dinner at Splashes”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dinner at Splashes”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

What an incredible night we had at splashes! The view was spectacular, it was like having dinner right on the beach. Our Sommelier Kyle, made the perfect wine and entree pairings. Wonderful vegan options as well as mouth watering short-ribs and Halibut. The service was perfect, relaxed and comfortable, we could have stayed all night. We will be back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    280
    131
    80
    62
See reviews for
393
714
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful hotel right on the water. It appeared as though almost every room on the property has an ocean view. Beautiful, clean grounds and friendly staff. Amazing restaurant with ocean views from vitrually every table. Excellent food! We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at Splashes restaurant and each meal was delicious with great service.

The only reason I'm not giving this hotel 5 stars is because we found it to be extremely noisy. We had a hard time sleeping the first night due to the group of teenagers above us. We also tried to take a nap the second day because we hardly slept the first night and it was so nosy with people walking around our room and housekeeping staff working around our room that we couldn't sleep. This would be a difficult hotel to take a baby or small child that needs to nap during the day. I don't know if it's the layout of the hotel or if it's an older building but I don't think I've ever stayed at such a noisy hotel that cost so much money. Maybe it doesn't bother some people but if you are bothered by a lot of noise this is not the hotel for you.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful restaurant in a great location but be warned about the noise!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Catalina suites. Extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a week and felt like I was in heaven. My room was right on the beach and the room was impeccable. Service was very attentive from the valets to bell hops to restaurant staff. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place to stay in Laguna.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed surf and sand hotel. It is very different than any hotel we have stayed in before. This boutique hotel offers a swank environment for young and old alike and is also family friendly. The staff is excellent all around. The rooms are enormous and beautiful and offer queen beds with luxury linens. All rooms are Located right on the ocean the waves will rock you to sleep. Splashes restaurant is delicious and offers high end and unique dishes. Our kids loved the breakfast. Cocktails by the pool and at the sunset view bar are a treat. Walk to shops and restaurants. Although a little pricey, We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel could not be any closer to the Pacific Ocean if it tried. The waves are inches away from the main building and enjoyed by surfers, bathers, and the plain old scaredies like us. We had a suite with a large patio balcony on the fourth floor and the view was tremendous. Pre warned about the noise of the waves overnight we were duly kept awake most of the night, only to discover that the patio doors and a bedroom window had been open all night! Earplugs are thoughtfully provided but were absolutely unnecessary the following night once all the windows were properly closed! Lovely pool and downstairs bar with, of course, tremendous views of the sea. Ate in Splashes restaurant on first night but only small plates so can't comment on full blown meal. Very attentive staff throughout, especially upstairs patio staff who provided patio heaters etc without prompting on cooler evenings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think lower level rooms are noisier owing to the surf crashing onto the shore but we didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This place has to be seen to be believed - the waves come right up and touch the hotel at high tide! Superb rooms, superb views, superb food and helpful and friendly staff. A bit pricey but overall excellent and one of our favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. We chose a room on a high floor as the crashing of waves at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_S186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Don't let the PCH frontage fool you. This hotel is right on the main street but miles and miles from the rest of the world. The suites with the sun decks are posh and airy. The service has been impeccable since Jon first showed us to the room. Breakfast was delicious and unique...who puts dates in an omelette...?...but it works. A fresh flower arrangement, not just some stems, was on the desk with a card. Ashley at the beach will bring you whatever you want (as long as it isn't alcoholic...apparently that's illegal on CA beaches). Seafood salad was light with lemon vinegrette, while the caesar salad was memorable...and when's the last time you could say that? The best part? Some really scary looking rocks sort of block the way to the main Laguna waterfront, and most people don't venture our way. I was somehow, risking life and limb, able to get across. Okay, truth be told, it was easy as pie, but don't tell everyone. It was a pleasant walk to Las Brisas. We also went into the main Laguna area for dinner, just walking a few blocks south...very easy with sidewalks the whole way. Go down the beach south and through the arch to see the water bursting through the rocks and explore the interesting tidal pools.

Room Tip: Melissa gave us terrific tips and options when we called. I loved having a sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to hear about your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort! Creating memories for our guests is what we strive for by training with our team throughout the year.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing