We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and 11 year old son joined me for a four day stay. It was our first stay in the area and could not have been more relaxing. We stayed on the fourth floor and was fascinated by the sound of the ocean. It may be too much for some but was quite tranquil to us being from North Oakland County, MI. The food from room service was as good or better than actually in the restaurant. Our server set the table out on the balcony. Just was a splendid stay. We will absolutely be back to stay again this year I hope.

Room Tip: Lower room really has the fell of sleeping ON the ocean beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGBADERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have recently returned from five days in The Surf & Sand. We were originally allocated room 317 which I have to say along side room 318 must be the worst rooms in the hotel, so when you check in if you are given these rooms save yourself a journey. After complaining, they couldn't move us that night but did the following into The Tower block. It was like being in a different hotel - room was bigger, better furnished and the view was spectacular. The only complaint was that the sound proofing is really, really poor.... We were awoken by the couple next door 'rutting' like they were on a film set at 10.27pm, 1.20am and 4.46am. They then followed this with a lengthy dialogue. Clearly a newly formed relationship for obvious reasons. I appreciate it is relative but we could hear everything - having to explain to the children who woke and asked 'what's that noise' was challenging. They do provide you with complimentary ear plugs - not sure whether this is to block out the ocean or the neighbours. Overall great setting on the beach, great location, great service but expensive for what you get.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Hettysaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This would be our third visit to the resort in the past Year. We were at another hotel in Laguna Beach last year and were not satisfied with our accommodations or service on our first night there. My daughter and I went on a run and saw the Surf and Sand Resort , went in to check availability. They were wonder, did have availability and even allowed me to see the room they thought would suit our family. We loved it! Right on the beach, beautiful clean rooms and the amenities were just what we were looking for. The pool being right on the beach and the hotel it self not too large entices me. I have a 9 year old and felt very safe having her running back and forth from pool to beach. My teen agers loved it as well. The pool and beach staff were great! Always making sure we had our favorite space on the beach as they set up umbrellas , chairs and towels. They even have beach games games that we were able to use!!

Once we parked we used our car just once or twice. You are able to walk to shopping and restaurants easily and during the summertime there is a bus taking you up and down the PCH.
The use of the Spa was wonderful as well Shower after a day at the beach eliminating bringing sand back to the room, not to mention the wonderful spa services we got!!

We plan on returning this summer again and enjoy the beautiful beach and family time we are able to have. I recommend this resort to many of my friends and clients all the time and hope my review is one that will finalize your thoughts on were to stay in beautiful Laguna Beach!

Room Tip: Well, as I am a very hard one to please with the room and location. We stayed in the beach towers fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanvilleShelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Shelli,
Thank you very much for reviewing Surf & Sand Resort! We're thrilled to hear how you and your family have enjoyed your stays with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What an incredible night we had at splashes! The view was spectacular, it was like having dinner right on the beach. Our Sommelier Kyle, made the perfect wine and entree pairings. Wonderful vegan options as well as mouth watering short-ribs and Halibut. The service was perfect, relaxed and comfortable, we could have stayed all night. We will be back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful hotel right on the water. It appeared as though almost every room on the property has an ocean view. Beautiful, clean grounds and friendly staff. Amazing restaurant with ocean views from vitrually every table. Excellent food! We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at Splashes restaurant and each meal was delicious with great service.

The only reason I'm not giving this hotel 5 stars is because we found it to be extremely noisy. We had a hard time sleeping the first night due to the group of teenagers above us. We also tried to take a nap the second day because we hardly slept the first night and it was so nosy with people walking around our room and housekeeping staff working around our room that we couldn't sleep. This would be a difficult hotel to take a baby or small child that needs to nap during the day. I don't know if it's the layout of the hotel or if it's an older building but I don't think I've ever stayed at such a noisy hotel that cost so much money. Maybe it doesn't bother some people but if you are bothered by a lot of noise this is not the hotel for you.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful restaurant in a great location but be warned about the noise!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Catalina suites. Extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a week and felt like I was in heaven. My room was right on the beach and the room was impeccable. Service was very attentive from the valets to bell hops to restaurant staff. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place to stay in Laguna.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed surf and sand hotel. It is very different than any hotel we have stayed in before. This boutique hotel offers a swank environment for young and old alike and is also family friendly. The staff is excellent all around. The rooms are enormous and beautiful and offer queen beds with luxury linens. All rooms are Located right on the ocean the waves will rock you to sleep. Splashes restaurant is delicious and offers high end and unique dishes. Our kids loved the breakfast. Cocktails by the pool and at the sunset view bar are a treat. Walk to shops and restaurants. Although a little pricey, We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £296 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing