We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neutral on this property”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neutral on this property”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It can not be said that the location of this hotel is not the best for the beach lover. The building is merely 10 yards from the surf. BUT..... the sacrifice you make for this is NO AIR CONDITIONING. For a Southern girl used to cold rooms and quiet sleeping conditions this was not the place for me. And like most properties that are open to the elements things are a bit worn looking. The bathroom was particularly warm which made getting dressed to go out very uncomfortable. Some of the rooms appear to have small venting windows on the interior that would create a nice cross breeze between the shaded / cool hallway and the room, but mine did not.

Other oddities = the need to walk right thru the restaurant for beach or pool access if you are staying on the 1st floor... the room decor, just a big odd to me, not what i would expect for a beach room.... the price ! you are obviously paying for the location as the elegant montage a mile down the hiway has rooms starting at 75dollars more than this hotel....

One annoyance = upon returning late one evening after the Pageant of the Masters, my daughter and I encountered 2-3 VERY loud, obnoxious drunks in the lobby and the front steps. One remained inside the lobby as we walked by. He ceased screaming the F word to his buddies but started to make advances towards my 27yo daughter. The desk clerk did NOTHING. We skirted the issue and avoided getting on the elevator with the rest of that party. However, at these prices and the type of property they are charging for... the desk clerk should have not let this get to the point it had gotten to before our arrival.

Like in most older rooms there are no accessible plug ins for electronics and no accomodations have been made. We were able to drag out a power strip that was behind the night stand, place it on top and use it for our things.

The photos show things just as they are... comfortable, but just a bit dated

Would I stay here again? NO. But mostly becaue I don't care to pay 600++ per night for a property with no A/C.

Room Tip: ask for a room with cross ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    285
    131
    80
    63
See reviews for
400
722
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

No air-conditioning and it wasn't mentioned on the website. They provided an additional electric fan but the wind coming from that wasn't good enough even. It has an $850++ price tag and it doesn't include breakfast. Front desk staff was snobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Kvelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am disappointed to hear about your stay and would love another opportunity to have your back during cooler climate conditions.

Please feel free to call me directly at 949-376-2759 or jbear@jcresorts.com.

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Mt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

An excellent find. We stayed at 5 hotels in the last 2 weeks with family. Sheraton, California grand at Disney, hotel del Coronado and hard rock in San Diego. This is our favorite of all. We feel at home here. Family wants to spend a week here next time. Absolutely fantastic. Management has created an overall happy attitude and fantastic experience. We are raving fans!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cetraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to hear about your recent stay with us! As we strive to achieve an exceptional environment for our guests, it is always a pleasure to know when we have hit it.

Your comments will be shared to all our team members.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conejo Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great little spot in Laguna with amazing ocean views cause you are right on top of the ocean! Downside is there is no air conditioning, but it's still a favorite. If you are in town for the pageant you can hop on the free city Trolly right across the street. Nice!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the roaring tide at night stay on a high floor, AND prop your door ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anoush-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

After a week in New York and then Santa Monica, the family was excited to get to laguna and it didn't disappoint
The rooms are decorated with a beach feel and our two rooms looked straight to the ocean as far as the eye could see, most amazing views especially at sunrise and sunset
And yes you can hear the waves, but that's the attraction for us
Staff were great, views from restaurants also amazing
We will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is my 2nd trip within the last two months. I love this hotel and makes a great couples getaway and also a great getaway for family. We get a beach front room which I love to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves. They have a great spa which I used the last trip.
The staff is amazing and go out of their way to be helpful.
The restaurant is nice and the margaritas in the bar are awesome.
This wont be my last trip here. It makes a nice getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kfoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Surf and Sand Resort is absolutely the best resort in Laguna Beach! You will be amazed by the rooms and the room view is beyond compare. The sound of the ocean waves crashing as you sit on your balcony is mesmerizing! The resort staff seek to accommodate your every need and always ensure your stay is spectacular! We recommend this resort and travel here as often as possible!

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful ocean view unlike any other you will experience! You must see it to belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing