We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and Excellent Service”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My Husband and I have just spent 2 nights at this beautiful resort. The rooms were fabulous, spacious and well appointed and our balcony hung over the beach. We watched dolphins play in the ocean and saw spectacular sunsets. The food was very good and the service was superb.
I thoroughly recommend this resort for a special experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bright and sunny and provide great views also. Some are so close to the ocean that...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judio535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,713)
There are newer reviews for Surf & Sand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. Gorgeous rooms right on the water. Great food, courteous and attentive staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a relaxing, fun and romantic spot on the Laguna Beach coastline.

Room Tip: We loved our room in the Tower building at the top of the surf. We are now spoiled rotten after sta...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindypcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This beautiful, tasteful resort is well located for all things Laguna Beach. There is even a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes so there are no parking concerns. Our room was hanging over the beach and at high tide the water came up right under our balcony. Beautiful decor and excellent service. Pricey but worth the occasional splurge! Came for the "Pageant of the Masters" and will do it again.

Room Tip: You will need the earplugs for the crashing waves!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are looking to get away from it all, this is clearly the place to do it. Is it cheap? No. But if you're looking to spend a little coin into Value for your money they think of absolutely everything here. It is pure luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 642Ryan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

For our 22nd wedding anniversary, we booked a room at this resort. Beautiful location, gorgeous beach and very nice hotel.

Rooms
Rooms were nicely done and from what I could tell, each room is an ocean view room. We had room 315 which was right over the pool. Very nice view although could be a little noisy at time due to the pool crowd; not really an issue though. People have complained about no A/C in their rooms. This particular weekend was very hot and it was not an issue for us. At night, leave the sliding glass door open, turn on the fan and put some ear plugs in (supplied by the hotel). My wife and I slept soundly!

Food/Restaurant
On Fridays, they have a managers reception outside of the lobby. Great appetizers that fill you up quickly. We also ate ate the restaurant for breakfast. Food was very good although our server disappeared for quite sometime. We had to ask for water several times from another food server since we couldn't find ours.

General Staff Service
Overall, EXCELLENT! Valet, hotel reception, cleaning lady were all great!

Hidden Common Areas
My "one star" downgrade is because of the lack of cleanliness in the hidden common areas (i.e. stairs to rooms). It does not look like these areas are kept up very well. The entire weekend we stayed at the resort, the same paper napkin, crumbs and leaves were never picked up. The carpet also looks like it needs a deep cleaning.

We would definitely stay at this resort again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MBLanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been coming to the Surf and Sand to celebrate our "funny-moons" over the past 24 years. We love the stellar location of this hotel, sitting right on the beach so we can hear and smell the waves crashing at the shore and of course, we love the posh in-room amenities + great restaurants and awesome pool + bar. It' an easy walk into Laguna Beach's shopping/restaurant and art gallery center. A 3 day stay is always rejuvenating and we will continue to enjoy this truly special gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: While we stayed on the awesome 9th floor, if you want a deck with chairs on it, the 7th and 8th floo...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MargoOnTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is one of the best located hotels in Laguna Beach. The staff are very friendly and the service is exceptional. The pool does have limited seating but this is more than offset by the beach which is supplied with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The bar has a great view of the sunset and it is a must to finish off the day with a drink and view of the sunset.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the ocean but a higher level will give the best view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £317 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing