We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint oasis!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint oasis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very cute and Cosy hotel. Lovely atmosphere and amazing staff. The gardens are spectacular and light fittings in rooms and bed heads add to the romantic whimsical feel. Rooms all have people walking past so you can't really open your windows for some light but it wasn't a major issue. Beach across the street, market on the other side. Easy parking close to rooms. Refreshments in lobby. Room was pretty small to the point where the front door hits the bed, but it is forgivable and for a short 1 or 2 night stay it's fine. Quite clean. A few tiny fly looking creatures around inside the room. No bad smells or mould though. Curtains are also not the best. Lights from outside shine in at night and footsteps are plenty from above and outside, again though not major issues.
Would stay again. The price and location are spot on!

Room Tip: Away from the PCH seems to be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunseekerKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    198
    54
    22
    16
See reviews for
163
153
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I just stayed to this little gem for two nights. The rooms were normal , nice motel rooms but the location can not be beat. The hotel is right on PCH/the main street of Laguna , so it is an easy walk to the beach and the restaurants and bars. There is a super market right across the street, very convenient as there is a large frig in the room. But what is so special about this chain hotel is the jungle like courtyard/ atrium . The plants and blooms are just lovely, as is the entire pool area. Also there are free drinks and very tasty popcorn in the lobby. I would diffinately stay again. There were only negatives, the curtesy bath supplies were tinny tiny and there is no natural light because you can't open the curtains as everyone walking by can view in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach for two nights. The hotel was unexpectedly sweet and quaint, not the usual Holiday Inn chain hotels. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, although the room was a bit squeezed. Very nice shower area.

The hotel is located right on the main shopping street and cross the street from the beach. Very conenient for eating out, shopping and relaxing. There is no breakfast provided, but complementary snacks and drinks in the lobby. Staff were friendly. For a nice and light meal, I'd recommand the Orange Cafe across from the hotel.

Only one slight problem is that there is some lack of privacy since all the rooms open to the courtyard, so there could be cleaners and guests walking past the window and see into the room, so need to keep the curtains closed.

All in all, a very pleasant hotel to stay in Laguna beach and would recommand it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkchouchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our way down the coast. The hotel is ideally located near numerous restaurants. The beach is a short block away. The pool area was a nice place to relax and cool off (even though it was plenty cool enough) before going out for the evening.
There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There is also a pretty cool surf shop just across the street, where you can rent surfing equipment.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visitng Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

stayed for 2 nights at the end of september. staffs were nice, friendly and fast. had an issue with the tv, someone came within 5 minutes. the room was kind of tiny for 4 people but it all worked out. they have only 2 double beds only, wish they had 2 queens. we went surfing so we love this area. everything in a walking distance about 10 minutes to downtown laguna for all the restaurant they had offered. they have the hose outside to rinse urself before walking to the hotel. soda, water, coffee, popcorn available at the front desk for FREE. there was a computer at the front desk, free of charge. good parking $10 a night tho, for me it's acceptable. love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Hotel is very artsy like Laguna Beach. Beautiful flowers and pool area with immaculate large rooms - modern newly renovated bathrooms. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating. They had fresh coffee, sodas, lemondade and popcorn in the lobby all day. I would recommend this hotel to all - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had booked a room at the Pacific edge and when we got to our room it was horrible. It was tiny and faced the highway. We went for a walk and my wife suggested that I go in to the Holiday Inn to see if they had a room. They were SOOO nice and they did have a room. It was twice the size and less money. It was also off the road and very quiet. What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing