We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little paradise in a relaxed an arty town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a little paradise in a relaxed an arty town”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is lovely. There was a mess-up with our room from the company we booked with but the manager was fantastic- he upgraded us to a suite which was lovely, and didn't charge us anything like the full price, so we were happy. The suite was lovely & the bathroom mazing with a jacuzzi bath, and a we could just see the sea from the veranda outside the room.
The reception staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient. There was free popcorn, fresh lemonade, cans of coke, bottle of water, tea & coffee to help yourself to in reception. All the rooms in the hotel are facing over the swimming pool which is saltwater but warm & clean. The pool area is beautiful.
The rooms were clean but a little dated- almost antique style furniture. Its not a modern Holiday Inn. The car parking is extra but only $12/day & self-park right next to the hotel.
There is a fridge, microwave, coffee machine in the room. One thing to note is there is no lift !! Unless you can walk a short flight of stairs its probably not the place to come to.
A fantastic supermarket that sells everything across the road (inc fresh fruit which can be hard to find in stores!). We took food (breakfast, lunch & dinner) back to the hotel. There is a lovely restaurant in the hotel which does a great dish of calamari, also does breakfast but we were room only. Its not cheap to eat at the hotel but its busy at night & obviously a popular place for dinner. You can get drinks too- a Mojito by the pool was refreshing.
Laguna is not party place- there places to eat, lots of art galleries, a few clothes shops etc but that's about it. The lovely sandy beach is good for surfing and just a 2minute walk across the road from the hotel, down some steps. if you want to chill with a good book, come here. For us it was a lovely end to the holiday and great place to relax before the flight home ( LAX is about 1hr drive). Holiday Inn Laguna was one of our favourite places during our trip.

Room Tip: The suites have a lovely view of the pool & face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    200
    55
    22
    16
See reviews for
164
155
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, steps from the beach. The courtyard was beautiful and spacious. The swimming pool was unbelievable! We had an absolutely wonderful experience! Will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Worked for our purposes. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows.
Pool seemed icy. But then, there was no sun for 4 of the 5 days we were there. A trash can near the upper suites was full for 2 days and then brought down to the parking lot where it got even fuller and was still there 5 days later when we left.
Free trolley stop for all over town almost in front of hotel. Ralph's across the street and the best breakfast cafe I have been to in ages with very very inexpensive prices (The Orange Inn).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgripp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We decided to return to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach since I just love the ambience of the enclosed garden and pool. As before, they staff were very friendly and catered to each of our requests in a timely manner. They had a new italian restaurant which doubled our pleasure of having some wine while looking at their wonderful garden... Highly recommended

Room Tip: North wing of the hotel just past the staircase is the nicest view and avoids the noise from other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamesbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff was so friendly, the manangment was very pleasant. The reception staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Perfect location, the beach is just steps away. Very quaint and beautifully landscaped hotel with a lovely lobby. The rooms were very clean, spacious, large flat screen TVs and we had great service, they even provided free coffee, drinks, snacks and wi-fi. The pool in the center of the property was perfect to relax in after a day at the beach. We highly recommend this hotel, it is close to the beach, to downtown Laguna, lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance, a great value for the spend. We had a great time and plan on returning for our next visit to Laguna Beach. Thank you Laguna Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UCSBmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the busy season. The location is great! A short walk to the beach. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel. It is nice to sit outside, the scenery is pretty with trees and flowers. They also have Ralphs supermarket, Orange Inn and Taco Bell across the street. Down the street are shops and other restaurants. There is a trolley that has many stops in the Laguna area including The Pageant of the Masters. You can catch that very close to the hotel.

The staff was very pleasant. They were helpful when we needed directions to places and suggesting great places to eat. In the lobby they had free popcorn, sodas and water. They also had a computer to use.

The room was comfortable and clean. Self parked and do have to take luggage down up and down stairs. Average furnishings and pillows. The staff was great when we needed extra towels.

Overall, a relaxing stay at this nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel was a no-frills, simple stay as expected - however our room was very dark and the AC loud (although this blocked out a lot of sound from the neighbours). There wasn't really much room for the 3 of us and I hated the motel-like feel of everyone being able to look in through the windows (although of course, there were curtains, but if they were opened you had no privacy). The only windows were looking out onto the outside corridor, where everyone walked past! The staff at the desk were very helpeful and friendly, and there were nice touches in the lobby including free drinks (mineral water, coke, coffee, tea etc), popcorn and a free use of a computer + internet. There was also free wi-fi in the hotel with a good connection. I used the pool once in our stay and it was fine, quite big and cut off so that young children wouldn't swim too deep. We had a family (supposedly with young children, who were running around) who were quite loud (when the cihldren were up) - we called to ask if there was any other room free, and the staff at the desk were very helpful. They said that there were no free rooms that evening, but some were freeing up the next morning and they would be happy to call us and arrange for us to change. The next morning, as promised, they called our room with the offer of another room to which we could move, but at this point we declined because we had got used to it and the children went to bed early anyway. The TV was big and the bathroom was perfectly nice, with a large vanity area outside the bathroom.

It was also in a very good location - there was a restaurant but you could walk to other restaurants. Breakfast wasn't included in our rate, but there was a large "Ralph's" store right opposite, which provided us with all the food we needed. It was very close to the beach, within easy walking distance.

Overall fairly good stay - for the area, it was worth the money (as it is very upmarket) and lovely, friendly staff. We would maybe come there again but not for more than one or two nights. Good for (small) families!

Thank you! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible for more light and less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your comment. we appreciate all the feed back that we get since it helps us better our services. Once again, Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing