We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel has a great location. The room was very clean and quiet. The front desk staff is outstanding. They were always friendly, accommodating, and asking if they could do anything for us. One evening I was having a problem accessing my email to print some ticket and the woman at the desk was extremely helpful. We will certainly stay here again when in Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveNScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Laguna Beach. My staff and I always strive to provide the best service we can to our guests and are happy to hear that you had a great experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    202
    56
    22
    17
See reviews for
168
160
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Boutique Holiday Inn hotel in Laguna Beach. Five minutes from the beach and right on the Main Street thru Laguna Beach. Ralph's is across the road for any supplies. Take a room on level 1, e.g. 53. Accommodating staff at the front desk. Good clean hotel and quiet location. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Take a room on level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging to our staff to know that we delivered great services to our guests. We do hope you visit us again soon and have a wonderful day.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stay away from this hotel. We have happily booked many reservations through a leading online service I will call "ABC" I don't want to mention here (not their fault!) but this was first time we felt outright penalized for our reservation.

We were offered a tiny, dark room at end of nearly windowless tunnel despite fact other better rooms were obviously available. Room was so small it was impossible to even fold down roll away bed despite this being a reservation that accommodates five guests.

When we complained they said "You booked ABC.com" then suggested we place mattress on the stained carpeted floor not an option for our asthmatic son. Front desk staff was rude. This is an overpriced, seriously outdated property in a great location. Holiday Inn should drop this property from its portfolio as it hurts their brand and reputation. I certainly never expect a 5 star experience from a Holiday Inn, but my uncle a frequent business travel always picked Holiday Inns to "avoid the negative surprises." Well this time we certainly had one!

If you have any mobility issues or don't like hoisting bags up and down a lot of narrow, dark stairs this is something to also consider. Bad experience in what is otherwise a fantastic beach side town!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitcase_Sherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Suitcase_Sherpa,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if we fell below your standards with regard to the room condition and if the level of service provided didn't meet your expectations.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We arrived in the evening and the pool area was all lit up with twinkly lights - it really was breathtaking. The rooms themselves are a little tired but very clean and comfortable. There is a really good restaurant under the hotel that also plays some very cool music, including live jazz on a Sunday. The pool is lovely to sit by too. You couldn't really beat the location - just minutes away from the shops, restaurants and the beach. As per most hotels in the USA, we had to pay for parking but, to be fair, it is in the middle of a very busy resort and parking is prime. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. We booked on-line and therefore got a much better rate than had we just turned up. We would happily recommend this to anybody who is considering visiting Laguna. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the pool - prettier view than the car park!

Room Tip: One that opens out onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback so that we can continue to grow and provide great service to our guests. We are happy to inform that we will be updating the rooms soon and we hope that you can come back when they are finished. May you have a wonderful day and we hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Holiday Inn needs to offer free parking if you stay here and should always have someone carry bags since there is not a much needed elevator. This would be a somewhat acceptable offset to the loud window units, flickering lights and outdated decor. It's situated in a great spot to walk the strip and the showers have been nicely updated, they are huge walkins

Room Tip: No elevator, ask for parking lot level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBelenchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear BBelenchia,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding parking arrangement, noise and customer service. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel for my birthday. The bed was comfortable and the location is great! The pool area is relaxing and I love all of the flowers all around. All of the employees are friendly. The restaurant there on location also has some great food and the bartender makes a wonderful Mojito and I don't even like them but I tried my boyfriend's and had to order a couple myself. Even though the price is high (but I guess it is everywhere down there) I would stay here again. The only complaint I have is that on Sunday morning around 7 am someone was washing something with a hose for almost an hour and kept hitting the window by our room as we were on the corner and it would have been nice to be able to sleep in that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that our guests enjoyed our service and the hotel. I am also happy to say that our hotel is in the process of updating the rooms and hope that you visit us in the near future so you can see what we will have accomplished. Hope all is well and that you have a wonderful day.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We arrived very late after a lot of traffic from LA and realised we had booked the wrong nights. Instead of being difficult Sabinha the night receptionist was more than accommodating and found us rooms at the agreed price. We'd stayed here 18 years ago and had loved it so came back with our kids. It's now very tired and old fashioned. However it's still very pretty with the rooms surrounding the pool. It's surprisingly protected from traffic noise with comfortable beds. It's not chic or upmarket just a conveniently located, well priced, place to crash for a night or two. The restaurant below the hotel was worth visiting. Laguna itself can't be missed, the beaches, shops,art galleries make this a MUST, we'd really wished we'd stayed longer. Its very cool place with some amazing hotels so do shop around for a hotel on the beach if you can afford it. This really is just a nice convenient stopover.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Yvonne016,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing