We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not a bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, not a bad hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Holiday Inn in Laguna Beach is definitely good value for money. For a good price you get a fantastic location and a pretty good hotel with no major flaws. Hotel is walking distance from the beach and Laguna Beach "village". There was plenty of parking in the lot and the grocery store across the street was very convenient.

This is an older Spanish style building, but it has been maintained to relatively good standard and there were no cleanliness issues. Our room was actually larger than I expected, but it was very dark with poor lighting. Windows also face the courtyard, so for privacy reasons we ended up keeping curtains mostly shut. Public spaces in the hotel were actually very pleasant and the pool looked nice, but ended up not using it.

The main complaint I have is around smoking. We had a non-smoking room, but the hotel is not completely non-smoking. To my "delight" I woke up one day to cigarette smoke drifting into our room and a horrible hacking smokers cough. Another guest had decided to take his cigarette break basically 5 feet from my pillow.

Beds were not too comfortable, more on the soft and worn side. I woke up with a sore back every morning.

I would definitely stay again if I wanted good value for my money. But if I was after a special treat, I would save longer and pick something a little more upscale.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    202
    56
    22
    17
See reviews for
168
160
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KANSAS CITY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Best location. Away from most of the traffic but walking distance to the beach. Loved the coffee shop/deli across the street and the grocery store too. Rooms were dated and smelled kind of musty. Pool was pretty good and the kids liked it. Very friendly staff, we changed rooms when we got there because we were stuck in a corner, and it was no problem. Liked it for a night, might have gotten old after a few days.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCTRAVELKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennslvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Great bang for the buck. Nice courtyard feel that made me feel I was in mexico. Staff very friendly and constasntly cleaning the property.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My husband and I stayed one night Friday, May 15th. Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice that there was a small fridge. We had a room on the pool level and it was so beautiful with all the flowers and trees. Really felt like something special. The location is great- not right in the heart of everything, but just a few, short blocks walk. Other hotels were farther away and would be too far to walk to all the restaurants, bars, etc. (Plus all the other hotels in our price range looked old, whereas this hotel is clean and updated). So for location, this was perfect. There is a grocery store right across the street from the hotel which was very handy. We ate breakfast the next morning in their restaurant- I don't recommend it. Not all that great of food for the price and overall it didn't look very clean... Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Don't bother with the quaint charming B&B's of Laguna - save time and money and check into the Holiday Inn. Yes, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mem619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Location,location,location. Just spent 5 days here with family.(20's and 60 yr olds) Just across the street and down a flight of steps to the beach. Very nice heated pool. Walk to clubs,restaurants,shops,small theater. Rooms were on the small side, but nicely decorated. Updated bath. Very lushly landscaped, felt like a real "boutique" hotel. A real splurge would be the suites/ fireplace in livingroom and whirlpool in bath with double french doors looking out to Pacific! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthJerseyNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The camera person should get an award for creative photography. They never show the rooms and that should be a tip off, This place tries hard to be charming but it's all about the room. This place is old, old, old and tries to perfume a pig. The remodeling is poorly executed - paint slopped all over new tile etc. Once you are in your room, you must close and batten down any drapes to give you privacy from the adjacent corridors, It's horrible. Don't be fooled. And, you have to pay to park your car!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laxlg, GM at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 25 March 2009
I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Holiday Inn Laguna Beach underwent a $2 million renovation just last year and has hosted numerous weddings in our French provincial courtyard. Laguna Beach is a popular coastal town where every hotel charges for parking. We regret that you did not find it warm and cozy as so many others have, and have commented on Trip advisor. Our award winning restaurant is one of the most popular in town. I did try to find the paint on the tile that you mentioned but was unsuccessful. We are truly surprised about your experience, -- It is completely opposite of what most of our guests feel.

Sincerely,
Nooshin Gholizadeh
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing