We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drink!”
Review of Hennessey's Tavern

Hennessey's Tavern
Ranked #84 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and drink!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Delicious bar food and really delicious lemonade drinks. Fun place and a good time was had by all! I would recommend this place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonni L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Celebration”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Celebrate birthdays, friendships here. We brought our own party favors for 6 friends and enjoyed ourselves and the food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tr2961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seal Beach Hennesseys Tavern”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We go here often. Good burgers and big variety of beer. Right on main street. My photo group went here twice as a group and like it. Good value for the price. Near shops and the pier.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When my wife and I were staying at the Marriott Newport Coast Villas in Newport Beach, we drove down the Hennessey's Tavern in Laguna Beach to try there happy hour food and drinks. Hennessey's Tavern is a chain with locations in Las Vegas, San Diego, and other locations up the southern California coast. The happy hour hours are from 4:00 to 7:00 pm Mon - Fri.

We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was considering that this is a tavern and not a restaurant. We ate off the happy hour menu and had the meatball sliders (which was excellent), popcorn shrimp and crab cakes (which were also very good). We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“2 Pictures shown not Laguna Location/Good Lunch”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First I'll start by saying that the 2 exterior photos shown, as of 2/23/14, ''are not the Laguna Beach Ocean Ave location''. I have no correction photo to add, but exterior looks a bit more like a true Irish pub.
Had a very tasty lunch here w/ a dear friend yesterday, who's been there before, and recommended.
Burgers w/fries (Hawaiian & American) were juicy/great. Very friendly service by Brittany, and 1 other waitress checked on us a few times, as well. There is a small patio out front, with maybe 6 or 8 tables. In February it was a bit chilly/breezy inside when sitting near patio/street access in the main room w/ a bar. There is a side room as well for seating, but was full of a fun group upon our arrival. Possibly even upstairs seathing? Plus, it appears dogs are welcomed, at least in some areas...We recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iashutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hennessey's Tavern also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Hennessey's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing