We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love EVERYTHING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alessa by Chef Pirozzi

Alessa by Chef Pirozzi
Ranked #23 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have been to Cucina Alessa (now Laguna Alessa I believe) several times and have tried many of the menu offerings. Each time we are surprised and delighted by a new find. Not to be missed - the mix and match meat and cheese combinations. We always get the 6 item one. The gorganzola with fig marmalade is my favorite. We sit at the bar and the service is always excellent and the servers very friendly and informative. Saul was terrific! Tried the lamb pappardelle this last visit - was absolutely DELICIOUS - rich and flavorful. We end our meals with a Pirozzi family favorite - Zucca - an appetizer of butternut squash ravioli in sage butter sauce. Definitely a sweet and salty grand finale to our meals. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babyRN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    102
    40
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alessa...you must eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We had the arugula and shaved fennel salad with shrimp and the Mamma Mia (3 meatballs with ragu). The bread with oil sauce was absolutely divine-fresh, warm, and wonderful....the food presentation was eye appealing. All the food was seasoned perfectly. Our waitress was great!!! Loved the atmosphere and Italian music too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Opensky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a business dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Attended a business dinner and sat outside in the beautiful weather. The entire staff was great and our server was excellent. Most had the short rib or tuna dinner. Everyone raved about the food and the wine wasn't bad either. A great time was had by all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy in CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious meal at Cucina Alessa in Laguna Beach last night with 2 of our friends. The owner and wait staff are really Italian and the food is as good as some I've had in Italy. We started with the flatbread bruschetta and the parmesan cheese plate. The plate had delicious parmesan, some pears drizzled with with honey, arugula and candied nuts. Everyone in the party enjoyed plate of pasta while I enjoyed the octopus carpaccio -- it was amazing! the wine was wonderful too. The only thing I don't like about the restaurant is that they will only take a reservation for a party of 6 or more leaving smaller parties guessing as to whether or not they will get a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved it! Had a great waitress. The food was excellent. From the butternut squash ravioli and flatbread appetizers to ALL 4 entrees were excellent.
No complaints here from the four of us and that is hard to do. Only happened once in Yountville, .CA
bb

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylorleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alessa by Chef Pirozzi also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Alessa by Chef Pirozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing