We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dependable”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #22 of 96 Restaurants in Laguna Hills
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dependable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Convenient & reliable. Food is tasty, good value, & carry-out is always an option. Since it is nearby, we can stop there or order online & take it home. Everything we have tried has been delicious & order is always correct.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasZena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    6
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I want to like Outback, another disappointment”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate there Saturday evening July 12th. I was hungry so I ordered the 13oz Ribeye for $23. I asked for Medium rare and it was more like Medium. The real problem, it was a tough old piece of meat. Not close to Choice grade beef. Everyone else ordered chicken. I guess they knew Outback is not where you get good steaks. My wife only ordered a baked potato. Very small for the price. I think I will just give up as this is about the 3rd time I have tried Outback steak houses in So CA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tough meat! Tough cookies!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We used to come here over the years but recently the service and food has gotten worse. We were put in a back table not a booth ( a mistake). Then they ran out of baked potatoes. Then the steak was small and not tasty, but rather dry. My fav dish, rack of lamb was good (with overdone sauce) and it was served with garlic mashed potato's that were less than fresh and flavorful. Then they suddenly announced they had baked potato's and brought out one encrusted with thick layer of salt all around it. Why? The place is noisy, the waiters are hurried and harried and the entire experience was just awful. Well so much for its glory days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“POPULAR...BUT WHY?”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our first experience with this particular Outback, and the place was packed. By the end of the evening, we could not at all understand why.

The salads (one Caesar and one garden) were OK; nothing special, but edible. The small sirloin steaks (one very tough, one mostly gristle) were terrible. For the first time in over 20 years, we had to send one steak back. The replacement was much better, but not stellar.

The vegetables were overcooked to the point of being mushy; the mashed potatoes were fair but cold, lumpy, and relatively tasteless.

The service was good.

For the price, it's amazing that this place is so popular. We will certainly not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lets not do lunch”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First of all I would like to start off by saying I love the Halibut for Dinner. I have had it three different times and each time it was outstanding. Now lunch, don't do it to yourself. It took forever to get a beer and some water. Really slow service to the table. Would you pay $11.95 for a dried out fish sandwich? The fish, two small pieces were deep fried (over cooked) and served on a dry bun. Over all really poor outing, stick to dinner!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padrechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Lake Forest, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing