We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knew we'd love it, loved it, we'll stay there again”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Seems like there aren't too many of these privately owned places worth staying at anymore. This one certainly met and exceeded my expectations. The price was very good, the location excellent, the rooms very clean, the grounds very nice, and a feeling a privacy and safety, without feeling like you couldn't get assistance if you needed it.
The website is an accurate representation of the the property in every way. I have already recommended it to several friends and family, and I can't wait to have a reason to go back! We really enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests at the pool area. We found this to be a perfect place for 2 adults and a 7 year old. We stayed in Suite 202 and it was absolutely what we needed. We loved the continental breakfast every morning right on sight. Wish they didn't use styrofoam, but hopefully that will change and I left that as feedback for the Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondie922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Hills Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

we stayed four nights here last month. it is excellent value for money. very clean, free breakfast, free wifi, free parking - that's hard to find in California ! don't think that it's really close to the beach because it's not but it is close to the freeway so an excellent base for sightseeing.
the swimming pool looked lovely, we didn't even have time to use it because we were out and about all the time

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasser1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I decided to get married on Laguna Beach and make it a destination wedding for our immediate family. 28 people converged on Laguna Hills Lodge. Roland, Martin and the rest of the staff at Laguna Hills Lodge treated us like ROYALTY! Greated at the desk by friendly staff and a tasty Chocolate Chip Cookie when we first arrived was the best!! Every wish we had came true and while we didn't have super unreasonable needs, the staff did everything they could to accomdate us. The pool area has a GREAT patio/deck where we hosted a pre-wedding night dinner for the entire family. We brought in food/beverages (no glass bottles of course!) and a few simple decorations. It was PERFECT.
Beyond that - the rooms were not only clean and comfortable, but they had all the ammenities you could ask for (microwave and fridge.) The showers/bathrooms were awesome too. There's a vanity/sink area "outside" the bathroom that serves so many purposes. Whether our family had a garden view room (breathtaking,) or a simple parking lot view room...they were all wonderful.
Probably our favorite part was the complimentary breakfast for guests. It had an awesome selection of cereals, all the juices/coffees you could ask for, terrific danish and bagel selections, fresh/cold milk, hard boiled eggs and a splendid variety of fruit to choose from. "Germann" and his staff in the Mariposa Room where you have breakfast do everything they can to make sure you leave satisfied with a full belly. They even toast the bagels/english muffins for you!
Trust us - whether you're a solo traveler or a family needing a block of rooms...you can't go wrong for the price and location with the Laguna Hills Lodge.
One huge bonus is how close they are to the beach! There's plenty of grocery stores within a block and a Mall right across the street!
Just give Roland or Martin a call and leave the rest to them. Relax and enjoy Laguna without going broke.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adampotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

We are delighted to hear how happy your family and friends were staying at the Lodge for such an important family occasion. We are honored you chose us.. BTW, our staff all enjoyed how much fun your group was having and loved taking care of you! Thanks for sharing your experience. Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager, Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Upon first arriving at the hotel, I was disappointed because it's nothing special. The room was plain, the door stopper fell off the door and the sliding mirror closet door fell off the track. The breakfast is plain, just bagels, cereal, and yogurt. I would definitely stay for the price, but know that it's 7 miles from the beach, so you'll have to drive to the beach and pay between $10-20 for parking each time. Other than that, it was fine. It was quiet and clean, and we had a great time in the pool, which was small, but was 8 feet deep, so we were able to jump and dive in.

Room Tip: go on facebook to find specials for people who
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dainaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any "mechanical difficulties" you had in your room. It's frustrating for us, too, because we have so recently remodeled the hotel. Fortunately, Alberto, our head of maintenance (and everybody's favorite fellow in the Mariposa Room!) and his staff are happy to take care of these annoyances for our guests. Just alert the Front Desk and they'll send help ASAP. Bad news: Beach parking is expensive; good news: Parking is free at the Lodge! Bill Crawford, owner/manager, Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I've stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge for nearly four decades. Over that time the staff have changed, but the hotel remains an outstanding value. It is invariably spotlessly clean, well-furnished, quiet, with manicured grounds, a very clean and delightful swimming pool...in short a perfect place for both the business traveler (which I was when I first discovered it), and a recreational visitor. It is astonishingly cheap compared to many other hotels in the area, and is perfectly located right off Hwy 5 (just below the Hwy 5 and Hwy 405 junction), by El Toro Blvd which runs straight down to the Laguna Canyon road. Don't miss this--just a great place!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the little central garden, either first or second floor
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaBizGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The only thing that I can think is that many of the past reviewers must not travel much. This hotel is adequate, but far from superior as some have reported. The landscaping is very nice and well cared for. The staff seems to be pleasant. The location is easy on/ easy off the freeway. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk of many restaurants and a large mall. The breakfast is an average continental style breakfast. The rooms and buildings are old and in serious need of repair and sprucing up. Many areas have chipped paint, the rooms are 1970's decor, the internet connection is misnamed as "high speed", and really nothing too special about this place. The lodge seemed clean but a little pricey for what you get. Although it is located in a pricey area which would explain the cost. This is just an average hotel with a lot of potential. I would compare this hotel to a Comfort Inn or a Motel 6, not bad, but far far from great or excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thanks for your comments on our hotel. To answer your question ("What does everyone like so much?"), customers most frequently comment on our value (attractive room rates), the cleanliness of rooms, the friendliness of staff, our gardens and pool and the convenience of the restaurants and shops. Regarding our "70s room decor", a total remodel was completed in 2009. Concerning our past reviewers who "must not travel much" we have enjoyed seasoned travelers from all over the US, Europe, Asia, South America, Australia, Canada and Africa. Meeting these wonderful guests is the greatest pleasure in owning a hotel! Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager, Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Best things: the Business Center with free fast computers & printers; substantial breakfast selections served in a lovely room with attendant -- open from 7-10. Mall with Macy's, Sears, & Nordstrom Rack within 2 blocks. Lots of restaurants too. The hotel is convenient to I-5 and easy to find. Prices are in line with southern California -- not cheap, but good value.
Windows open. Rooms are clean, but they do use Febreze on the carpet after vacuuming. Hall carpets look stained, and if you are a neat freak this might turn you off. Fire station across the street could bother, especially if you are in rooms on the nw side, mostly Bldg C, and a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Southeast rooms, particularly in Bldg A
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
643 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
6.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: £74 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing