We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mello, easy and a good price.”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Holladay, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mello, easy and a good price.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge several times over the past couple of years. Never have we had a bad experience so I would have to say it's a lot of bang for the buck since it is in one of the more expensive areas of the West Coast. It's convenient to most of the Southern Ca. attractions if that's your thing. For us it is the beach with the closest being 15 min. south and west to the Salt Creek/Strands area. Laguna Beach is a little closer but the traffic in the canyon can take some time if not done at the proper time of day. Of course once you get there and are lucky enough to find parking the wonderful free tram system in the summer up and down the Laguna coast is great and makes it generally worth the hassle. Now that our son is attending college at the nearby Soka University we will be visiting The Laguna Hills Lodge even more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    203
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
223
188
64
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed at the lodge for 11 nights, choose this hotel according to the reviews and because price. Rooms were very clean staff very friendly. Breakfast room was clean and staff helpful, nice selection of food also. Pool was great for kids and open until 11pm.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone.
A wonderful time was had by all and even a shopping mall in walking distance who could ask for more!!

Room Tip: As international travelers ask for there discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RR99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I generally stay in chain hotels, because I've found that independently-owned properties can sometimes be poorly-run, but I chose to stay here largely because of the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. Thankfully, it was a good decision.

Every interaction I had with the staff was positive -- people were unusually friendly. The cookie at check-in is a nice touch. Even though the property is older, my room looked like it was recently updated. The flat-screen TV was great. I also really appreciated the free parking and free continental breakfast. The breakfast isn't particularly elaborate, but there are cereals, pastries, yogurt, and more. It's enough. And it's free!

The hotel is also located conveniently off of I-5, making it easy to get everywhere in Orange County.

I got a good night's sleep in a clean room for a reasonable price, without any unexpected extra charges.

Room Tip: I think Buildings A and B are better than Building C -- especially the rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I stayed 16 nights at the Lodge and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were very welcoming after our long trip over from the UK. Room was perfect size for us nice large king bed clean linens, towels changed every day and rooms cleaned well. Facilities as in gym and free WIFI were brilliant, Pool was clean and well kept, poolside showers and toilets immaculately clean. Handy residents laundry facilities. Breakfast had plenty of choice in healthy options perfect to set us up for the day. Situated in a lovely safe area near to freeways, malls and beach towns. We were worried about possible noise from freeway but heard none, we stayed in building C next to Paseo da Valencia but had no road noise issues at all. Gardens are kept beautifully and give the property a laid back relaxed environment. We will definitely be returning to stay next summer. After our stay at Laguna we went up to Vegas and stayed at Planet Hollywood where they wanted to charge $25 per day to use the gym and $14 per day for WIFI and no coffee making facilities in rooms!!!! Having read the odd negative review about the lodge I wonder what some people expect and indeed find to moan about these people really need to get a life and stop complaining about nothing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A true Botique Hotel. We found the people at the front desk to be very personable and accommodating. In spite of being Freeway Close it is extremely Quiet. A gorgeous pool and Sauna. A fantastic Continental Breakfast with great choices far and above the typical Continental. A fantastic all around great experience and we will be back before long for a pleasure trip and not business.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but try for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I booked a bank of 15 rooms at the Laguna Hills Lodge for my daughter's wedding in July. Everyone who stayed here was complimentary and pleased with the accomodations. They commented on the helpful staff, pleasant grounds, accessibility to freeway and shopping, breakfast, pool, laundry room, etc.
Thanks very much for making our family and friends feel at home by going the extra mile in offering a suitable rate, giving out welcome bags, keeping reservations current, and acknowledging the newlyweds with a rose bouquet from the garden!
We'll certainly recommend you to our future out-of-town guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
We love taking care of wedding guests at the Lodge and your family and friends were a delight! We truly are honored when guests choose us for such a special occasion. The fresh-picked rose bouquet for the bride was arranged by Liliana, one of our awesome guestroom staff. She does a great job! Thanks so much for your kind words, Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager, Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellflower
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel has the worst customer service of any hotel I have ever had the displeasure of dealing. I made a reservation through Priceline.com 10 days prior to staying here and my sole request was for a non-smoking room as my daughter has asthma. The customer service/reservation person (Roland Balawan) told me in a very rude email that there is no way they could give me a non-smoking room and that I need to go back to Priceline and request a new hotel. I understand if they are told on short notice but 10 days isn't enough notice in a non-sold out hotel? Orange County has long been known as an area where they care only about money and not customer service and this reinforces that notion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We looked into your reservation and confirmed with Priceline that it was for a smoking room (we have 6 smoking rooms - out of 121 rooms - grouped together in one building). We also verified that the hotel was sold out of non-smoking rooms at the time you requested a move from a smoking to a non-smoking room. We apologize for any rudeness by Roland. Roland has a reputation for being very courteous and we assure you that his intent in referring you to Priceline was to help with a solution using the company you selected. Please feel free to call the Lodge and ask for Jean if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Bill and Pat Crawford, Owners/Managers, Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
6.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing