We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laguna Hills Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County(Mission Viejo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel(Lake Forest)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum(Lake Forest)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
363
219
57
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
219
57
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationel torohard boiled eggsgarden roomcontinental breakfastyogurtacross the streetfree wifimariposa roompageant of the masterslaundry facilitiesbusiness centerpool areabuilding cexercise roomshort driveorange county
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We just stayed in this motel for a week and it was an extremely pleasant experience. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. Everything worked. The continental breakfast isn't the best I've had but is somewhat above average. The fruit (apple, bananas and grapes) was fresh. A decent variety of bagels & toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs.

The lodge is right across the street from the Laguna Hills Mall, which is small but adequate for basic needs. The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf cafe is in this mall and is about a 5-minute walk for those who need something with a little more body than motel coffee. There are several restaurants within walking distance. BJs is great, as is The Elephant Bar.

The exterior of the lodge is well-kept and charming with rose gardens and blooming bougainvillea growing up around the room balconies.

Disappointed that the balconies were decor only, but at least there is a window that opens. The weather in this part of the country is so lovely so often that an open window is a wonderful thing.

This motel is right off of interstate 5, but quiet considering its convenient location.

I was stunned at the reasonable price my husband got off of the Internet and would have gladly paid more for this room.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Worth every penny and more. Close to shopping, food and major freeways, but still hidden away that you don't notice the hustle and bustle. Clean rooms, friendly staff, adequate free breakfast to start your day. Pool and laundry area are extremely clean and well taken care of. Meeting room has access to 2 computers and printers for use free if you need. Can't say enough about how well taken care of the grounds are. If you do stay, ask for a garden room. We asked for a second floor room with a balcony, and being able to step out and overlook the fountain and gardens is well worth the price.........

Room Tip: Again, ask for a garden room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We booked four rooms for our family getaway. One of the family members was not placed adjacent to the other rooms, and he was next to the stairway. He checked in at about 2:00pm and immediately placed his luggage in the room and then we all went to our destination. When we returned at night, my son did not even open his luggage and ttry and sleep as the noice from children yelling and running up and down the stairs was terrible. He went and complained to the front desk but the person was uncaring and said "what do you want me to do call the police?" No, all he could have done was go back with my son to the room and talk to the parents and children or have another employee do so. Instead, my son had no choice but to check out, never really using the room (except to hold his luggage).
We asked for one room to be credited and the hotel agreed to 1/2 credit. We remain very unhappy since my son had to drive all the way home at night after a whole day, being exhausted and tired, placing him at danger. None of us could enjoy the family gathering for breakfast and the morning. The whole trip was ruined.
The management was contacted and uncaring.
You decide if you want to go to a individual owned motel or a real hotel that takes pride in customer service and having a peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: make certain you are not near the stairways or children are in adjacent rooms if you want to sleep. Be cautious other visitors are not the partying type of you want to use the room after 9pm or be able to sleep 10-11pm.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Manager response to Guest’s e-mail of 8/21/11, sent on 8/22/11:

First and foremost allow me to apologize on behalf of the Laguna Hills Lodge for any inconvenience.

Regarding your request for early check-in, I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request to check-in at 2:00 PM. We did get you in at 2:28 PM but are sorry you felt unhappy with our Front Desk staff. Let me assure you that we make every effort to accommodate requests for early check-in.

The weekend you stayed with us the hotel was sold out. Many guests leave later than our check-out time of 11:00, especially during the summer, and our housekeeping staff has to work around this

As far as our Front Desk not seeming sensitive to your request, I apologize for that and have coached them. During the summer rush, people on both sides of the desk can be cranky. That is no excuse for you to have felt that your request was not worthy of a more sympathetic response.
Brian at our Front Desk apologized to your son when he reported children making noise in the stairway near his room. Let me also apologize. Because of this noise problem we are more than happy to reduce your son’s room charge by 50%.

Ironically, your son checked out of the Lodge at 9:30 PM, our staff checked the stairway at 10:00 PM and at 11:00 PM and there was no noise or children in the area. We had to charge something for his room because we were unable to sell it to anyone else during this busy time.

Again, let me apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of your stay at the Laguna Hills Lodge.

Regards,

Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager
Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just consolidated our operations in Laguna Hills and had a board meeting at our new facility this week. Laguna Hills Lodge is a quaint motel with charm. This is not your run of the mill motel. Across the street is a major shopping mall complete with major department stores and outstanding restaurants. We ate at King's Seafood and highly recommend it.

We were greeted with big smiles and warm cookies. Facility offers a nice pool area and workout room. Rooms were complete with a refrigerator, a microwave, coffee maker, an iron and ironing board, a security vault, and free WiFi. Rate included a full continental breakfast and free newspapers. Business center included computers and printers.

Board members from Northern California, China, and the U.K. stayed at Laguna Hills Lodge with all giving it a thumbs up. We will be making this our motel of choice when visiting our Laguna Hills facility.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Picked the Laguna Hills Lodge because of generally positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Was there for a short business trip and would stay there again. Very quaint and staff is very attentive. Rooms are nice, clean and for the price, you can't beat it. Lots of shopping nearby. Only minor complaints are that it's hidden away in a very busy shopping, residential & bustling area. Not alot of great choices for walking nearby, not very pedestrian-friendly, but hey, it's Southern California! When I walked the morning I was there, I got brusquely chased out of a gated area, which was anything but welcoming. My room looked out on busy side street so it was pretty noisy in the morning and there must be a fire station nearby as I heard several fire trucks. Continental breakfast was pretty decent, much like those at other chain hotels with a decent selection of food. You could tell staff were concerned about creating a good customer service atmosphere.
Bottom line is that you can't go wrong for the price and the atmosphere puts it a notch above any of the nearby chain hotels. Only other minor negative was that they couldn't find my Expedia reservation when I first checked in, a little annoying, but it just took them awhile.

Room Tip: Ask front desk for an upstairs room that faces IN, not out to the street. Would be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seedegraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews