We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL AT A GOOD PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL AT A GOOD PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and paid £220 for bed and breakfast. Room was large with an essential fridge and microwave. Bed was very comfortable. Free wi-fi in room which is unusual for a hotel at this price.
The breakfast was great. It was served in polystyrene (cups, plate, and bowl) with plastic cutlery but hey, it was free.
If you are looking for a luxury break you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a comfortable and affordable hotel you won't get any better at this price.
Also, location wise is fantastic. You can walk across road to the mall, and there is a good pizzeria/bar across the street. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_king_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    198
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
220
183
64
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I had a work event in Laguna Beach and needed an affordable hotel. We usually stay on Laguna Beach, but we had a stricter budget this year and I was worried we would have to compromise on hotel standards. After checking other reviews, I chose the Laguna Hills Lodge for me and my husband. The grounds are very pretty and well manicured. The rooms are nicely appointed, which was a surprise given the great rate we paid. We didn't eat the breakfast as we needed to get going, and we appreciated the locale of the hotel as we had many choices. I would recommend this hotel as the rates are very good without compromising on room standards. We were very pleased with this experience and will probably come back with our kids the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The guy at the front desk was by far the rudest, most argumentative person. He literally argued with us in the lobby as we were checking in. After reading good reviews we thought this would be a great place to stay. Wrong!! I have never been so insulted. So much for a nice stay in laguna hills and paying for hospitality. Think again before staying here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsuagd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Really fantastic hotel -it's a gem. So many god things to mention: neet and spacy room, Nice poolarea, great breakfast and of cause very friendly staff. Will come again and will surely recommend to anybody going to Orange County.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We just stayed in this motel for a week and it was an extremely pleasant experience. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. Everything worked. The continental breakfast isn't the best I've had but is somewhat above average. The fruit (apple, bananas and grapes) was fresh. A decent variety of bagels & toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs.

The lodge is right across the street from the Laguna Hills Mall, which is small but adequate for basic needs. The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf cafe is in this mall and is about a 5-minute walk for those who need something with a little more body than motel coffee. There are several restaurants within walking distance. BJs is great, as is The Elephant Bar.

The exterior of the lodge is well-kept and charming with rose gardens and blooming bougainvillea growing up around the room balconies.

Disappointed that the balconies were decor only, but at least there is a window that opens. The weather in this part of the country is so lovely so often that an open window is a wonderful thing.

This motel is right off of interstate 5, but quiet considering its convenient location.

I was stunned at the reasonable price my husband got off of the Internet and would have gladly paid more for this room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Worth every penny and more. Close to shopping, food and major freeways, but still hidden away that you don't notice the hustle and bustle. Clean rooms, friendly staff, adequate free breakfast to start your day. Pool and laundry area are extremely clean and well taken care of. Meeting room has access to 2 computers and printers for use free if you need. Can't say enough about how well taken care of the grounds are. If you do stay, ask for a garden room. We asked for a second floor room with a balcony, and being able to step out and overlook the fountain and gardens is well worth the price.........

Room Tip: Again, ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We booked four rooms for our family getaway. One of the family members was not placed adjacent to the other rooms, and he was next to the stairway. He checked in at about 2:00pm and immediately placed his luggage in the room and then we all went to our destination. When we returned at night, my son did not even open his luggage and ttry and sleep as the noice from children yelling and running up and down the stairs was terrible. He went and complained to the front desk but the person was uncaring and said "what do you want me to do call the police?" No, all he could have done was go back with my son to the room and talk to the parents and children or have another employee do so. Instead, my son had no choice but to check out, never really using the room (except to hold his luggage).
We asked for one room to be credited and the hotel agreed to 1/2 credit. We remain very unhappy since my son had to drive all the way home at night after a whole day, being exhausted and tired, placing him at danger. None of us could enjoy the family gathering for breakfast and the morning. The whole trip was ruined.
The management was contacted and uncaring.
You decide if you want to go to a individual owned motel or a real hotel that takes pride in customer service and having a peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: make certain you are not near the stairways or children are in adjacent rooms if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Manager response to Guest’s e-mail of 8/21/11, sent on 8/22/11:

First and foremost allow me to apologize on behalf of the Laguna Hills Lodge for any inconvenience.

Regarding your request for early check-in, I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request to check-in at 2:00 PM. We did get you in at 2:28 PM but are sorry you felt unhappy with our Front Desk staff. Let me assure you that we make every effort to accommodate requests for early check-in.

The weekend you stayed with us the hotel was sold out. Many guests leave later than our check-out time of 11:00, especially during the summer, and our housekeeping staff has to work around this

As far as our Front Desk not seeming sensitive to your request, I apologize for that and have coached them. During the summer rush, people on both sides of the desk can be cranky. That is no excuse for you to have felt that your request was not worthy of a more sympathetic response.
Brian at our Front Desk apologized to your son when he reported children making noise in the stairway near his room. Let me also apologize. Because of this noise problem we are more than happy to reduce your son’s room charge by 50%.

Ironically, your son checked out of the Lodge at 9:30 PM, our staff checked the stairway at 10:00 PM and at 11:00 PM and there was no noise or children in the area. We had to charge something for his room because we were unable to sell it to anyone else during this busy time.

Again, let me apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of your stay at the Laguna Hills Lodge.

Regards,

Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager
Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
6.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing