We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAGUNA HILLS LODGE IS LIKE A MOTEL”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“LAGUNA HILLS LODGE IS LIKE A MOTEL”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Laguna Hills Lodge is located in a area near a mall and a shopping center in Laguna Hills, CA. The lodge looks much better in the pictures and to us, it looks more like a motel than a hotel. Even though the lodge was remodeled last year, it still looks very outdated. My family and I spent three nights at Laguna Hills Lodge. The first day, when we got there our room smelled like urine. I was not sure if somebody used the closet as a bathroom and I complained about it. The owners of the property, Japanese or Korean, were nice and one of them came into our room to spray some chemical where the smell was. The breakfast was good but it wasn't hot. We received only two vouchers for daily breakfast even though we paid the room for three persons. So if you are 4 persons per room, you only get free breakfast for two unless you poy an extra $ 5.00 per person for breakfast.The pool looks bigger in the pictures and so it is the SPA . For what we paid, we think that the room was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venere0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and apologize that there was a smell in your room. Our rooms go through two inspections before guests are checked-in so I ask that you write us as to the date of your stay and room number. I will be happy to follow-up with my team to ensure this problem does not happen again. Thank you for letting us know that our staff went to your room to address the problem.

Regarding breakfast, our rooms include a free continental breakfast for two plus children under ten years of age are free. The breakfast is detailed on our website, including the $5 charge for additional breakfast vouchers.

Again, we appreciate your letting us know that you had a problem with your room. We apologize for the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    208
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
234
192
64
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were pleased by the spacious, clean room as well as the lovely grounds. The staff was exceptionally friendly. It was a nice surprise to discover a (slightly) heated salt water poor and a hot tub on the grounds. We had come to spend time at Laguna Beach and the hotel is about a 15 min. drive from there. No need to pay high costs for the beach when this place is so close. There were many dining places in and around Laguna Hills as well. If you stay, request the rooms facing the very pretty inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The service was friendly, and this property is centrally located close to many Orange County points of interests for an inland hotel. The room is spacious and comfortable. The free daily breakfast was ok, but this hotel has discount agreements with several nearby restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Now, when I travel for business I typically go to a property where I get award points. Well, this one may just change my mind. It's not a chain property, I'll tell you that straight up. What it is is clean, well-maintained, and, at least in my room, supplied with a really good bed. All the drains worked right, the shower worked, and it was a great value for the price.

You can get a feel for the way things are to be by the greeting at the desk. This gentlemen was great. Interested in my travels, concerned that I get settled in as it had been a long, long day. He was welcoming right from the get-go. Nice change from some of the come-see-come-saw of others I've lodged at.

They have also arranged with several restaurants nearby for user discounts, a nice touch. They have a very fine continental breakfast which was kept very well stocked. Now, I digress. There was a large convention group staying at this facility, and the rush on food was huge. It's quite the challenge to keep a breakfast offering well stocked with hordes of people coming in, but they pulled it off. Not fancy stuff, or hot stuff, but very nice nevertheless.

It is also a measure of the pride the owners take in their property when you see the grounds meticulously groomed, and these were. Right down to the parking lot. Clean, no cigarette butts, freshly sealed and painted. Just a measure of pride that is lacking in many facilities.

So, I'll sacrifice the points to stay there again. It's a nice value and I'm glad I found it.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, REAL quiet, stay on the west side. My room was noisy due to the conventioners, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Monte, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is an older hotel but it's friendly staff, clean rooms & beautiful grounds make it a perfect stop. It's easy to get to & although it's not a "beach hotel" it's an easy drive to Laguna Beach. The continental breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanger
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I book this hotel every year for a conference at SaddleBack Church for some of our ministry leaders and they do a great job! Roland and His team are committed to providing excellent service. We will continue to book there!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent one weekend night and loved it. Good price, location close to Laguna beach (15 minute drive), quiet room, comfortable bed, awesome and courteous service, and good continental breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel if on business or pleasure.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Celaya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing